We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a fantastic location”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #30 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This is a great little hotel in a perfect location. We walked everywhere from here. The rooms were lovely and very clean, we had a problem with mosquitos in our room, sure they were coming in through the air con! But apart from that rooms were very clean and spacious.
The pool is tiny and freezing cold as does not get any sun on it all day! Breakfast was lovely and the staff were were very helpful and attentive. The bar / restaurant is very cheap and good food. The Sunday walking street market is excellent and very close to the hotel, great shopping.
We stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our time in this hotel.
Would def recommend cookery lessons and Patara elephants while in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    329
    68
    15
    17
See reviews for
118
513
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This was a wonderful small oasis of quiet and beauty in a very busy area of Chiang Mai. The location was excellent and we walked to many places in the city. The rooms were beautiful and very quiet. The breakfast was wonderful with many different options available. I recommend this hotel highly! It was a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I would not hesitate to stay here again. It's a very nice little hotel, set back off the main street right near the main gate in the old city. While the street can be very busy, the hotel seems like a little oasis of quiet. The staff is great, the hotel spotless and the rooms large, modern and very comfortable. The staff was also very thoughtful. One of our party had a birthday while there. The main desk made sure they had a birthday cake when we got back from dinner. And we didn't even ask for it. They just did it, find the birth date in her passport.
Breakfast was served in a quite comfortable restaurant that was included with the room. Everything from the western to the Thai items were very good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMG4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

My partner and I spent nearly three weeks in Thailand and the De Naga was probably our favorite hotel. It is easy to find and well-situated for exploring Chiang Mai. Upon arriving, we asked for an upgrade and were given a larger room. The hotel itself is really beautiful with traditional Asian architecture and design. The staff are always helpful and full of valuable information about what to do and see while you are staying in the city. There is a concierge who will help you book any excursions you would like to do - we did the Elephant Ride and Tiger Kingdom (both well worth it and fun). Breakfast was included in the price of the room and there is a lovely adjoining restaurant with an outdoor area too. (DeNaga also has another cafe that is part of the property - where you can have a beer or dinner - also a good spot for meeting fellow travelers). There is a nice courtyard where you can sit and have a beer or a smoke and a small pool with a small bar next door. All around - a great experience - quite hotel - perfectly situated and top-notch service. You will definitely get spoiled at DeNaga.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFEric75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My husband and I both agree that this was our favourite place to stay in Thailand, we stayed here for 4 nights. It is a short distance away from the airport and located in the Old City area. It is not far from the night market and also walking distance to many of the temples. We were really happy with our choice.
The hotel itself had a very authentic feel to it - very relaxed and beautifully decorated. The rooms were a good size and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Sunny/Sonny (sp?), a guide organised by the hotel, took us to Baan Tawai (furniture village) for a reasonable cost and spent the whole day with us. He even helped us at the DHL shop when trying to arrange the shipment of the furniture we bought - would ask for him for any touring you would want to do, he was very helpful.
The hotel restaurant and cafe is yum. We ate many brunches at the café - breakfast at this hotel was very good too. Close by to the hotel is a clothing/tailor shop called Scandy Collection Co. Ltd. We had a number of clothes made here and were very impressed with them.
The hotel pool is outdoor but very small, it didn't entice us to go in!
Overall we loved staying here, very relaxing, very cosy, and would come back to stay here in a heartbeat. We would definitely recommend staying here when visiting Chiang Mai - thank you De Naga!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Mistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We really loved this hotel, the decor was amazing, the service excellent, great breakfast and everything (and fast free internet compared to other locations). While on a 4 day tour of the province, we couldnt wait to get back to Chiang Mai and De Naga. Could use a fitness center...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We stayed at De Naga for 5 days. During our stay, every little detail was carefully taken care of by the friendly and helpful staff. Even when asking for something that is not normally included in the service, they would make every effort to get it for us.

The room was really nice and beautifully decorated and perfectly clean. The hotel is in the old town and very close to the new part of the town (15-20 minutes away from the night markets). We walked everywhere during our stay in Chiang Mai.

Breakfast was excellent: buffet offering all kinds of Thai specialties, continental breakfast and the typical English breakfast (and lots of fresh fruit).

The hotel facilities are nice and comfortable. They have a small swimming pool, and the swimming pool area is great for relaxing and having a drink or reading.

Although all the aspects of this hotel were great, the most salient one for me is its staff. Fern and Robert (as well as the rest) took good care of us and the staff serving breakfast could not be any nicer and diligent.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LepAar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 383 in Chiang Mai
964 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#45 of 383 in Chiang Mai
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing