We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel, will return”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #29 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love this hotel, will return”
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We only spent 2 nights at the De Naga but wished it had been longer. We stayed in their suite room which was contained in a separate villa adjoined to the hotel. It was enormous with beautiful high exposed timber ceilings and stunning artwork throughout. The kids slept on the double day bed which was in an alcove with its own TV. There was a separate desk/writing area and separate bar. The bathroom was huge with a large spa, shower and double vanity plus power room. I would describe the hotel as intimate and very visually appealing. There is a small pool on the lower level with a few lounge chairs. The staff were very friendly and we were made to feel right at home. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace adjoining the main building where they served a good buffet arrangement. The hotel is in the old city near the main gate and down a small laneway -you almost wouldn't know it was there and certainly couldn't hear all the hustle and bustle going on outside. The hotel restaurant out the front was excellent and there were lots of eateries and interesting laneways and places to explore just outside your door. We highly recommend this boutique property and hope to return here next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnygirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    327
    68
    14
    17
See reviews for
116
510
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I had the best time at this hotel.Clean,Clean,Clean.This place is beautiful and the staff is great.They was so kind and helpfull.I cant say enough how great this place is.I will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unowish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Mt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel in February 2010. What a great hotel. Staff were amazing. Location great. If you are into pools, this one may not be for you. Very small, but very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacksandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I spent a few nights at the De Naga earlier this month. The location is great, about 50m from the Ta Pae gate which marks the entry to the old walled city, but also gives easy access to the sights out of town and airport. The hotel is relatively small which I like, and is designed in the "thai" style with lots of dark wood etc. Not 5 star, but very well designed and comfortable. The pool is small but adequate, the rooms are large well laid out, clean and stylish. Bathroom fixtures were a little dated, but not bad. Breakfast is good, and staff are very helpful and friendly. My only question would be about value - I'm not sure that for the price the hotel is represents particularly great value compared with other hotels i stayed in during my time in Thailand. At $100 AUD / night I'd think it was value, at $150 AUD / night I'm not convinced. There's nothing wrong with place, but it's probably just a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizvegasMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed one night only in De Naga as a break on a long road journey from Chiang Rai to Sukhothai (normally we spend at least a week in Chiang Mai) but wished we had stopped for at least an extra night, as we enjoyed it so much. As everyone says, the location is excellent - just inside the walls of the Old City, so ideal for temple visiting, and about five minutes from Thapae Road. The design of the hotel makes the best of limited space, with rooms around a courtyard - the rooms themselves are spacious, attractive, and with good bathrooms. Breakfast is served on a little terrace in an open courtyard and there is a lovely restaurant at the entrance to the hotel serving well-presented and delicious food (the Vietnamese spring rolls are not to be missed!) For a short stay in Chiang Mai we would definitely recommend this hotel, although the pool is quite small and we would prefer a larger pool for a longer stay. We were particularly impressed with the courtesy, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - the manager immediately introduced himself to us as we checked in and did all he could to make our visit a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

You will like this hotel if you like Thai style designed hotels with lots of wood. I found this place a bit pricey compared to other hotels in Chiangmai. The hotel is quite small (boutique), the swimming pool very small. The rooms are so so, thai style designed. service is good. The best thing about this place is the food. Breakfast was delicious and the restaurant food is good, but service is slow as they only had 2 waiters at the time. Location is average, in chiangmai old city. On sunday there is the walking street, which you can walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profiterole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location near the Flower Market. It is also an easy walk to lots of restaurants, 7/11s, ATMs, etc. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The rooms have a Thai theme and were nicely furnished. The lobby was very nice; the welcome was friendly, and service was also excellent. The only drawback was no view from the room windows.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#44 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing