We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure and a great base for exploring the local area”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #31 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real treasure and a great base for exploring the local area”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at the De Naga for 2 nights last year and enjoyed it so much we rebooked for this year. This time we were looking forward to staying put at De Naga for 7 nights and checking out the area in more depth. We booked their suite room again because it's very spacious and ideal for us as a family and we were given a good return guest room rate. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble and every request is met with a prompt and friendly response, all day everyday ! We enjoyed exploring more of the local area, both dining options and sights of interest. It really is in a fantastic location. If I had to find something that bothered me it would be the breakfast. I had really hoped this might have improved (as it wasn't that great last year) however it hadn't. I can see previous posts rave about the breakfast but honestly we thought it quite dull and uninteresting. We had been travelling for 3 weeks prior and enjoyed all sorts of delicacies so perhaps we had been a bit spoilt. On check out they asked for feedback so this was passed on with the assurance they would look into the matter. Having said that, it really wasn't a big deal for us because we simply loved everything else about this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnygirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    328
    68
    14
    17
See reviews for
116
511
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at De Naga as part of our packaged tour of Thailand and loved the place. the room was quiet and very comfortable. When we first drove into the neighbor hood, we weren't sure of the location, but it turned out to be a perfect spot for shopping, sightseeing and dining. The internet was free and always available. The staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed three nights on the top floor toward the back, overlooking people's homes and mountain in the distance. It's very quiet (except for the roosters) since the hotel is not directly right on the main road. Great location, just inside the moat. Walking distances to the main wats and other tourist attractions, including lots of restaurants and banks. 7-11 1 min down the street for SIM cards and sundries. 10-min tuk tuk ride to the night market. Our room was impeccably cleaned throughout our stay. No bugs or mosquitoes (in March). Really nice AC kept the room cool. Mattress was a bit firm like most of hotels in Asia. 37" LCD Samsung TV with cable channels. Bathroom was conveniently laid out, with plenty of counter space and a large shower area for nice warm showers. No bath tub. The best part of the hotel was outstanding service. The staff was very helpful, spoke very good English, and always ready to help. The restaurant they recommended (Riverside Restaurant), however, was touristy and expensive, with OK food but great view (next to the river). Instead, try Huan Penn Restaurant for authentic Thai food for $2 an entree (within walking distance). Couple of complaints: They booked a dinner & dance show for us, but the restaurant picked us up very late and we missed a big part of the show. Laundry service a bit expensive, but you can bring your laundry directly to the laundromat right outside the hotel for $1/kg. Beware, though, that one of our shirts was returned damaged because they brushed the shirt during laundry process (we used the hotel service). Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and they packed us breakfast to go. Hotel pool was small but clean. There were two computers for guest use, but we had a lot of trouble with very slow internet access. Overall, we had a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0n_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed here before going on a Hilltribe Trek with Intrepid Travel. This hotel is the best I have stayed in. It is inexpensive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were given cold tea and a cold flannel to cool ourselves while we filled out our booking in forms. When we were on the trek they looked after our luggage for us and it was kept securely. The rooms were clean and stylish. It has a very calm feel and is tucked out the way in busy Chiang Mai although surprisingly I couldn't hear any traffic noise, only the cockrel next door which was a lovely way to naturally wake up in the morning. The breakfast was delicious too. The location is also good as you can walk to the nightmarkets and to restaurants. I would recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

A really lovely hotel, not too big and a quiet setting with excellent facilities.

Off a busy street in the central area but as soon as you leave the street the setting is really attractive. We really appreciated the support and kindness of the young reception staff.

Breakfast is fantastic with plenty of choice. The home made jams and yogurt are delicious.
Rooms well equipped.

We are a late 50s couple.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess5951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I can't think of anything negative to say about this place. the rooms are absolutely gorgeous. great location. the staff friendly and helpful. breakfast superb. the cafe downstairs is a nice place to watch the world go by. I wish I had more to say, but that's it. thanks other tripadvisors for helping me find it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbmbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at the DeNaga Hotel in February 2011 and loved it. We got a free upgrade to a top floor room with wooden vaulted ceilings. The furnishing were very tastefully decorated in Thai style-even the door knobs were dragons. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location is great as it is close to walk to all of the temples and markets and restaurants.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny23Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,396 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing