We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every Baht”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #30 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth every Baht”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Excellent, clean, spacious rooms with very new and nice bathroom. Facilities are all extremely well cared. Free internet access in the lobby. Small but nice pool. Really nice court and garden. Staff is extremly polite and helpfull. Very near to town center, Tapae gate and to the sunday market. One of the best deals I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Got10fingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    328
    68
    15
    17
See reviews for
116
512
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Arrived at bus station from Chaing Rai and hotel car not there to pick us up - not a good start. We got into a tuk tuk and paid our on way. When checking in, staff never offered to deduct from our bill - even though we paid for in package. Not a big deal as tuk tuk costs was minimal, but principle. We had a quiet room on the 4th floor and enjoyed our stay. Yummy Thai food in their restauant on the street. Location eas excellent for weekend night market. Breakfast was ok, but in a pretty setting. Happy Hour at the pool was fun one night as well. Good massage on back side of the hotel - cheap laundry service there as well. All in all, ok stay. Hubby said this was he least fav hotel during our 20 day travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dindelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

During a recent three-week trip to Thailand and Malaysia, we settled into the De Naga Hotel for our three-day visit to Chiang Mai. We chose this hotel based on reviews and it was overall a good choice. The De Naga Hotel is mid-size, about 45 rooms, and is in a perfect location for exploring the old part of Chiang Mai. Located off a main road, the hotel is just far enough back to ensure some privacy, though even then I would request a room in the back of the hotel to cut down on the considerable noise from the bustling street. We arrived early and were upgraded to a premier deluxe room on the third floor. The room was lovely, spotless and very comfortable. It was quite spacious, with dark wood floors and a pitched wooden roof. No view to speak of but a nice comfortable window seat. The bed was comfy and the bathroom, with its rain shower, was nice, though my big complaint is that most hotels do not have enough counter space for toiletries.

Breakfast was included in the rate. It was a buffet, with a few Asian options, yogurt, muffins, and an egg station. Nothing special but okay. There is also a restaurant, located on the main street, steps from the hotel, which served very tasty Thai food.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmp1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

we stayed at the De Naga during February 2012. We have friends living in Chiang Mai who were plesently surprised by its location, facilities and lovely rooms. We had booked via Expedia for 2 rooms for 4 adults for 6 nights. When we arrived our rooms were not ready so we had one room upgraded which was lovely. We had booked for rooms on the 4th floor (which is the top floor) and they were perfect.......the upgraded room had a bath/shower but our room, which was next door had a beautiful large shower........great. The included breakfast was really good..........eggs cooked as you required....reception staff very helpful although I found it a little amazing when asked if I could send a Fax to Australia they said that they could only send faxes within THAILAND.....with todays technology why would this be so. We had free WIFI which we used, didnt have a meal there except for breakfast, but generally the hotel has just the BEST location, and if you love traditional Thai decor, its a truly lovely stay. We will come back in future years and will stay there again. Location just across the road from the Moat and near to everything is just PERFECT.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, which is the 4th floor, there are no views to speak of but at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHANDARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent more than a week in this beautiful hotel in Chiang Mai. The Rooms are gorgeous, the whole buildung is beautifully built. The breakfast buffet is good and offers a lot of different dishes you can choose from. The Location is situated in the Old City of Chiang Mai, which is by far better than staying close to the Night Market with it's horrible Red-Light-District.
The only complaints we had were concerning the air conditioning and the showers. The air conditioning of two of the rooms we stayed in broke down. Before placing us in the 305 after the air conditioning in 408 broke down they tried to put us in the qualitatively inferior room 301, which was close to the entrance of the hotel, where the cars drive in and out in the morning, so we complained and became the better Room 305 until the air condition broke down again. For the last night we stayed in Room 316, which apparently was an upgrade, which really consisted only of an additional Couch. The showers worked differently in every room: to stop the shower in 408 you had to turn both hot and cold water levers towards the inside, in 305 both levers towards the outside and in 316 both levers towards the left side. And in 305 the shower broke down once too and we couldn't stop the water at all anymore until they fixed it.
Another disappointment was, that the hotel's laundry service was not able to wash our clothes as described in our washing instructions for handling our special trecking garments. But at least they informed us beforehand instead of throwing everything in one machine with bleach and softener etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
There are plenty of good Massage Services close by, like the Thai Massage Conservation Club (blind people who learned traditional Thai Massage at the Wat Pho) in 9 Ratdamri Rd. or the Naruncha just around the Corner (130/1 Ratchapakinai Rd., ask for "Aree" if you want a strong, but excellent Thai back and shoulder massage).
We checked out several restaurants close by which were quite good (the "Aroon Rai" in 45 Kochasara Rd. and the "Huen Phen" in 112 Ratchamankha Rd.) but ate dinner most of the time in the excellent streetfood-Restaurant called "Ahanpansang Pad Thai" which is just next to the Restaurant "The Corner" in Moon Muang Road.
If we go back to Chiang Mai we probably will stay in this nice hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenugreek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

De Naga is in a great location. Walking distance to many of the sights and right beside some great hawker food outlets. Room was nicely decorated... "boutique??" but could have been cleaner. Overall a good choice for a trip to Chaing Mai. Staff all good except one who was distinctly rude for no reason!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangkokStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our experience at DeNaga was very middle of the road. The staff overall was nice, but weren't up to the same standard as other places in Thailand we traveled. The biggest disappointment for me was the room. It was dark and wasn't as clean as I like. The toilet was difficult to flush and the bathtub hard to get in and out of. The wifi was nearly useless as it was out most of the time or extremely slow. The bed was very comfortable. The concierge was great. She helped us book some great excursions and even helped me with a recommendation on where to get my hair colored and she wrote out a note for the tuk tuk driver and hairdresser to help with the communication. The breakfast that was included was fair in quality and service. Initially when booking, my expectation of breakfast wasn't that high, but after experiencing other hotels of similar price that included breakfast, this one lacked. The location was fantastic near many temples of walking distance, laundry a 2 min walk ($3 for a med bag..they washed and folded), a night market and loads of restaurants. Pool has limited sun.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 381 in Chiang Mai
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing