We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quite Literally heaven on earth (or Koh Samui if...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A moon terrace chill zone Chill at the pool bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
A moon terrace chill zone
Chill at the pool bar
view from the master bedroom
Day shot of the villa
Kitchen and terrace
Living rom and dining terrace
A look bck at the kitchen & lounge areas
Sofa Chill out zone
Master bath tub
Master Bedroom
Pool Terrace
Master
Lounge in the evening with view of Bophut
Ensuite Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom close up
Pool chill out lounge
Dining on the upper deck
Lunch at Villa Kya
Romantic dinner for  - 8!!
Culinary delights
The drop down pool
View of Bophut Bay
it really is this relaxing
book a private yoga lesson?
In-house chef service
amazing decor
Sumptuous bathrooms
Meet our villa manager Jeab who speaks perfect English. Her Thai is pretty good too!!
Breakfast served in the garden sala between the pool and the most amazing view of the bay
massage by the pool or in our pool lounge
Celebrate life on the Moon Terrace!
Catch the amazing colours cascading across the sky at sunset. One of our favourite moments!
This is why it's named The Moon Terrace...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Si H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite Literally heaven on earth (or Koh Samui if you're being pedantic)”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Thai is pretty poor I must admit, aside from the usual please’s and thank you’s there’s not much I know- but I can only assume Ban Sai Tan means heaven in Thai!

My friends and I tend to slum it when visiting Thailand but this time we decided to treat ourselves at the end of our holiday to what you’d describe as an affordable slice of luxury. After we’d finished travelling around the islands, quad biking, zip lining, beach dwelling and other adventurous activities and it couldn’t have been more of a tonic. I’m relieved we did it that way around though because if we’d stayed at the Villa first I think I would have had to have got on a plane and head straight home- it would have been that hard to beat!

Once we’d left the chaos of Haad Rin and the full moon party we headed to the Villa. On arrival, we stepped through the front doors into what in the UK would normally be a porch but not here, beneath our feet were stepping stones over a pond with some content carp going about their business.

We were then greeted by the lovely Jeab and her staff who handed us a refreshing Ice tea and Ice cold towels wrapped in Lemon grass which after a long and arduous journey and night were incredibly well received. We were then shown around the luxurious surroundings, which were both opulent and incredibly tasteful at the same time. It really was like something from the films, and as one of the guys described it- “it was like stepping into one of the XFactor mansions!”. Not that I watch that dross!

Lounging by the infinity pool, staring out across the jungle to the sea was heaven and it was only made better by the attentive staff. A great food & drink menu, and massages that were much better than any we had on the beach. Breakfast was fantastic, and flexible meaning we could have it a little later had we indulged a little too much the night before!

The Villa itself is perfectly positioned, in the peace and quiet of the jungle but not too far removed from amenities. It’s a short journey down to the Fisherman’s market on a Friday where you can fill yourself up with some amazing street food, and buy all the souvenirs your heart desires. There’s also another one called ‘walking street’ I believe, which takes place during the week and is even closer!

If you want exercise, civilisation is only a 10 minute walk down the hill, alternatively a taxi was effortlessly organised by Jeab- who was a god send the whole time, not only by ensuring our stay was seamless but also helping us cross the language barrier when organising our activities during the day (she also had a kickass cockney accent! Haha).

In terms of the booking itself Krystyna and Kevin who I spoke to a number of times with more, and more demands and changes (due to the fact dealing with my friends is like herding cats!) were great and surprisingly never got frustrated with me, well at least not outwardly!

I can’t recommend the place enough, we also snuck next door as we were told they had another Villa next door called Villa Kya, and among us we agreed that next year we’d be booking there next year and live like kings! Granted I may be getting too old for the travelling side of Thailand but too be perfectly honest I think that once you’ve had a taste of that kind of luxury it’s very hard to take a step back.

Big thanks to the guys for making our stay so special, we will no doubt be back to pester them as soon as possible with any luck!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry O
Calgary AB
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed. Poor Service. Not well maintained.”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We are a group of seasoned travelers - 6 adults ranging in age from 52 to 63 years. We have stayed at many different classes of hotels and vacation rentals throughout the world. It is unfortunate that I must give such a terrible rating for our stay, however, the surprisingly disappointing experience provided by Krystyna (the owner) and Jaeb (the Manager) left us no choice.

Pros:
- Great view
- Nice rooms

Cons:
1. Poor service
- Staff disappeared after 11am. No one cleaning. No one to ask for towels. Staff could be found in the lower staff kitchen if you went to find them watching TV with their kids. One of the days we found Jaeb sitting watching TV sitting on couch in our Living-room. Dozens of dead and half-dead wasps were on the outdoor staircase one morning after breakfast. When it was mentioned to Jaeb, we were told that they spray poison to kill the wasps. Jaeb did not clean up the dead wasps, so one of the girls in our group cleaned them up as we did not want to step on them going between the main floor and our rooms or pool area. Staff were gone at 5pm. Jaeb would check in just before 5pm to let us know she was leaving. We did not experience "5-star Service".
2. Broken Refrigerator
- Fridge alarm was beeping due to low temperature on arrival (fridge already not working). Jaeb denied the fridge was not working. The luke warm club soda and other produce said otherwise. When we pressed the matter further with Jaeb, she said the fridge repairman was coming to fix it. The repairman never did show up. He did show up on Monday when we were checking out. Our fridge: a cooler with ice. This is not 5-star.
3. No hot water in Kitchen
- We had to fix this one ourselves as Jaeb could not be found. I went underneath the sink and reset the instant-on hot water heater. When we told Jaeb later, she indicated this happens all the time. Maybe the owner could fix this?
4. Stains on rug and furniture in living-room
- Old stains on the rug and furniture. No 5-star here.
5. Old pots and pans in kitchen
- I had better pots and pans camping. Beat up, old. Fry pan missing teflon coating. We reported this to Jaeb who brought us another fry pan in better shape.
6. Shoe and Cleaning Cloth in Pool on Arrival
- Bottom of upper pool in far end. Running shoe on bottom, cleaning cloth floating. Pointed this out to Jaeb and both were later removed. This made us question whether the pool was properly cleaned, although the water was clear.

7. Lack of Pool Towels
- 1 pool towel per person. We had to hunt down Jaeb to ask for more. We found her in the second kitchen watching TV with their kids. She brought us 2 towels. No service here.

8. No Glass Wine Glasses - plastic only
- We are not camping. Glass is expected at this level.

9. Private Security was "no show" on first night
- Although "security was included", no one was there on the first night.

10. Private Security enforcing 10:30PM "no music allowed" policy
- Our last evening we were down by the pool, swimming, and play music on the built in audio system. The speakers are near the pool. At 10:30pm the security person told us to turn off the music as the neighbour next door had complained. Even though we thought the music was not loud, we turned down the music to a low level as it was only 10:30pm. The security person insisted we turn off the music. We refused as there was no way anyone at the next property could hear any music. The security person argued with us telling us repeatedly to turn off the music. He stood at the edge of the pool glaring at us. VERY awkward. We told he told leave us alone while we enjoyed the pool. He refused to leave and continued to stand by the pool and glare at us. Only with a phone call to the owner did the security person finally leave us alone. We were not causing any disturbance, or problem. It was 10:30pm in Koh Samui and 50-60 year old adults cannot swim and play quiet music by the pool?? Ridiculous!

Our concerns discussed with Krystyna were not addressed which was surprising and disappointing.

We all felt that all things considered, Villa Kya was extremely disappointing. We would NOT RECOMMEND this place. I believe you can do much better at this level of accommodation in Koh Samui.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
You have not stayed at Villa Kya for a year and in Feb 2016 when you did stay you wrote your bad review and received our response to your review then. Having not stayed again you feel it necessary to write a second negative review a year on? Anyone reading this I
would ask to review our response to Patti Lea in Feb 2016, nothing has changed. I would also like to point out that out of 41reviews, 38 of which are 5* apart from one 4*, the only negative reviews have been written by yourselves, a point that speaks volumes. Could 39 reviews be so inaccurate and your 2 reviews of your one stay, a year apart be a true representation? I leave the reader to decide
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njmcgonig...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What do you want from a holiday?”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What do you want from a holiday? For me it’s a break far enough away from the sounds of the usual hustle and bustle but still have easy access to good food and drink. I love to be with the family but occasionally it’s nice to spend some time contemplating my navel in peace. This place fits perfectly not just for the space but the design, the staff, the service, the food, the view, the atmosphere and the owners are such sweeties. You’re not overlooked by the neighbours, fantastic views to the sea, which was particularly enjoyable while having breakfast (which was also excellent, well prepared and presented). And if you want to stretch your wings, Fisherman’s Village is just a short hop away and there is plenty of good food and ambiance to be had. If I could give it 11, I would, but Trip Advisor don’t do Spinal Tap, so will have to settle for a 10 out of 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view and service
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcasey722
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous villa and views”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is everything the listing portrays and more. Beautiful views, common areas and rooms. We spent most of our time around the pool taking in the scenery. The staff was very accommodating. Jaeb and the girls always made sure we were comfortable and provided great recommendations - including MP, a nearby restaurant that was excellent! We also enjoyed a poolside yoga session one morning which I would definitely recommend! Our group was very sad to leave this beautiful villa. If we're ever back in koh samui we will be staying here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lo D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An incredible Villa in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about the Villa has been thought through to maximise the 5 star experience, including the stunning views and the well positioned Moon Terrace where we spent many a night gazing at the rising moon. The owners certainly have a unique gift to think like a guest to create a magical experience from the minute you walk through the door. Villa Kya certainly has the WOW factor. Every aspect of the service was delivered with a smile. The food was superb...the best we had on the Island. Jeab and her team are absolutely amazing.....thank you for your faultless service and kindness. It all surpassed every expectation and gave us a wonderful family holiday to remember for all the right reasons.

If you are looking for laid back luxury, or zip wires and jetski's , put yourself in the hands of these lovely people. Krystyna and Steve have created a little slice of heaven and we are so glad we had the opportunity to experience it. We totally recommend this Villa in every way. Thank you for a holiday to remember Villa Kya. We can't wait to come back to do it all over again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your amazing review. It is wonderful to read what a good time you had at Villa Kya and that the team took care of you so well. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we do hope you will return to visit us again.

Cocktails will be waiting on the moon terrace for you.

The pleasure was ours!

Kind regards,

Krystyna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenZam...
Italian Riviera, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family vacation ever !”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an Incredible holiday! We decided to have a family reunion in Koh Samui with us all working and living in different places all over the globe. We chose Villa Kya because it looked so beautiful on the pictures and the large spaces seemed perfect for our family to enjoy and being so close to the Fishermans Village was a huge plus. I have got to say that even though the pictures were gorgeous, it is utterly breathtaking when you see it for real. The staff Jeab and team were so welcoming and helped us out with so much and the food simply delicious! For us it was one of the best family holidays ever and we are all planning on meeting at Villa Kya again next year, we just didn’t want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views across the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was great to see your family enjoying the villa as much as you did and the staff loved your love of Thai food and their cooking, very complimented indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for some more fun in the sun. Take Care and Kind regards,
Krystyna & The Villa Kya Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickijo1
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property with a wonderful team to look after you, made this a very memorable stay for us all. From the airport transfers, to organising other trips, stocking up on provisions, cooking class and market visit, nothing was a problem and all went perfectly.
I have recommended Villa Kya to all who have asked and we will be certainly returning.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sundowner drinks on the moon bar
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing