We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”
Review of Sripoom House I

Sripoom House I
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sripoom House I
Ranked #353 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place caters to folks who are doing extended stays. If you're expecting Western-style service, you're going to be underwhelmed. I liked my room, a top-floor double with a small patio and view, but the service was erratic at best. Sometimes they forgot to come in to give me water and they never made the bed or changed the towels. The owners were generally nice, but their English wasn't that good and I had a hard time getting some simple questions answered (I ended up going over to the Funky Monkey quite a bit). I don't think I'd recommend this place if it's your first time in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndependentTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
16
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

my wife and i have stayed at sripoom house 5 times in the last 3 years and find it to be the best value accomondation in chiang mai.we have stayed in many places and for value for money its number one.the rooms and facilities are comparable if not better than some of the big expensive hotels.the rooms are big clean and nicely furnished,the aircon works perfectly,plenty of english language channels on the tv,fridge and great location-very close to thapae gate and the walking market.the staff are always polite and helpful.we love this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaewtaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a backpacker dream, it is basic no frills you get what you pay for but spotlessly clean and the family who run it are soooooooooooo friendly. We stayed there 4 nights after leaving our original guest house down the road as it wasn't very clean.

They offer a TV, fridge, AC and hot water in the room. There is an electronic gate for security after 11pm. And there was wifi available in the rooms and the location is pretty good.

But really the couple who run it are what made the stay so nice, they would offer us fruit when they were having it or tea and coffee. They had great local information and always ready to chat without being annoying or intrusive.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie_D53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Asia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stumbled upon Sripoom House (At intersection of Moon Mueng Soi 8 & Sripoom Soi 1) by accident after checking out other properties in the area. This guest house delivers for less than the competition. Security gate with keycard access to rooms area, hot water, aircon, minifridge, free wifi in rooms and lobby, satellite TV with many English language channels, and small balcony. 

The pleasure of staying here is in the details with clean white sheets and towels, wood furnishings of night stand, bureau and writing desk, a work lamp, well-lit bathroom, multiple power points, free coffee, and a solid construction to give you privacy from neighbors and also make any roosters in the vicinity a faint noise. While a firm mattress, it is soft enough to fall asleep in any position. 

High season rates Oct-March: 500 & 600B/night 12,000/month. 
Low season April-Sept: 450 & 550B/night 10,000/month. 
The corner rooms are the more expensive of the two room types because of additional windows, some overlooking Doi Suthep and surrounding mountains.  
Multiple day bookings can save you 50-150B/night. Just ask reception. 
Example: I paid 400B/night for corner room in Sept. '11 for paying for 4 nights upfront. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkabout111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2011

this was my second stay at sripoom in the past 6 months and it is on our list for our next visit back to chiang mai. the wonderful, friendly helpful owners go that little bit further to make you feel comfortable and welcomed.the helping hand of their cleaning lady surprised me when she grabbed hold of both our heavy packs and headed up the stairs and delivered them to our room upon arrival. another little gem of a women. she doesnt speak much english but her smile says a thousand words. this trip i discovered a few more older travellers staying at sripoon for longer periods, all with great feed back on their stay. one irish couple we met, book each year and stay at sripoom for 3 months at a time. very affordable and value for your money at 500 bht per night.on our last visit in aug 2010 there seemed to be a younger crowd of guests. but this is not an issue as the guest house appeals to many. only down side is the constant crow from the near by roosters. they crow all day and very early morning.it didnt bother us as we added this to the charm of the area. but if roosters annoy you bring some eye plugs.. we first were recommended to sripoom from another friendly hard working lady at "nice kitchen". do yourself a favour and make this little cafe/resturant a must try. you will keep going back and trying the different fresh smoothies/breakfasts and lunches. she usually closes around 4pm after being run off her feet from others who have discovered this little beauty. i can give more info of our favourite little hide aways around muang but its there to discover for your selves.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmed1Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF/Denver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

A wonderful place to stay in Central Chian Mai.. Located on one of the many smaller back streets this charming guest house offers pretty much everything you could want at a price that can't be beat. The location is perfect for exploring the city yet set back far enough to provide peace and quiet. The family who run the hotel are very helpful and genuinely friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank XT500SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinderah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We've just returned from Sripoom. If you want to feel like you stayed with a family - stay here!
If you sometimes value the little extras that kind people do - stay here!
The hosts recommended to us a brilliant Thai Cooking School. Asiascenic.com They negotiated a much better rate than we could have gotten, walked us to the school, and then, the next day, invited us to feel free to use the kitchen to put our new cooking skills to test!!
We had all our washing done for half what we had paid previously, and they even sewed a button on my shorts!!
We stayed at more than 8 places in Thailand, and this place was at the top of our favourite places!! And we initially stayed at Changmai Thai Guesthouse and moved to Sripoom and preferred it greatly! 10/10
Stuart Oneill
Australia

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTravellers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#28 of 747 in Chiang Mai
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sripoom House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sripoom House I

Property: Sripoom House I
Address: 28/1 Sripoom Soi1 | T.Sribhoum, Chiang Mai 50220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sripoom House I 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice &quiet guesthouse with the family management style. We are warm welcome everyone. Please make yourself as home when stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sripoom House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing