We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxed, spacious bungalows on the beach, good value”

Shambala Beach Bungalows
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Samui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shambala Beach Bungalows
Ranked #218 of 317 Hotels in Ko Samui
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Set at Big Buddha Beach (a quieter part of koh Samui) with a lovely sandy beach.
Good quality spacious bungalows with private bathroom and balcony.
Set on the beach. We were there in Dec and the beach was virtually empty.
Run by a friendly american couple.
Food is excellent. Plenty of hammocks and pillows to relax on.
Walking distance to the pier where you can get a boat go to koh phangan.
Restaurants & bars nearby, along the main road.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raah138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

The rooms are basic, romantic terrace seaview, if you are lucky, or bar noise , if you are unlucky. The rooms reflect the price.
Good service from lovely Em and the staff, allways a smile and a joke. It looks like the owners don't like to have contact with their guests, might be good for us??
The food out of this small kittchen is just stunning, try the Duck Rolls, or the Duck with kale. The Pappaya-Salad, mhhhh.
You can do a cooking-course, she knows her stuff.
We had many Mojito's with splendit Seaview and lovely other guests.
Best massage of Thailand!!!
Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineloverAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed here initially for one night after flying in from Chiangmai.

We decided to stay and do our Padi Open Water at the on site five centre - 100 degrees east.

Accomodation was included with the course and we had a beach front bungalow. It was a pleasant room with hot water shower. We gad a few visiting lizards during the stay, but it is perfectly normal and they won't harm you!

Food was great, still talk about it now! Especially the milkshakes and the chicken satay.

7/11 across the road along with street vendors selling fruits and pancakes. Petrol station across road do laundry, we had no problems with them.

Make sure you request a room near beach, our first night was in a room backing onto the road and it wad noisey beyond belief.

Will definately stay here again, if you get a chance I recommend the on site dive team too.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We arrived at big buddha beach after flying in from bangkok,we just wanted somewhere for the night as we were off to koh tao the next morninh,and all i can say is i,m glad it was only one night,we paid 800 baht for the night and i,d booked the room from the uk online.The bungalows are situated in a garden area just off the beach.The reception area and beach bar are acceptable and typically thai with a nice relaxed feel but i cant say the same about accomodation,they are little thai style bungalows but are badly in need of a bit of money spent,it would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor as the mattress was about 2 inch thick on solid boards.my back was killing in the morning!the bathroom was filthy and i,m sure david attenborough could have found some new undiscovered funghi in there!we didnt complain as it was only one night so we headed off out for dinner and drinks,we arrived back about 11.30 and went to bed,but the noise from a nearby bar was horrendous,the base speaker sounded like it was outside the room and it wemt on till 3 am,so with very little sleep we gladly checked out and headed off on the ferry to koh tao,I have to say its a great shame because it probably wouldnt cost a fortune to make a big difference and after now returning from 3 weeks travelling all over thailand we ahd far better accomodation for half the price!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon1009h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

There is only one place to stay in Koh Samui and it’s a little place called Shambala. Not just because, quite frankly, it’s the only affordable place on the island, but because it’s LOVELY.

Owned by the sweetest Franag couple and the Kitchen by a soulful Thai family. They will point you in the direction of mopeds, scuba, elephant treks, yoga…. There is even an immigration office to too far away if you want to extend your stay. (I did).

Let’s talk food for a moment. You can have a killer egg sald, toasty or French fries when it’s sunny but I recommend the Pad Thai and/or fresh coconut. Drinks under their little straw huts is blissful and chilled out Thai cushions a bonus.

There are also plenty of movies, books, board games and other such treats geared towards any homesick traveler.

Be careful though because the time will fly by. But for 500 Baht a night (800 Hot shower) WHY NOT? Oh- don’t do your laundry across the street. Trust me on that one.

P.S I saw a guy walking his Water Buffalo on the beach from my ocean view the morning I left. If you can get it, Grab #6. Best Bungalow in the house.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbreIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I was travelling with a group of 10 friends and my partner, we took up the majority of the bungalows. I really enjoyed my stay.

We are all teachers in Thailand and it was the perfect 4 days get away. Its cheap and cheerful. The rooms were basic which is what you are paying in the price. 500 baht for 2 ppl per night its really reasonable. Double room with fan, bathroom, balcony with a awesome hammock and right on the beach. Lets face it your not going to spend your time sitting in your room, you'll be having a cold drink in their beach garden, chilling in the hammock or exploring the island.

The food, is the best food i have had in Thailand since i have been here, 3 months now. I would recommend their massaman curry and there French fries which comes with freshly made mayonnaise ( which is refreshing from the stupidly sweet, practically salad cream, Mayo you get everywhere else in Thailand) . Everything was made from fresh and very reasonably priced. The beer was also very reasonably priced and the service was great. The staff all speak good English, which is a shame if your trying to speak a bit of Thai. There is a 7/11 just across the road for water stock up ect.

The staff were lovely, although i would agree the English lady running it isn't the smilest of ladies but i think what you have to remember is that it is her job and she has been doing it for nearly 16 odd years. Im sure you have off days, she was extremely helpful and help organise our day trip to the national park and mini buses to the bars ect. She seemed to warm up on the last night an joined us for a drink. She had two lovely dogs which roam around and a absolutely massive cat which i though was just awesome. Gives it a very homely feeling which was refreshing when working away from home can make you very home sick.

I would recommend when on Koh Samui , the Marine National Park tour which was a whole day spent kayaking, walking to some amazing view points, lagoons, and snorkeling with amazing food included :)

Also for a bit a freedom to view the island we hired a Jeep for the girls for 900 baht and the lads hired motors bikes for 150 baht from the reception for 24 hours. Just spent the day going to waterfalls and sightseeing.

The is my first review sorry if its rubbish O_o Enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegPeg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed here in August and although it was cheap, we were very disappointed. We weren't expecting much - just a basic bungalow next to the beach with no frills was what we were after.

Well we got that, but the least we expected was that it would be clean. I can't understand some of the rave reviews because even though I agree that it is cheap I'v estayed in places for much less in Thailand and got much better value.

Agree with other posters on here that we should have known better than to stay in a place with English owners....go for Thai every time who know much more about hospitaity and keeping somewhere clean! The owners were miserable as well. The lady just seemed to sit around all the evening talking to her mates and drinking - didn't even say hello when we went up for dinner...that doesn't cost anything.

The biggest gripe was the cleanliness, everything was just a bit battered. The bungalow had stains all over the chairs, just very unappealing, and they only cleaned your bungalow (we found out) when you asked. So that used toilet paper was sitting in the bin for a day....that should be cleaned without needing to ask.
They also had a poor flea bitten dog that went around scratching iself around the dining area (and probably the kitchen) including right next to us when we were eating. As well as all over the sofas hat guests were supposed to sit on. I've nothing against dogs, but should keep them away from dining areas when they're scratching with fleas!

A week earlier we stayed in a very simple place in Laos for $US5 and that was 100% cleaner than Shambala - and have stayed in amny places around the world cheaper and better than this.

Maybe we made a mistake and were looking for something in Koh Samui that no longer exitsts, a local beach bunaglow place. If going to Samui I would just recommend staying in a resort, where you can get decent deals. There were some nice places just along the same road as Shambala, for similar prices. The beach around here is quite nice, with beautiful sunsets (although not great for swimming) we just didn;t feel like we could relax at Shambala.

In short, I think the hotel has been bought by these English owners who are just happy to take money from guests without trying to keep the place presentable and make it welcoming. They're really just lazy because with just a bit of work and not much money needing to be spent it would be so much better.
Avoid and go for Thai run places instead!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Crosbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
1.8 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
2.3 mi away
Baan Sijan Resort
Baan Sijan Resort
#4 of 9 in Ang Thong
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,486 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#8 of 8 in Lipa Noi
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambala Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambala Beach Bungalows

Address: 99 99 Moo 1 Bophut Bay, Koh Samui, 84320 | Big Buddha Beach, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 317 Hotels in Ko Samui
Number of rooms: 311
Also Known As:
Shambala Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui
Shambala Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing