We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #29 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed for 2 nights with our 3 children and can't recommend the De Naga highly enough. We had requested adjoining rooms but when we arrived there were none available so they upgraded us and found us 2 rooms next to each other. The staff (Anita, Honey and Posh) were so hospitable, friendly and genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable. The pool is small but provided fun for the kids with jets and showered water. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the inclusion of free soft drinks, peanuts and beer was a welcome treat for the family and also a free nightly cocktail at there cafe. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we have found for a small boutique hotel and we have travelled a lot. There are good restaurants very close by, an italian and our kids favourite the Art Cafe. The location is a 3 min walk to the Sunday walking street market which was great and a 3 minute walk to the Elephant Nature Park booking office which was an incredible experience not to be missed. We will definitely stay at the De Naga next time we holiday in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    326
    67
    14
    17
See reviews for
116
508
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Stayed at De Naga last year but apparently this year went through management change to "The Unique Collection" group. Hotel has gone from nice little place to awful.

We booked a premiere deluxe room and got a good rate from a manager. When we arrived, first room they gave us, bathroom smelled like a sewer. We got into a bit of a tiff with front desk staff who, when asked about their web stated "Free Mini Bar" policy (quite frankly we were surprised - last year they also had free mini-bar but only water and soda - this year they had sparkling water, Evian and two types of beer - not that we drink beer but I wanted an Evian).

We were told only house water was free - everything else had to be paid for. Well that set a very negative tone - even as they checked with night manger on duty (by phone) who confirmed the confusing policy. This also started a tiff between my Thai staff who was with me and a housekeeping supervisor that had gotten off work but was still hanging out at the front. She complained to my staff that "the foreigner" (me) was just causing trouble (What trouble - we asked about a policy AND reported a sewer smell in our room).

Only thing about our stay (besides their food which is very good) that made me happy was next day we were assured by the hotel General Manager that woman was given a disciplinary warning.

We were moved to another room however in that room, the wooden door between the bathroom and the bedroom was warped and would not close. We asked them to fix it as I did not appreciate my toilet activities being observed by my staff or anyone else that may have been in the room.

They could not fix the door so they offered to show me other similar rooms to change to. I reluctantly agreed only to have the first two rooms I was shown still have feces in the toilet. Yes, you read correctly.

At that point I was exasperated. If it were not late night we would have walked out.

Minor problem but problem non-the-less in this non-secure world: security at the hotel is very lax. Doors lock but safety chain can easily be broken as well as locks picked.

Next day, after talking with the Mr. Limprasutr, the hotel manager about all the problems we decided to book a car (for 200 Baht) from their tour desk to take us to the airport. The car arrives and after we load our bags in the car, my staff opens the drivers passenger side of the car only to find a woman sitting there.

Ugh, safety rule number one, never get in a car where there is more than just the driver - man or woman. Point number 2, when I hire a car to take me from point A to point B - it is "my" hire car" - no one else should be in it except for those I invite.

We decided to take a tuk-tuk instead.

Folks, teach these people a lesson, DON"T STAY at De Naga!. I had to pay to teach them how to have their staff treat guests as VALUED guests and how management should handle customer problems.

Maybe the new management group will get the message and bring back the old De Naga that I remember.

And one last thing, if you go to a buffet where you pay one price and everything is "free" on the buffet line - that means EVERYTHING is free not some dishes are free and you have to pay for others.

Unique Collection Group, stop being so lazy (or is it cheap) and change what it says on the web site if you don't mean it OR clarify with a table top sign on top of each fridge in the rooms.

See, they really should pay me for training.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott_cos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel is tastefully furnished & designed. Great for couples. Swimpool however is small, not really children's haven. Door handles are decorated with sharp dragon head features, hazard for children. Breakfast buffet is good, cooking is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rutan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Very nice hotel with great interior, friendly staff and great restaurant. Located in the center of old city, close to most of the tourist attractions. A bit noisy at night (thin walls and you can hear people walking on the corridor). Many pubs and bars close to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlavD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We booked the De Naga after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It is a great spot to stay in Chiang Mai. On arrival you are given herbal tea and a hot towel while you are being checked in. You are given a complementary cocktail at the cafe at the front of the hotel also on arrival also.
The rooms are a good size, beds are so comfortable and the decor is so quaint. There is a mini bar, some not all of which is complementary, bottles of water, soft drinks, beer and nuts which are replaced daily. The bathroom is a nice size and the shower is fab! There is free internet points at the hotel and the pool, while on the small side is great after a hot day touring round the city.
There is also a tour operator located in the hotel lobby which we booked the night safari through, would recommend it as a great way to spend a night in chiang mai.
The breakfast was very good also, a great variety of food with your eggs cooked fresh just as you like them. We ate in the cafe also, the food was beautiful and very reasonable also. They make great cocktails too!
There is a bar at the entrance to the hotel which is always busy and it is very central to the attractions in the city. The night market is close by, we got a tuk tuk there only cost 50 Bhat, and they dont try and take you off to different places unlike other parts of Thailand.
I would recommend this hotel as a great spot to stay in Chiang Mai. The staff as so friendly and go out of their way to help you. It was a very enjoyable stay, and i would definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reims
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

service is a nightmare (except house keeper,really nice and helpfull), they try to charge you for everything... and always with a fantastic smile... felt really bad
air conditionning was really noisy and they wanted to charge us because we took a towel for the day, when we just arrived back to the hotel, they just said before "Hello", you have stolen a towel,then we'll charge you...
swimming pool is really small (be careful at the picture) and the water was not really clean
bad souvenir because the price was really high (if you check in the same street, you get really nice bungalows, much cheaper and really friendly)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fab47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I found the De Naga using tripadvisor and on our first visit to Chiang Mai we thought it would be nice to stay in a boutique hotel. We were not disappointed. I was travelling with 7 friends so we took up 4 of the 55 rooms. The rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There is a free mini bar with 2 softdrinks and 2 beers and nuts every day. Be aware though that it is only certain items in the mini bar not everything.

The whole hotel is lovely and so relaxing just to be there. Check in was fine, the reception staff are wonderful and so helpful. This also applies to all of the hotel staff from the bellboy right through to housekeeping staff. We used the tour desk to arrange a night at Khum Khantoke and it was very reasonably priced and a fantastic night out. A must do in Chiang Mai.

Breakfast was also good. The variety of jams, cereals etc was great and they cook your eggs and bacon to order so you know it is fresh. We also got a free cocktail every day at the Cafe De Naga at the front of the hotel. We ate there a couple of time as well and it was good. Cheap Singha as well (50B). The staff there were great. Great little Italian restaurant on the corner as well. They do a really good pizza for when you are Thai'd out.

The pool is not very big but was refreshing to have a dip in the afternoon after being out in the heat all day. Great location as well just inside Tha Pae gate and so close to the walking market.

I would definitely stay here again (and I hope to) and would recommend it to anyone. It is by far the best boutique hotel I have stayed in. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing