We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Stay - Amazing hospitality in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruen Come In

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruen Come In
Ranked #39 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2nd Stay - Amazing hospitality in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Khun Mai, her husband, and staff once again made this a memorable stay for us in Chiang Mai. This time I brought my parents to experience the hospitality! Khun Mai helped us arrange a beautiful way to celebrate Loy Krathong and Yi Peng.

My parents loved the large teak rooms and furnishings as much as I did. The new pool was a welcoming addition. We enjoyed several Northern Thai evening meals at the hotel and of course loved the breakfasts every day (tried different options each morning!).

Getting around Chiang Mai was never an issue, sometimes we had the hotel car drop us off, had taxi's and tuk-tuk's bring us back, and never had a problem getting around. The ride from the night market was less than 15 mins and the drivers always knew the route once we showed them the hotel card.

I would highly recommend this little oasis for families, romantic getaways, or just when you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy great food and surroundings. The rooms really are magnificent and relaxing. I am a 100+ hotel night a year traveler with platinum status at multiple chains, yet I love places like Ruen Come In where I can experience personal service and an intimate customer experience. I will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: For an extra special experience, try to get the Ruen Ngam Grande Suite - the large jacuzzi, rain sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    58
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
142
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Deserves all the accolades.
Beautifully maintained and serviced accommodation, with the bonus of high quality northern Thai cuisine.
It is out of the city centre though, and isn't for the traveller who wants to step outside into to hubbub of a Thai city street. That said, the owners will run you into the city at any time, and tuktuks are always around - but trips are around 150 THB each way, so budget an extra $20 a day for transport. For us the trade off of peace and beauty was worth the mild inconvenience of having to travel to the centre.
This is also an excellent hotel if you are traveling with young children

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viggiu, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Without any doubt, this is the most welcoming and delightful place you can find in Chiang Mai.
The handsome wood made house offers a few but very comfortable and full serviced rooms with easy access to the restaurant. The mistress and her husband were so welcoming,helpful and gentle with us. The mix of a cousin of rare quality and the kindness of the attendants make the overall restaurant service great and unforgettable. We were really treated like kings :)
Generally speaking we indeed felt like being at home :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreabellani86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dibrugarh, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

i really loved the way the owners take care of the guests personally. i was touched to see that the owner of the property himself dropped me to the airport......very simple person. the property is excellent with just 5 rooms. the fine dinning restaurant is also excellent. the pool side eating area and the ambience is excellent. the staff are too too friendly with thai smile always on the face and well dressed. i would say that the world should have more such places and more such friendly owners.

Room Tip: mrs mai and her husband and all the staff are friendly. u must order ur selection of b/fast the prev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narendra1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Anyone who enjoys quality and personal service is in for a treat at this genuinely Thai old home converted into a luxury bed and breakfast. Every detail is carefully thought out to ensure guests have the best experience possible. It was a pure joy to stay here. I particularly recommend the larger rooms in the main building, where you live like a king!

And as if the beautiful wood furnishings and tasteful decor weren't enough to totally seduce you, the Thai cuisine is among the finest in town. And for those of you with a passion for healthy eating, the owners offer macrobiotic dishes and most ingredients are organically grown on their own farm...

It may not be central, but you'll love it so much here, you'll hardly want to leave!

Room Tip: The largest room is something rare and very very special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzoenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed with a child at this hotel in mid-November 2012. The hotel is beautiful, with Lanna-style rooms raised on poles that almost feel like you are in a tree house. The grounds are immaculate with lovely details like a long koi pond you walk over to get to the outdoor reception area and a pool is cute and plenty big. The owners are also extremely nice and obviously want to make your stay with them a pleasant one, right down to preparing a free breakfast ordered to your preferences. For anyone who wants a romantic get away and plans to stay around the hotel, Ruen Come would be perfect. The same goes for anyone with their own transportation.
However, if you want to see the sights of Chiang Mai and get away from the hotel, Ruen Come is not the place for you. It is located on the outskirts of the city in a neighborhood that rolls up the streets at around 5 p.m. It is too far to walk to the old City, and you would have to have a death wish to take the complimentary bicycles the hotel provides to the heart of the city. We tried it and turned back because after about five minutes the route became so crowded with cars and flying scooters that I felt certain I was about to die.
You can walk out to the "super highway" from the hotel and catch a tuktuk, but they will likely want to charge you twice or more the going rate to go outside of their zone. We ended up spending more than $25 on tuktuks on the single day we stayed at Ruen Come. That money could have been better spent if we had just stayed at a hotel in the city. (We did this later, staying at the Royal Princess located in the night market area. Fabulous!)
I think the lovely owners could find a better way to address the location issues. They could perhaps offer free rides to the more happening areas of Chiang Mai, with the guest arranging their own transport back. They could perhaps work with a tour company and offer a limited list of tour options with pickup from the hotel at reasonable prices. They could find one or two honest tuktuk drivers to be available on-call for their guests. I'm sure they could think of many other ways to make the location more convenient. But until that happens, Ruen Come is not a place to stay if you want to explore and experience Chiang Mai. Which is a pity, because otherwise the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Misahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this beautifully maintained little hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are spotless. The toiletries are good quality and we loved the jacuzzi tub in our room and the walk-in rain-shower. There are traditional wicker flip-flops provided and comfy bath-robes.
The breakfast choice is quite good - I would suggested asking for eggs to be well done as they tend to really under-cook them with runny whites :-/
The dinners are delicious and their cooking class is really fun. We would totally be able to cook the same dishes at home, which is also practical for us. The owners are very friendly and if you're out late someone will wait for your return to close the gate/door after you.
This is also the downside though, as we felt we were putting them out by being out late. The location isn't the best though anyway if you wanna be heading out in town a lot, since you have to get them to drop you into town (at a cost) and you'd need a tuk-tuk to get back, unless you fancy renting a car.
They offer bikes free of charge, but wouldn't fancy trying to cycle there in the dark. It's not that far but it is about 15 mins away, so do keep that in mind.
The new pool is beautiful and it's a very relaxing location. The "curtains" are quite fine, so it doesn't feel entirely private at night-time.

Room Tip: Room did not feel very secure with double almost full glass doors locking with only a fine lock. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#52 of 375 in Chiang Mai
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 375 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Come In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Come In

Property: Ruen Come In
Address: 79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Come In 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruen Come In is a boutique teakwood resort decorated in contemporary-northern Thai style. Please come and enjoy our family style accommodation and dine savory Thai & northern Thai dishes from our family recipes at Ruen Come In restaurant in the same compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruen Come In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing