We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but terrible employees”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #33 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

service is a nightmare (except house keeper,really nice and helpfull), they try to charge you for everything... and always with a fantastic smile... felt really bad
air conditionning was really noisy and they wanted to charge us because we took a towel for the day, when we just arrived back to the hotel, they just said before "Hello", you have stolen a towel,then we'll charge you...
swimming pool is really small (be careful at the picture) and the water was not really clean
bad souvenir because the price was really high (if you check in the same street, you get really nice bungalows, much cheaper and really friendly)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fab47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2009

I found the De Naga using tripadvisor and on our first visit to Chiang Mai we thought it would be nice to stay in a boutique hotel. We were not disappointed. I was travelling with 7 friends so we took up 4 of the 55 rooms. The rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There is a free mini bar with 2 softdrinks and 2 beers and nuts every day. Be aware though that it is only certain items in the mini bar not everything.

The whole hotel is lovely and so relaxing just to be there. Check in was fine, the reception staff are wonderful and so helpful. This also applies to all of the hotel staff from the bellboy right through to housekeeping staff. We used the tour desk to arrange a night at Khum Khantoke and it was very reasonably priced and a fantastic night out. A must do in Chiang Mai.

Breakfast was also good. The variety of jams, cereals etc was great and they cook your eggs and bacon to order so you know it is fresh. We also got a free cocktail every day at the Cafe De Naga at the front of the hotel. We ate there a couple of time as well and it was good. Cheap Singha as well (50B). The staff there were great. Great little Italian restaurant on the corner as well. They do a really good pizza for when you are Thai'd out.

The pool is not very big but was refreshing to have a dip in the afternoon after being out in the heat all day. Great location as well just inside Tha Pae gate and so close to the walking market.

I would definitely stay here again (and I hope to) and would recommend it to anyone. It is by far the best boutique hotel I have stayed in. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We booked De Naga based on TA reviews and loved it. We stayed 5 nights including New Years 09. The hotel was not big, but it was very new, modern and central. We were 4 and stayed in 2 rooms, both very clean and spacious, tastefully decorated with attention to detail and price came with free water/soft drinks. The bed was confortable. Breakfast was delicious. Location was great, right next to Sunday market and walking distance to main temples, lots of restaurants, bars, shops and night market. Free internet on the lobby. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge desk help us arrange private taxis to various sites (e.g Chaing Dao elephant camp and bamboo rafting) and tour/activities (Flight of the Gibbon, water rafting etc) at reasonable prices. There was a lso a small pool, but we did not get to use. My only complain was that as we stayed over New Years, there was an expensive (for thai standards) mandatory new years dinner (~50euros/person dinner, while the room cost 60 euros/night), but I understand this is common practice in Thailand over both, Xmas and New Year and that most hotels charge even more!. Anyway, it was great to spend new years in the center of town, close to where everything has hapening. I will always remember watching from a rooftop of a nearby bar the hundreds of lit paper lanterns all over Chiang Mai's sky.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The staff picked us up from the airport and gave us a mini-tour on the way to the hotel. They were very kind and pointed out some interesting sites and restaurants. They even gave us the history of old city and the wall.

The room was nice and we loved the free beer. The mini bar had other goodies available at a low cost.

I especially loved the bathroom. Large closet, full length mirror, good lighting, lvery spacious, large seperate shower, and large and deep tub. One day we got back to the hotel after a long day of touring and the pool was a little crowded (really only a group of 5 people but with a little pool, that's crowded) so I filled the tub up with some cool water and took a nice private soak.

We really, really liked breakfast....a lot! They had a nice selection of baked goods, fresh fruit, and home made granola, yogurt, and jams. I liked the vanilla pineapple jam so much that I bought a jar to bring home. The granola was killer as well with huge roasted cashews and toasted coconut!!!!

So back to the pool......it looked nice and clean, but any time we wanted to take a dip there was always a crowd.

We had breakfast, which was included in the room, at Naga Restaurant, but we ate dinner one night at Cafe Naga. Cafe Naga is located in the front of the property right on the street. We had mixed satay, kao soi (to die for), some noodle dish with a thick gravy sauce, and mango coconut sticky rice. The food was sooooooo amazing!!!!! Definately try this place. We also managed to sneak in a caramel filled brownie from their bake shop.... it was super delish!

This place is really laid back and in heart of the action, although it doesn't seem that way because it's so quiet and serene!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicky2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I've stayed at the De Naga Hotel twice in the last year (once for a golf trip and another for a shopping/spa/eco adventure trip). At under $50 a night, this is one of Chiang Mai's best bargains for a well-located charmilng boutique hotel. Rooms are clean, sizable, tastefully decorated in modern Lanna style, and well-appointed with full amenities including in-room safe, mini bar, robes, slippers, aircon, and cable tv. There's wireless in the lobby and a small lap pool in the courtyard. The hotel's location is excellent, just minutes walk away from the lively night market, and surrounded by numerous cafes, pubs, spas, shops, ATMs, convenience stores, and travel agencies. At the time, the hotel was still installing a spa and fitness center which should be open by now. Breakfast is simple but filling. Lunch and dinner at the restaurant is pretty decent too with excellent curry and pad thai. The only drawback is that the hotel is somewhat set back from the main street on a quiet private driveway, so you should bring the hotel's address with you when traveling by tuk-tuk or taxi. It's not hard to find once you've found it, but because the hotel was brand new the first time I stayed, it was not well known yet. Overall we really enjoyed our two stays at the De Naga and would definitely recommend this hotel over the other places we've stayed at in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Hotel is elegant and off the main road so it is quiet - the hotel staff is exceedingly polite and the breakfast buffet is top notch

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This property is well located within the old city 'moat'. The staff are very friendly. I and a friend stayed the last weekend in April and when I go back I'll stay there again. The only fault / criticism is the welcome letter quoting free minibar that is misleading because its limited on whats free and this is not explained.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugmill2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,008 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#36 of 394 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#38 of 394 in Chiang Mai
967 reviews
1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £75 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing