We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Private infinity pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
claranda
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We only stayed three nights at Cecilia, but would have liked to stay much longer.

The setting and views are tremendous if you, like us, want to be somewhere quiet to relax and reflect. We had a car, which we thought essential (if we came again we'd probably get a 4WD to explore Samui in more depth).

The villa is simply furnished but very clean, light and bright. The master bedroom has a good kingsize bed and bedside tables with lights, a few drawers and sliding doors on to the pool terrace. The master bathroom is enormous and beautiful and if you like a bath, there's a huge one, but also a free-standing shower. The other bedrooms have big beds but little else, so I'd say this is a villa ideal for a couple, or perhaps a couple with one or two not too young kids.

The living area is small but fine, the kitchen ditto, again with sliding doors onto the pool deck, and there is a useful washing machine and drying rack. There is a breakfast bar but only with normal height chairs, so most eating is done outside on a set of plastic chairs and table (shame not to have the better quality set shown in the photos). The plunge pool is, of course, a great asset. The villa faces north, so you can choose sun or shade throughout the day, and the inside stays relatively cool. The owner has fitted fly screens which allow for bug free evenings. Only a fan in the living room (effective, fine) and air con in the bedrooms.

The local agent was extremely helpful.

Anyway, we thought it great value for money and a little gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and quietness
Liked least: Lack of wardrobe hanging space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your review. Since you left we have purchased two new wardrobes so now each of the three bedrooms has plenty of drawers, a double wardrobe, and a dressing table as well as king-size beds and of course full air-conditioning units.
Many thanks for your kind comments about our local agents. In Nong and Michael, I think we have the most helpful agents on the island :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimspiec...
Grasby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My wife and I chose this villa because of its location. We wanted peace and tranquility and thats exactly what we got. A motor cycle was already at the villa on the day of arrival kindly arranged by Nong the agent. The first opportunity we got we were in the pool .Most exillerating. The views from the hillside were breathtaking.The villa inside was to a very high spec. The cleaner and poolman came every three days to make sure that everything was cleaned to a high standard. We spent most of the days laying by the pool with temperatures averaging 86 degrees. At teatime we would go for a stroll along the beautiful white beach at Bang Por. Then find a nice beachside restaurant overlooking the turquoise sea. We have every intention of returning to villa Cecillia next year. This comes in the top thee of all the holidays we have experienced of the years. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut P
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“NIce but not safe!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids) had a 7 night stay in this house and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly for 6 of those days. When we returned on the last day before we planned to leave, however, we realized that a laptop was stolen from the house.
Windows and doors were properly closed and undamaged, so obviously someone had entered the house, who had access to the keys. Apart from the notebook nothing else was missing.
Unfortunately, neither our agent Nong, nor Julian or Michael found themselves in a position to support us in this situation - it was not even clear who has keys to this property. We were only laconically advised to contact the police, knowing that we would fly back in the morning of the next day.
Looks like that the safety of their guests and their guest's belongings are not the primary concern of the owners - too bad.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review, Mr P Knut.

We are pleased that you enjoyed six of your seven days but a little perplexed as to what you have written in the rest of your review.
You claimed that you have lost one of your two laptops. You informed us during your stay that you had left your computers out in plain sight and that one of your two laptop computers was missing. When you contacted us we launched an investigation straightaway. The external security on the hillside found no evidence of a break-in.
However, both he and our local agents found that you had left one of the bathroom windows open at the back of the property.
All the windows have security locks and it is always important to take basic precautions when opening windows to make sure you close and lock them again afterwards with the modern locking system provided. As one of the bathroom windows was left open, if indeed anybody did enter the property, this may have been the opportunity.
However there was no physical sign of a break-in. Neither has there ever been any such that in the lifetime of the Villa. We have a 100% safety record.
Bang Por Tropical Hillside also has 24/7 security with regular patrols, but we stress it is still very important to maintain basic vigilance with your possessions.
We supply a combination-locked safe in the Villa which we advise all guests to take advantage of. It is large enough to take multiple laptops and we strongly recommend that guests use this when leaving the property. It is advisable for all travellers whether staying in a hotel or other accommodation to always attention to these basics.
We fully explained to you during the many communications we had with you during your final day that our key inventory was fully accounted for. The guests alone of course have full control of the electronic safe and the window locks.

As there was no evidence of a break-in at the property, we did indeed suggest calling the police. However you felt strongly that you did not want to contact the police about the issue.
Both the managers of the hillside and the Villa owners and local management team feel that we did everything we could and were as supportive as possible. We apologise that we could not be supportive in your request for finance when you suggested that we should want to avoid a negative review, but we do have a policy of not paying for reviews.
This is the first time we have received negative reviews about the Villa. Our local agents always go above and beyond the call of duty to offer guests as much support as possible in their many and varied requests, including your other many requests which we attended to in the months preceding your trip from Germany.
We can assure all guests that their safety is our paramount concern.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Reviewed 20 December 2012 for a stay in October 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, energy, pool
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando
Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quietness
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DUPOUY C
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Many thanks Charlene and thank you for extending your stay in Villa Cecilia Samui. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again soon.

145/5000
Translate from: English
Merci beaucoup Charlene et merci pour votre séjour à Villa Cecilia Samui. Nous avons aimé vous accueillir et espérons vous revoir bientôt.
Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kati L
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing