We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the perfect choice for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Cottage Residence
Ranked #79 of 443 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samui
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“It was the perfect choice for us”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pros:
- the entire guesthouse is beautiful, everything is clean and looks new;
- great pool and garden;
- delicious breakfast;
- towels changed daily, ok staff;
- location - 10-minute walk to Lamai beach (very nice beach, by the way) or the center of Lamai;
- good wi-fi connection;
- they offer laundry service;
- very good value for money.
Additionally, Kamil, the manager is very sociable. We enjoyed discussing with him about Nepal and other travel-related issues.

Cons:
- we had an issue with some Russians who were disturbing guests with loud music at 2 a.m., but the manager solved the issue the following day;
- the fact that they don't have the reception open 24/7 is definitely a minus in these cases;
- the fixed shower (I prefer it to be flexible);

All in all, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor and you can jump directly into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunhilda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3-night stay. It truned out that our mini-bus driver or his colleagues at the pier didn't know where this hotel was; they dropped us off at another hotel with "cottage", which was 3 km from this one. Near "Coco Splash" you must instruct if they look puzzled. You can rent a motercycle for 200bht via hotel and have a drink with a friendly bartender Martin, who is happy to give you good local tips and stories. The housekeeper is also very attent and kind; she gave us some technical help on bikes. We didn't find the reception lady friendly or helpful though; she could aquire some manners to talk to customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Nice Hotel near beach, only 5 min to go. Very quiet and we slept well. The breakfast was ok, easy, but You can order extras, nice banana-shake:) the service was excellent, we got some trouble with our passports, and the manager Kamil fixed eventhing for us, I'm so greatful! :) If quietness are more important than staying on the beach- choose this Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Loved this place, koh Samui isn't the best island but this place was great. Restaurant across the road was lovely too...and cheap! You can eat breakfast by the pool and have as much as you like, sometimes they bring out melon throughout the day, clean and quiet and hiring a scooter from them was easy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imamagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Me and my boyfriend stopped here for four days on a trip to Thailand in June 2012.
This hotel is set slightly down a side road so 10 – 15 minutes’ walk from bars, markets and restaurants but the room was lovely, the staff were friendly and the food was nice, however stopped serving food at 6pm but offered a dinner on request. The pool and loungers were ok but the lounges could do with updating at they had a few minor scuffs and cuts where the leather had ripped, but could borrow free beach towels (always a plus). Breakfast was great good choice of foods. We organized a few trips arranged through the hotel at a good price and they all ran smoothly.
Not much to say about this hotel as everything was great! Would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2010, all very pleasant, clean rooms, friendly staff. If I go back to Koh Samui, then I will go only there. Kamil hello!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. This little boutique resort has very friendly, helpful staff and the place is immaculate. Rooms serviced daily if you desire and breakfast is included eggs, fruit, ham, shake, toast, cereal, it was delicious. We rented a scooter for the day from here which was very handy to explore the rest of kph samui. It is a great place to relax by the pool on the sun loungers and walk to beach is only 5 minutes. I would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwirish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.4 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#20 of 50 in Lamai Beach
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Perfect Resort
Lamai Perfect Resort
#11 of 40 in Lamai Beach
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
I-Samui Lamai Beach
I-Samui Lamai Beach
#17 of 40 in Lamai Beach
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aumpai Luxury
Aumpai Luxury
#11 of 46 in Lamai Beach
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Beach Villas
Cinnamon Beach Villas
#13 of 72 in Maret
106 reviews
6.7 mi away
The White Cottage
The White Cottage
#4 of 219 in Bophut
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cottage Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cottage Residence

Property: Royal Cottage Residence
Address: 101/21, Moo 3 | Tambol Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 443 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cottage Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Cottage Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing