We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular home-style French restaurant”
Review of The Boudoir

The Boudoir
Ranked #2 of 1,246 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Spectacular home-style French restaurant”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

No difficulty finding this at all - maybe I'm just better at that sort of thing than some. Patrice the owner was doing FOH on his own, as his wife was off visiting her family. We settled on speaking French in the end, though he was more than willing to battle on in English. The setting is delightful - I had one of the tables outside and aside from the mozzies, no complaints at all.

The menu is good hearty Southern French cuisine. What this means is that if you order a starter and a main, you'd better be REALLY hungry. The menu is not enormous - about 5 starters and 8 mains, but the quality of the food is exceptional and very reasonably priced. Little touches like the small plate of amuse-bouches and the complimentary digestif at the end of the meal were unexpected. Clearly, this restaurant is a labour of love for Patrice and his wife and I very much look forward to re-visiting when next I find myself on Samui.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    46
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing meal at The Boudoir, the food is to die for! if you are visiting Koh Samui I wouls highly recommend this restaurant... excellent value for money and amazing owners! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Difficult to find, but an amazing restaurant with delicious food! A very passionate owner! Overall a perfect evening in incredible surroundings!

Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class French”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Having read a review that said how hard the restaurant was to find .. We struggled a little to find the Boudoir sign on the main road ( it's off a side road next to the Family Mart ) it was hysterical to thereafter see how wonderfully signposted Le Boudoir was thereafter. It's low season here and most restaurants are empty but Le Boudoir was busy and having eaten there last night I would say with very good reason . I spoke initially in school girl French but the owners Florence and. Patrice could not have been more attentive , polite and helpful in their best English . The menu ( in French and English) is very French . I had salade du chèvre aver miel , Sir had salade foie gras . Both were huge servings and perfect , with a large very well dressed salad - probably we should have shared . We both had rib eye steaks with Carmague salt which again were first class. The vin rouge of the house was wonderful in a Thai otherwise relative wine desert. The setting is beautiful - and romantic . highly recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graziaprego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still a little gem”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We haven't been for a while, so this was the first visit since the new owners Patrice and Magali took over Boudoir. We were a little apprehensive as we had always enjoyed our visits, happily it was great. The food was fabulous, we shared a goats cheese salad to start and I had duck with figs and my husband steak with cognac sauce. Both were beautifully cooked and the meat was excellent quality. We had a lovely bottle of Provencal rose and a complimentary digestive from Patrice. There are more signs up now so easier to find and definitely worth a visit for that special occasion. Surprisingly the prices are very reasonable, I think something like 300bht for the duck and the steak was certainly a lot cheaper than the offerings at The Shack in FV. Do phone to book though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boudoir also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Boudoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing