We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and friendly”

Shambala Beach Bungalows
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Samui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shambala Beach Bungalows
Ranked #221 of 317 Hotels in Ko Samui
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We flew in from bangkok to ooh Samui and had planned on staying a couple of nights before heading to Koh Tao. My sister had recommended it and said it like it was it's basic but the food is great and the people are lovely. We sound the same and decided to stay here on the way back too before flying home.
The area is really seedy but Shambala was full of people like us looking for somewhere chilled on the way elsewhere. It was really homely and a bit rough round the edges but we weren't looking for air con or hot water and very much enjoyed kicking back in the garden with a beer and a book.
Also on our return we did a cookery course with them and were taken to the market and cooked some very yummy thai recipes. We cooked so much that we couldn't eat it all and so she reheated it for us later and gave us fresh rice and a beer to have it with later.
I think its a good place for both couples and solo travellers as we met some lovely people in the chill out spaces.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We spent 3 days here between Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur. The rest was much needed. We felt very taken care of by the attentive staff. Our every need was accommodated, from food to motorbike rental.

The location of the bungalows is beneficial. Only a 5 minute ride to the major city, and and an easy ride to other resorts and restaurants. However, we found ourselves so ensconced in the resort we found it hard to leave. While the beach is not the most picturesque on Ko Pha Ngan, it is still a slice of tropical paradise.

The bungalows are spacious and comfortable. The best way to describe them is mod-rustic - the best of both worlds. We loved the deck and the open air living.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripchic314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Don't get fooled by the word " bungalow"
this place was my biggest disappointment of my whole trip , It's sad that the Web site had good reviews about it, I wonder who wrote those reviews. Yes i was on a budget for the trip, but i'd rather pay $20 extra dollars and get something 100 times better, which is what i did after my first night stay there. Staff were friendly but the place was a real wreck, you can read the review below and it's all truth. anyways, unless you're really hurting on a budget and have nowhere else to stay, chose something else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

After staying at a luxury resort in Koh Phangan that we loved, me and my friend knew that nothing would compare to it! However we had booked Shambala a few months before, and had been very impressed by the website.
We are 2 young girls travelling the world, so we have a budget, and found this to be a reasonable price for somewhere that looked quite pretty!
Upon arrival Shambala looked shut down. We walked into reception and were greeted by a friendly thai member of staff, we checked in and were shown to our room!
Seeing the bungalows were like nothing we had seen on the internet. From the outside they looked like they needed a new coat of paint and a clean up. We had a balcony terrace with 2 chairs, but both were covered in leaves and dirt.
Inside the bungalow, the floor was covered in sand (which clearly wasn't from us as we had just arrived and our shoes were outside) The bathroom was quite unclean, there were cracked floor tiles, and a chunk missing from the door!
The beds were the most uncomfortable beds we have slept in during our travels. There are mosquito nets above the bed, as i put mine up i found it to be covered in blood.
The whole place was a bit of a let down it looked really run down, and the sea front restaurant looked like it had turned into a rubbish dump!
Its sad that the website portrays it to be a great resort! Very disappointing as given a clean up could make it much better! Also a little overpriced for not great quality!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We were first very excited to see the reviews of Shambala on Trip Advisor....decent ratings and exceptional value - great! We checked in and the reception staff were great.....the bungalow however was very tired, the bathroom was well.....pretty repulsive - very much in need of a rip out and upgrade. Perhaps the most disappointing aspect is that while it seams good value.....when compared to places 1 GBP cheaper or 1 GBP more expensive nearby....it really is a very poor choice. The immediate surrounding area seams to have become the victim of ultra and over commercialisation to the point that it is seedy and has an undertone of excessive drugs and prostitution. Well yes it's Thailand so it's not that I am naive but just that in all my travel within the country this is one area that lacks any vibe or soul. The bungalows could be updated and that would be great....but the location needs some major investment too. Despite all this - the food was AMAZING - really really good - so don't take me for a grump....when something is good I'll say it's good. Budget yes - but poor value kind of budget! Watch out for the nocturnal activities - won't say any more than that.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelloydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Staff were amazing and the rooms pleasent! Thought big buddah beach was a nice beach! Grounds needed cleaning up but overall had a great time!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandVman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Shambala was the least expensive place we stayed at for the whole trip, about $18 US per night. We stayed in Bungalow 11 which was right next to the beach. There was no air conditioning but we had hot water and a ceiling fan. We got a few good night's sleep, the bed wasn't luxurious but it wasn't like concrete either. The shower, like the bed, was adequate.

After, reading the reviews about the food here, we decided to try it for dinner upon arrival and it was so delicious that we ate every meal at Shambala for the rest of our stay. We would just sit at the bamboo hut table and eat by the sea.

We also rented a motor scooter from across the street for about $6US per day. I had never driven a scooter before and it was a great way to get around the island.

The staff was very kind and gave us good directions to a Muay Thai fight at Phetch Buncha Stadium in Chaweng Beach. Front row seats were very cheap and the fights were action packed and authentic.

Bottom line, Shambala is a warm, backpacker friendly place to toss your bags, lay your head and relax. It's a great home base for exploring the island and is well away from the hectic Chaweng area. We stayed in the 4.5 star Chatrium Suites in Bangkok right after this and believe me, we enjoyed Shambala just as much. What it lacks in luxury, it makes up for in atmosphere, charm, and value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWinHDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
1.8 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,494 reviews
4.2 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,095 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
5.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambala Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambala Beach Bungalows

Address: 99 99 Moo 1 Bophut Bay, Koh Samui, 84320 | Big Buddha Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 317 Hotels in Ko Samui
Number of rooms: 311
Also Known As:
Shambala Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui
Shambala Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing