We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #32 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Located up a quiet lane off the Kotchasan Road,the De Naga is an excellent base for exploring Chiang Mai. Scandy Collection located close to hotel also recommended for good quality tailor made suits, trousers etc. Next day delivery if required from Ras Roshan,an honest man

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for De Naga Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

De naga is a great hotel. I stayed here with my husband and best friend. My best friend had the superior room and we had the next level up, the deluxe. Unless you are getting the Grande deluxe, there is not much difference between the two rooms, only a lounge by the window and a bathtub instead of just a shower, either then that exact same room. If we had known that we would have gone with just the superior room.

The staff here is amazing, they are so friendly and eager and willing to help in anyway they can. We travelled around Thailand for a month and this place by far has the most amazing breakfast...not to be missed.

The pool, although small was nice and refreshing. The rooms were clean, and they even have turn down service every night.

Location is prime, just inside the old city walls, close to the sunday market...5 minute walk and not too far from the night bazaar, maybe a 10 minute walk.

You can find no better in Chiang Mai. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TBATES8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We really enjoyed this hotel, it was newish, clean fresh and just delightful.
Great having free wifi ad their breakfasts were superior.

They have onsite tour guides, who are just brilliant and very reasonable. The desk staff were also very knowledgeable on the local area and just so lovely.

The location was great, within walking distance to the famed Sat and Sunday walking markets. Also walking distance to a myriad of restaurants and bars.

We loved the feel of Chiang Mai, the people are so humble friendly and gracious.

The hotel was above our expectations and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekybutnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed at the De Naga Hotel from February 14-18, 2011 . THE GOOD: It is located on a small street off a main road but we were not affected by any street noise. The hotel is located within walking distance of shopping areas and wats and about a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride to the hustle and bustle of the night market. The staff was courteous when approached but they did not go out of their way to communicate with us; the dining room staff, which did not speak English, was able to communicate with smiles and gestures. The buffet breakfast had variety and was fine. There are two free, internet computers in the lobby which were available all day and night. The pool is more like a large hot tub and not very inviting. There were, however, some problems during our stay.
THE PROBLEMS:: Upon our arrival, we were told there was no room with a king sized bed as per our reservation. After some discussion, we were told they would put two twin beds together. The room we ultimately got was large, with a large shower and separate tub. The staff tried to make amends by delivering a tray with some fruit and flowers. The towels were frayed, rough, and thin. The bed top sheet had holes in it. The room was clean but rather sparse as far as decoration; perhaps this was because they had to remove some things to arrange the beds.
We noted the bed and linen problems on our comment sheet. When our travel agent called them to discuss this, they got no response. They tried another time and still got no response from the De Naga. I find this more of a problem than the actual situation. These comments were offered in an effort for them to improve so they could put their best foot forward,
Once home, on March 25, I got an email from the manager thanking us for our stay and inviting me to write a review for Trip-Advisor. Before doing this, I checked with my agent to verify whether they had ever heard from the De Naga; she replied that they had not. I then wrote to the De Naga telling them that I would be giving an honest review and recounted the reservation and linen problem to her. On March 29, I got an email apologizing for our experience and explaining that they had run our of their new linens and used their older ones and something about the laundry service they used (it was difficult to undertand the English). I find this a case of trying to smooth out my negative comments and too late for me to accept. The fact that the hotel ignored a fellow professional colleague's efforts to communicate is just not good business sense. There was nothing exceptional about this hotel that made it worth staying in, even if all had gone correctly. Having travelled for 23 days in Thailand and Vietnam, this was the only hotel that was totally impersonal and unremarkable. We loved Chiang Mai and absolutely consider it a high light of our trip, but we think we could find better accomodations in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jan505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at the De Naga for 2 nights last year and enjoyed it so much we rebooked for this year. This time we were looking forward to staying put at De Naga for 7 nights and checking out the area in more depth. We booked their suite room again because it's very spacious and ideal for us as a family and we were given a good return guest room rate. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble and every request is met with a prompt and friendly response, all day everyday ! We enjoyed exploring more of the local area, both dining options and sights of interest. It really is in a fantastic location. If I had to find something that bothered me it would be the breakfast. I had really hoped this might have improved (as it wasn't that great last year) however it hadn't. I can see previous posts rave about the breakfast but honestly we thought it quite dull and uninteresting. We had been travelling for 3 weeks prior and enjoyed all sorts of delicacies so perhaps we had been a bit spoilt. On check out they asked for feedback so this was passed on with the assurance they would look into the matter. Having said that, it really wasn't a big deal for us because we simply loved everything else about this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnygirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at De Naga as part of our packaged tour of Thailand and loved the place. the room was quiet and very comfortable. When we first drove into the neighbor hood, we weren't sure of the location, but it turned out to be a perfect spot for shopping, sightseeing and dining. The internet was free and always available. The staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed three nights on the top floor toward the back, overlooking people's homes and mountain in the distance. It's very quiet (except for the roosters) since the hotel is not directly right on the main road. Great location, just inside the moat. Walking distances to the main wats and other tourist attractions, including lots of restaurants and banks. 7-11 1 min down the street for SIM cards and sundries. 10-min tuk tuk ride to the night market. Our room was impeccably cleaned throughout our stay. No bugs or mosquitoes (in March). Really nice AC kept the room cool. Mattress was a bit firm like most of hotels in Asia. 37" LCD Samsung TV with cable channels. Bathroom was conveniently laid out, with plenty of counter space and a large shower area for nice warm showers. No bath tub. The best part of the hotel was outstanding service. The staff was very helpful, spoke very good English, and always ready to help. The restaurant they recommended (Riverside Restaurant), however, was touristy and expensive, with OK food but great view (next to the river). Instead, try Huan Penn Restaurant for authentic Thai food for $2 an entree (within walking distance). Couple of complaints: They booked a dinner & dance show for us, but the restaurant picked us up very late and we missed a big part of the show. Laundry service a bit expensive, but you can bring your laundry directly to the laundromat right outside the hotel for $1/kg. Beware, though, that one of our shirts was returned damaged because they brushed the shirt during laundry process (we used the hotel service). Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and they packed us breakfast to go. Hotel pool was small but clean. There were two computers for guest use, but we had a lot of trouble with very slow internet access. Overall, we had a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0n_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#37 of 388 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 388 in Chiang Mai
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £64 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing