We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai teak guesthouse - full of character”
Review of Ruen Come In

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruen Come In
Ranked #35 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Thai teak guesthouse - full of character”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Beautiful teak building away from the city rush. Spacious, comfortable, well-appointed, clean suite. Lovely garden and covered area for eating and relaxing. Delicious breakfast and northern Thai cuisine at other times. Owners are very friendly and helpful with advice and organizing tours. Attentive service from staff. The guesthouse is not close to the old city but the owners will provide transport for the same cost as a tuk tuk fare. We found that some tuk tuk/taxi drivers were not familiar with the guesthouse so we suggest you have a city map or owners' business card with you to show the location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    62
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
147
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A warm welcome at the airport by the son of the guesthouse owner was only the beginning of our stay in Chiang Mai just recently. Right at the beginning we fell in love with this original teakwood thai house with rooms full of taste and history surrounded by a small but lovely garden; an ideal place to lay down and relax. We especially appreciated not only the fantastic breakfast choices incl. macrobiotic version (mmh) but all the tasteful dinners we had at Ruen Come In with local specialities and explanations given by most attentive staff. We could also take advantage of many many insider hints and tips starting from where to find the best thai massage, golf course, riverside restaurant, hot spring or sightseeing spots. To make the thing round, we enjoyed the cooking lesson including meal with Mai and her friend. The recipies will renew our memories of an unforgettable stay with Mai and her family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfelchlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
119 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I'm really exited to write my review about Ruen Come In - I'm staying approx. 200 nights/year in hotels but this experience was better then anything before. Just to be clear - if you are looking for a cheap replacement of the many soul-less american chain hotel rooms you are wrong here - e.g. you will not find a single-portion toothpaste which generates a lot of waste everyday, but a new, local family size one which you can use for your entire stay...

It's a family run business - a fantastic northern Thai Restaurant which has 4 Guest-Suites attached to it. The whole place is very green, you can hear the cock in the morning and frogs in the evening and every little detail is perfect. The host and her family and staff are very friendly and they try to read every wish from your eyes.

Summary:
- Kitchen is amazing, for breakfast you can order the evening before almost everything you like
- Location - not in the centre, but easy and inexpensive to reach with a tuc-tuc
- Rooms - wood, silk and crisp white cotton
- Staff - they read every wish from your eyes
- Garden - an oasis in the city - not absolutely quiet but a good place to relax - enjoy breakfast there
- Few Mosquitos around but all windows and doors with very proper nets and a very futuristic mosquito-shocker available - but we did not get bitten

All in all a very relaxing family experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Amazing room, we were in the biggest suite, but we didn't have hot water for 2 hours so we had to go to eat without have a shower!!!!...and nobody apologizes with us... The boss wants only Cash Payment about 6200 bath...she forces us to take money at ATM!!!! Only one girl (really nice with us)of the staff is able to speak english.The place is amazing but We didn't feel like at home or like others hotel in Chiang Mai less nice but more pleasent

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huencome, Owner at Ruen Come In, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I must apologize for the miscommunication between owner/ our staff and you about the hot water and the payment. I know that this should not happen and the owner/stuff was not there to apologize or comfort you. Also about the payment, part of the money was for van hire, (If I remember correctly, I think it s 2,200 baht, sorry if I am wrong), and the driver only take cash. We are sorry that we either haven't explained it to your clearly or there was again miscommunication between you and the person in charge. (Please let me express to other readers as well that we do accept credit card.)

Lastly, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and all other guests again for all the comments, both positive & negative ones. They are important to us and we will try harder to improve our services.

Wish you all the best for the year 2012,

Taam,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Ruen Come In is a family-run small guesthouse with a restaurant. We stayed at Ruen Come Suite and it was big, clean and very comfortable. The service is good and the owners are very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and the quantity is generous. I had Pad Thai and it was really good. I think they have got some award for their Pad Thai dish as well.

Its location is quite far out from the city but not far from Nimman Rd. where is full of hip Cafe and nice restaurant. As the location is off the beaten track, the cab driver may not even know the location of the hotel and the red truck aka "Song Taew" may not pass by. Somehow we did have problem getting back to the hotel. Anyway, the hotel is able to pick you up from locations and able to provide transportation with 150THB charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mentita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Warm family home, quality all around, romantic, comfortable, and wonderful food. Couldnt ask for better accomodation. Every room is special. I love this place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Such a beautiful place to stay! Lots of little details to delight. Spacious.
The staff go the extra mile to help.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catvtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 381 in Chiang Mai
240 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
2.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Come In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Come In

Property: Ruen Come In
Address: 79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Come In 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruen Come In is a boutique teakwood resort decorated in contemporary-northern Thai style. Please come and enjoy our family style accommodation and dine savory Thai & northern Thai dishes from our family recipes at Ruen Come In restaurant in the same compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ruen Come In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing