We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little pricey but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #30 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little pricey but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

My wife and I stayed 4 nights. Overall it is a fine property with a passable buffet breakfast. The standard room featured a king bed (like sleeping on a board), small bathroom and particularly troublesome door handle, which if you weren't careful could inflict painful injury, (it's pointed in the shape of a dragon, (de naga), and sharp. The hotel staff was helpful and courteous. My only complaint was the cost which kept escalating each time I inquired about a reservation. We paid 3800 baht for each of 3 nights and 4400 baht for the final night, (high season we were told). But the hotel grew on us with each passing night. It is very close to the Sunday market, good walking area with plenty of bars, (wonderful Jerusalem Falafel restaurant nearby), and a hole in the wall, but excellent, Italian restaurant just outside the entrance to the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    326
    67
    14
    16
See reviews for
115
505
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

I'm not sure why this hotel has been reviewed so well on TripAdvisor. This hotel pales in comparison to many other hotels that I have stayed at. Overall I would rate this a mediocre 3 or 4 star hotel with a lot of room for improvement. It was certainly nothing spectacular, while the hotel decore is quite nice there are certainly flaws in the service and quality/range of food - I am sure there are better options in Chiang Mai.

Check in was quite slow (but the welcome cold drink and towel was nice), rooms were decent size (as long as you get what you booked - more info below), and food could have definitely been better. Overall I wouldn't recommend it - but if you do choose to stay here, and are looking for somewhere romantic, make sure you select a room category of grand deluxe or better to ensure you are not on the ground floor where everyone walks past your room!! And on another note, make sure you book a cooking class with Thai Orchid Cookery School (http://www.thaiorchidcooking.com/) - great fun, friendly, and intimate cooking class that I highly recommend (nothing to do with De Naga).

Anyway, back to DeNaga. Summary:

Pros:
- Nicely decorated hotel. I think it is currently undergoing renovation (new restaurant?).
- Good sized room (had a grand deluxe. My friend also stayed at the hotel in a standard room which was not so big)
- Location was OK - Close to a few 7/11 and places to book tours, also very close to city gate which has Sunday night markets - lots of food stalls..

Cons:
- We booked a king size bed room over 5 months prior to our arrival - we turned up and were given a room with two singles pushed together (with bed sheets done separately). We complained and were moved the next day, however as we were only staying 3 nights, the damage had been done. Furthermore, our friends who booked a standard room were on their honeymoon - they also were given two single beds pushed together. Unfortunately for them, the hotel did not accommodate and change rooms for them - quite disappointing considering it was their honeymoon!!!
- Location could be better if you like shopping. It is relatively far from the permanent night markets. You can walk there but probably takes 15-25 minutes, depending on how fast you walk. Don't get a safe feeling at night walking from the night markets to the hotel, so have to catch taxi/tuk tuk
- Rooms - while size was good, the space was not utilised very well (for the grand deluxe rooms). Bathrooms were spacey, but bad construction meant our first room had a dodgey shower door (didn't close properly), and our second room had a dodgy door to the bathroom (also didn't close properly). Again, if you get a room on ground floor, chances are people will be walking by your room all day - not much privacy so avoid if that is what you are chasing.
- Food - not much variety for the buffet breakfast. Room service was prompt, but the food was not good at all
- Facilities - Free internet is available but very slow computers. Pool is tiny - I did see one person use it, but the hotel is very small and cramped, so the pool (more like a large spa or pond) is pretty much directly behind the reception area, and within a few metres of some guest rooms!

  • Liked — Decore
  • Disliked — Having 2 single beds pushed together to form a double!!!! BE AWARE!!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank uNSeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Located in the heart of Chiang Mai on Rachamankha Soi 2 which is convenient. The famous Sunday walking street and Pan Onn Temple are only few walk's away.

We stayed in the lead-in category - Deluxe 30sq.m. very nice. Contemporary northern Lanna Thai style, stylish. Black, red and white are the colour theme. See hotel gallery at http://www.denagahotel.com/gallery.html

Cafe De Naga - Eat here please! Although the hotel tries to promote dinner. It is recommended for breakfast (especially homemade bread, pastry and my favourite passion fruit or coconut jams). It's a pitty I completely forgot to buy the jam back home!

By the way, if you have your laptop, they give free wifi (allow only daily access and you have to request for it every day).
No welcome fresh fruit, it is replaced with Thai Beer "Chang" and soft drinks. That we don't like as we don't drink beer or soft drinks much.

Housekeeping service is a question.
I got 2 cotton bud packs instead of 1 cotton bud 1 shower cap.
Cleaning is making the bed and empty the bin, that my experience.

Friendly and helpful receptionists

I love the evening turn down service nice small flower wrapped in banana leave on the pillows.

Airport transfer is THB500.- per way.

  • Liked — Spacious, Design, Water Pressure, Toileteries (not strong smell)
  • Disliked — The smell - they put me in smoking room!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siriratmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

Two adults, two teens. We all loved this hotel. Excellent value! Our rooms were gorgeous, the staff were so friendly and hospitable, the decor was beautiful, breakfasts were great and the location couldnt have been better.

Would highly recommend checking this place out. We paid 2x-5x more for far less on the rest of our trip!

  • Liked — quality for the value
  • Disliked — hard to find at first
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

Many time in Chiang mai and for this trip decided to try a new property.Right in the middle of town,great location,walking distance from everything(shop,restaurant,night market)
A real hidden gem in the city.
Beautifully design and create feeling .
Staff are very friendly and food is excelent,room well set with all the amenity required(free internet acces and free beer and soft drink in the mini bar).
Only negative comment was that the lady which run the travel tour desk was not the most friendly and was more interested to sale then to provide a service or information.

the rest of the team are top notch and i will recommend this hotel

  • Liked — the design and the food
  • Disliked — the tour desk
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michelcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed 7 nights in a Grand Deluxe Room. This Hotel has a unique, high quality atmosphere and provides excellent service at a very reasonable price. Throughout the Hotel the decorations are stylish and very beautiful. The room was spacious and immaculately clean, although the lighting was a little dim. The Reception and Restaurant Staff were excellent and the good choice of food was very well presented.
Facilities are good for a Hotel of this size, however the Pool area was very small and lacked sunlight during the day.
Breakfast choice was wonderful, although the first morning was ruined by a crowd of noisy Germans who occupied almost every table and found it necessary to shout across to each other, discussing all manner of subjects, including the food and their personal medical conditions. Fortunately they all left that day and the wonderful ambience of the Hotel was soon restored. It was a pleasure to take our breakfast in the sunshine, attended by excellent staff who paid perfect attention to every detail, yet remained unobtrusive – In fact this was one of the best features of the Hotel, excellent attentive but unobtrusive staff.

For – Ambience; Stylish Decoration; Excellent Staff and Service; Free WiFi.
Against – Too many noisy Germans; Small almost unusable Pool.
Return – Definitely Will
Recommend – Absolutely Yes

  • Liked — Unique Style with beautiful decorative touches
  • Disliked — Dim Room Lighting
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

Our experience staying at this property was absolutely faultless. We spent our first night in Chiang Mai in a basic gueshouse and after doing an overnight 2 day tour, wanted to come back to something a bit more luxurious. We turned up early in the morning and told them we had booked on the internet the night before but our confirmation hadn't come through. They were more than happy to take us at our word and store our luggage for us until late the next day. Our rooms were beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean and really live up to the photos on the website. The hotel is exceptionally quiet as it's back off the main road, yet it's walking distance to everything. There is also a lovely small pool which is most welcome for an afternoon dip. We ate at their quaint outdoor restaurant on 2 nights as the food was really good and also good value for money. The strawberry margaritas weren't bad either! However, I think what really makes this property exceptional is the staff. Everyone, from the reception desk to breakfast staff and staff in the restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful. On our last day we were doing a full day tour and then catching the overnight train back to Bangkok. When we returned to the hotel all hot and exhausted, they provided the 4 of us with a room and clean towels so we could shower and change before leaving for the station - at no charge!! I would highly recommend this property as a very affordable place to stay in Chiang Mai. It won't disappoint.

  • Liked — Everything - we couldn't fault it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing