We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place..”
Review of O.P. Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O.P. Bungalow
Ranked #125 of 437 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samui
warwick
2 reviews
“fantastic place..”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent 11 nights here at the end of July.. Its in a perfect location on the beach..It was ideal for me, just a 5 min walk to ark bar, green mango etc and out the way enough for a peaceful nights sleep. The restaurant here is amazing.. My room was cleaned every day and staff were friendly and helpful.. Would definitely come back and stay here again..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spence1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
13
39
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

OP Bungalows in Koh Samui are a great budget option for travelers visiting this amazing island. The bungalows are right on the beach in the heart of Chaweng, which is where all the nightlife is located. Staff was very friendly and the restaurant located on premise served up delicious food. I booked the deluxe bungalows, which cost a little more, but was money well spent. They are much larger and modern than the standard bungalows. Because the majority of beach front hotels in Chaweng are pretty expensive, OP Bungalows offer you your best option for budget traveling and being on the beach in the thick of things.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grego2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I enjoyed my 10 day stay at this resort. As other folks have said, the beach isn't the best swimming area, but a 10 minute walk or so further down and the water is clean and clear! The room was not luxurious, but clean with all the important amenities, like a good A/C unit, comfortable bed, TV, & hot shower water! The restaurant right along the beach always had a cool comfortable breeze...the breakfast menu is good & reasonably priced! Their are many nearby restaurants also right on the beach that offer super cocktail hour specials! You can rent affordable motorbikes nearby and go explore the rest of the island! There is also a new large Central Fest Mall for shopping within walking distance! I definitely enjoyed the stay and hope to return someday!

Room Tip: I notice the closer to the Ocean...the cooler the breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMamaKnowsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent 2 weeks in Thailand in April 2014. Finding an accomodation in Chaweng has been a real challenge; it took me 50% of all the planning activities (yes only for that !). I was voluntarily looking for an accomodation in Chaweng but finding a place with a good reputation/review at a reasonable price-to-quality ratio (yes Chaweng is definitely super-over-priced !) seemed to be impossible. I desperately booked at O.P. because all other places had either bad reviews (specially concerning cleanliness) and I have to admit that I had serious doubts/concerns before arriving.

In 3 words : Paradise in Chaweng. This place is an exception in Chaweng.

While some may find it a little bit old/outdated it is definitely charming, well-located (excepting for swimming, but just walk south on the beach for 5 minutes), impeccably clean, very large rooms, quiet at night (as located at 10 minutes walk form the partying area) and has friendly management and staff. Some may say there is the noise from the airplanes; this is the case for 50% of all places in half north Chaweng beach. Quietness/silence is the most important factor for me in a hotel and I haven't been bothered by the airplanes ... so don't worry too much about that.

Just enjoy your stay at O.P.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joz_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A nice resort with a beautiful garden.
The biggest disadvantage is that it located behind the reef; very shallow, dirty and hot sea water.
We like body temperature sea water but this is not comfortable, really too hot.
There is no pool as alternative.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinceandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I absolutely love O.P. It is not 5 star accomodation, it doesn't pretend to be. They have some beautiful newly refurbished rooms and the staff are like my extended family, they are so helpful, friendly and the owners are always around and always willing to give advice or assistance if you need it. The rooms are cleaned every day and the cleaning staff are great as well.

It is located on the beach at the quiet end of town, so no problems sleeping or hassles. The restaurant does great quality food at rock bottom prices. I have stayed there so many times over the past 14 years that I have lost count.

All I can say is that if you want a good, clean, affordable and friendly place to lay your weary head, look it up.

Room Tip: Spend a few more baht and get their deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a good spot right on the beach at the quite end of Chweng - the beach out front is great and you can sit under a lovely shady tree and have your breakfast from the OP restuarant - good food and reasonable price. Walsking distance to the main drag but in a quite spot. Rooms are basic but comfortable and they have a nice garden. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Standard bungalows are quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.3 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#157 of 187 in Bophut
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#74 of 187 in Bophut
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#77 of 104 in Chaweng
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Bungalows
Marine Bungalows
#217 of 318 in Ko Samui
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucky Mother Bungalow
Lucky Mother Bungalow
#97 of 295 in Ko Samui
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.P. Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.P. Bungalow

Property: O.P. Bungalow
Address: 111 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 437 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — O.P. Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your O.P. Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o.p. Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing