We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here, not worth it!”

Shambala Beach Bungalows
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Samui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shambala Beach Bungalows
Ranked #223 of 316 Hotels in Ko Samui
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont stay here, not worth it!”
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Myself and my boyfriend travelled throughout thailand for over a month staying in various places and this place was the one big disappointment of the trip. the people of thailand are amazing and we got such a lovely warm reception whereever we went - you can imagine our surpirse when we turned up in shambala to be ignored, rudely treated and barked by english owner. What an ignorant awful women. Should of known better then to stay in a english run place - you expect this kind of non-friendly attitude and rudeness in europe but certainly not in the land of smiles. Jess doesnt seem to know how to smile and she appeared to be the same with other guests there. The room was awful - filty and expensive compared to other places we had stayed which were a million times nicer and cleaner. The location isnt the best either - its seedy central so wudnt advise bringing kids to that beach. All the bars are seedy and full of go-go-girls. We stayed around the area the first night as we arrived late but we were soon quick in getting out of it the other days. We strongly considered getting accomodation elsewhere but since we paid already and transport out of buddha beach wasnt too expensive and it was close to airport we decided to stay on. Thai staff were very friendly and helpful there but the owners should take a leaf out of the thais book - dont bother staying here, you wont get truly thai experiance, only a scowling woman, the kind ul find at numerous run-down uk hotels - why bother going the whole way to thailand for that when the thai people have so much more to offer. my advise - keep well away!

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Rude english owners
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lalaland46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We had only planned on staying a few days at the shambala but ended up staying for over a week. We loved the place - staff and owners were all very helpful and friendly and all the food we had there was lovely! We stayed in one of the beach bungalows, which was basic but clean and comfortable, very good for the price. And Limpy the dog is very sweet! The area is quiet, but close to other more lively areas. Shambala is right on the beach and when we were there, we practically had the beach to ourselves. Would definately recommend it as a place to stay!

  • Liked — staff!
  • Disliked — no internet access at place itself
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cwy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

we went this month on our trip around thailand and malazia. We was welcomed like it was our home. We had to bungalos next to each other which was great. we realy enjoyed it there. it was a 15 min walk to big buddah beach which was great to visit. It was near a good number of resterants, bars and laundry serice. They have a man called dave who does diving lessons but at the hotel he has started making personalized post card, with your picture on or a picture of your choice and he can do whatever you want. The food was gorgeous at shambala and they could not do enough for you.

  • Liked — The sun set and the accomadation, food and service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Xxjade-bethxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

I stayed for three weeks in February 2008, with my wife her sister and our daughter aged 3 and son aged 12 .We had two bungalows next to each other. Ours was 15 metres from the lapping waves surrounded by palm trees. The sunset from our terrace was a sight to behold. The water in the sea was clean and warm.The kids swam in the sea every day.The bungalow intentionaly basic to reflect local Thai culture had everything that we needed, including roof fans to keep us comfortable at night. We did not need airconditioning.The indoor/outdoor restaurant run by local Thai staff was very good. You can eat at thatch covered tables only a few metres from beach and sea. The cooking by Thai super cook Pom ,helped by PLE was fantastic. You can also take lessons in Thai cooking. The restaurant organisation and service managed by EM was all smiles , friendly, efficient . Shambala is run by an English couple Jess and Julz, who create a family like atmosphere. Big Buddha beach has several shops and is great as a base on the quiet side of the island, to further explore . English PADI trained Scuba Diving instructors are next door with a super speedboat and all the gear that you can hire.We really enjoyed our stay. We have already booked to go back next year.Excellent value for money. Jan and Marzena

Helpful?
2 Thank janjkluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
2.3 mi away
Baan Sijan Resort
Baan Sijan Resort
#4 of 9 in Ang Thong
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#8 of 8 in Lipa Noi
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
4.8 mi away
Miskawaan Luxury Beachfront Villas
1.7 mi away
Lipa Bay Resort
Lipa Bay Resort
#7 of 8 in Lipa Noi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambala Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambala Beach Bungalows

Property: Shambala Beach Bungalows
Address: 99 99 Moo 1 Bophut Bay, Koh Samui, 84320 | Big Buddha Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 316 Hotels in Ko Samui
Number of rooms: 311
Also Known As:
Shambala Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui
Shambala Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing