We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utterly charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruen Come In

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruen Come In
Ranked #37 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Palamos, Spain
Level Contributor
228 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Utterly charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

After brief discussion, my wife and I concluded that this was the best value accommodation during our one-month Thailand trip. It is a beautiful hotel; mainly teak construction. The staff are exceptionally friendly and super attentive. And that Rice soup at breakfast .... well, my wife is still determined to get the recipe (it used red jasmine rice). Pet nik noi - Kraap [Just a little bit of spice .. please]. The rooms have a Victorian opulence; large, exceptionally well-appointed; suite-style rooms with lounge, TV and fridge separate; huge bed; excellent bathroom. And all that with breakfast included for less than €50 per night for the room.

So what's the catch? There is one only if you are frightened by taking public transport in "a strange place", because a Songthaew for two to the Night Market cost us 60 Bht (€1.50). One night we walked to Nu's for dinner passing humble homes, workshops and stores (an experience!!). The hotel will take you to the city centre for 200Bht (€5).

In fact, pondering further, Ruen Come In is the best accommodation value that I can think of in all my travels ... ever ... anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedroinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    59
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
142
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing. If I put in considerable effort while on performance enhancing drugs, I couldn't think of any way to improve our stay here. Ultra helpful, food was excellent, rooms and bathroom excellent, and staff friendly without being too much. If you're staying in Chiang Mai you should use tuk tuks as much as possible. 100 baht in the day to get into town, and 150 at night. Ideal. I really enjoyed this personal boutique service. Will stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having enjoyed our previous stay in Chang Mai we were looking forward to returning but learning that my wife had booked us in here came as a bit of a surprise. As this was to be just an extended weekend to take in the Loy Kratong and Lantern festival I would have preferred accommodation a bit closer to the heart of town but with that said we did enjoy our stay here. It being a bit further from town actually means its a lot quieter and the room sizes in this place are huge although the bathrooms are small in comparison and in need of a bit of attention. The hotel was happy to transport us into town whenever we wanted for a fee of course and the restaurant served our needs without any problems. Language can sometimes be a barrier but the staff all seemed to cover each other well and no request from us ever got overlooked. Breakfast was always prompt and tasty except maybe the sausages and they do a pretty good coffee as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Ruen Come In for our honeymoon. We just checked out a few days ago. The place was amazing from the start. They picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel for 200 baht each way. The driver/owner was patiently waiting for us right outside the gate. Upon arriving, we were greeted by several friendly staff and were offered fresh juice. The owner sat us down and checked us in. They surprisingly upgraded us to the best suite they have. What a great way to start our honeymoon! She asked us what we had planned and what we'd like to see. She showed us different brochures and different places to go. She ended up helping us book a day trip somewhere as well as a full day of rafting. Our room was great. HUGE. It had a spa tub, a sauna, huge bathroom, etc. It was meticulously clean. They cleaned it every day and replaced our complimentary waters every day. They were on top of it. One day we had only been gone about 45 minutes from the hotel and we came back to spotless room. The breakfast was good. They give you multiple options. They asked you to fill out a breakfast card every night the night before so they will know what you want. Pretty easy. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times for dinner and lunch as well. The food was great. Try the green curry and pineapple fried rice. The day we were leaving, my wife asked the owner if she would be able to purchase the bug spray they have laying around. It worked well and didn't smell greatly of chemicals. The owner told us we could buy it at the store for fairly inexpensive, but when we were finally leaving she ended up giving us a brand new, unopened bottle of it. It was so nice of her. We don't have one complaint about this place. It's not right in the center of Chaing Mai but it's inexpensive to get downtown. We'd pay about 50-60 baht for a taxi to take us to the center of Chaing Mai. Tuktuks were a little more spendy. The hotel is quiet and peaceful which is very nice. If you're going to Chaing Mai be sure to look this place up. We loved it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Though the place was really hard to find at first, even the local tuk tuk driver got lost at the night and hardly found it until 30 minutes' trip around the overall city...the friendly hostess apologized to us that they didn't pick us up while let us ourselves find it. We were moved by the good attitude and soon enjoyed the service of the hotel.

My family and I stayed there for one night at the big family suite and we were astonished by the cleanness of hotel and all the staff's attitude. We arrived at around 9:00 p.m. and it was lucky for us to enjoy the food at night before 10:00 p.m. when they were supposed to end up dinner time. The best than ever northern local food we've eaten and there were not any mosquitoes even in the open area. Anti-mosquitoes spray was put aside and we really enjoyed the home-made local juice. Also the food service was so quick than we could expect. Breakfast was also excellent and we were told to chose the menu the day before. Everything was planned beforehand and so thoughtful the hostess.

One of the boy took three of our heavy luggages to the upstairs without any hesitation and the driver sent us back to the bus station when we left. Also we really like the room and it did worth the money. Felt like home, big windows were also a bonus for us.

Free home-made postcards made it unique once more. And it was very close to the wat je jot temple. I have already start missing it now. Thanks again and it is definitely one of the best memories in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We couldn't have asked for more during our wonderful trip round Thailand. We stayed here near the end of our trip and I am so glad we did. After arriving quite late in the day we had spent the afternoon by a pool, we were hungry and needed a shower! The restaurant closed at 9.30, but the owner said not a problem, go get a shower we will wait for you... They were so lovely. We were amazed by the beautiful teak buildings, our room was spacious, the shower was huge and we had a jacuzzi bath. The meal was perfect, the smell if teak in the restaurant is inviting, our food delicious. The tea was the best I have ever had! We didn't feel any pressure, the staff were so helpful and friendly. The ponds around the property have big fish and very loud frogs.. The lady joked and told us some people complain that they are so noisy but I enjoyed listening to them, it added to the charm. The breakfast was tasty, pre-ordered the night before. We sat outside, very nice. The owners have a farm and grow their own produce. I am not sure about the location, we arrived in the dark and unfortunately had to go to the airport shortly after breakfast so didn't get to explore the area. I liked this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I never met the famous Mrs. Mai. And yet the stay was still incredile - with the spacious teak rooms (our suite, Ruen Kaew, had a large sitting room!) and a great bathroom. Shower with a huge showerhead, yey. In addition to the wonderful rooms, the staff was also excellent - they were helpful and smiling, the breakfast was great with Western and Thai options (tiny fish breakfast, yikes).
I would recommend ths place to anyone - it is worth a little extra money for a few days of bliss!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenemCilingiroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#39 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#52 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#17 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Come In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Come In

Property: Ruen Come In
Address: 79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Come In 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruen Come In is a boutique teakwood resort decorated in contemporary-northern Thai style. Please come and enjoy our family style accommodation and dine savory Thai & northern Thai dishes from our family recipes at Ruen Come In restaurant in the same compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruen Come In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing