We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service and an excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #29 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great customer service and an excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at De Naga in mid June and had a really nice stay. The two biggest selling points for the hotel are the customer service and location. All the hotel employees are incredibly nice and helpful, particularly given that we arrived to the hotel really late at night and departed very early in the morning (after a several day stay). The location is right in the middle of old town, with easy access to multiple temples, muay thai stadiums, and markets.

Other nice aspects include: the spa, which was very comfortable and pleasant, the room, which was spacious, clean, and comfortable, the pool, which had a unique feel and a nice escape from the heat. Breakfast was also delicious.

De Naga is a great hotel. I would stay again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The De Naga suite is awesome! A pure luxury experience. Splurge a bit and do it! It doesn't have...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    322
    67
    14
    16
See reviews for
114
500
61
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

De Naga was an absolute delight. Staff were very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was very nice and good value for money although there were flies on the food which cannot always be helped in an open restaurant! The pool was nice but a little dirty (however it was very quiet so maybe not cleaned as often). The room was very very nice and even though the curfew was in place we were happy to return to our room and chill because it was so lovely. we had to stay another night because we liked it so much. The decor was a bonus! There is helpful transport advice and we booked a minibus to Pai from our hotel. The location was perfect and was near very nice restaurants The restaurant next to the hotel (which I think might be part of the hotel) was perfect for lunch or a quick coffee.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

You know how you book a hotel based on these reviews and you're so relieved when they actually live up to/exceed your expectations? This is one of those experiences.

My wife and I stayed at De Naga during the craziness of Songkran (think celebrating new years by having the entire city participate in a huge waterfight over the course of two whole days). The hotel is located right by the gates into the old city, which is ground zero for all of the waterfighting mayhem, but what was fascinating was how quiet things were as soon as you stepped onto the property. And it's a beautiful property that feels very much like Thailand, but is very clean and modern at the same time.

But the quiet is that much more impressive if you realize the location of the hotel. It's one block away from one of the major night market streets (which during the day, leads you to the major temples of Chiang Mai), and right by the east gate of the old city area. Aside from the taxi from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the bus station, we did not feel the need for a taxi at all, even having gone as far as the major temples in old Chiang Mai and outside of the gates as far as chinatown and the more native night markets.

And a tip if your time in Chiang Mai is going to be limited and want to see all of the sites in the surrounding areas of Chiang Mai within a day... the tour woman by the front desk can set you up with a personal driver and guide for the day (9pm-6pm) who can drive you to see all of the sites. We went to an elephant sanctuary, tiger kingdom, a restaurant that the locals actually go to (best meal in Chiang Mai), the major temple near the city (sorry, I'm blanking on the name), a lookout point for pictures on the mountain, and chinatown, before we asked him to drop us off at where he would go for a massage if he had a day off. A full day for only about 80USD.

Also, my wife is insisting that I comment about the fact that the bathroom had both a shower and a separate bathtub, if that's important to you.

All in all, a great experience and would recommend the hotel with hardly any reservations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KoreaByWayOfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

arrival and check in was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel. Bed was a bit hard so said to reception and they fixed this by putting down a duvet on top of mattress. Problem solved. Pool is nice and staff are super friendly and helpful. Always smiling. Decor of hotel is exceptional, very thai traditional feel. Location perfect, walking distance to all markets and city based temples. We are very sad to be leaving the de naga hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jordan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We just completed 4 nights stay in Chiang Mai at the de Naga hotel.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The grounds are beautiful and quiet.

The only point I have to knock them on would be the mattress for the bed. If you like it firm then you'll be happy - I would say it is too hard. But everything else was great.

You can't go wrong at the de Naga hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent a week at Da Naga Hotel in Chiang Mai in April of this year, and we were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we found it was kept clean. It is small, and not as luxurious as other larger five star hotels might be, but it has a lot of atmosphere along with very satisfactory amenities.

The breakfast was good, and those serving were very friendly as well.

It is situated in a great location, not far from a number of the markets, and there are plenty of shops, ATMs, restaurants(very reasonably priced), and tour operators available nearby the hotel.

We actually went on a full day tour to the golden triangle, and this we booked right at the hotel, by a tour representative for Holiday Plus Tours, who was extremely helpful and friendly. In fact, she went out of her way to be helpful to us throughout our stay at the hotel, and we would certainly give her a great "thumbs up"!

The pool, although small, was good, since using the jets you could achieve the feel of swimming laps in a larger pool, and you could choose how hard you wanted to stroke by going closer to the jets or farther back. The only disappointment was the closure of the pool for some regular maintenance the last day of our stay, but that was minor, really.

All in all, Da Naga Hotel provided all we needed to have a great experience in Chiang Mai, and we can honestly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

When i was in chang mai, i stayed in several hotels but this was defenitly the best. The rooms are big, very clean, comfortable and the interior is very cosy. The staff is very friendly and they take good care of you. The hotel is located close to many attractions of the city.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KlaasVanHecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
1.7 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing