We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snorkling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tan

Koh Tan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.04*
and up
Koh Tan Island Snorkeling Tour from Koh Samui
Ranked #29 of 140 things to do in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Snorkling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wow..wonderful. We went on a day trip to 2 swimming locations both great nice deep water lunch I blushed good food great day

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank southey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    87
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very clear water for Snorkeling experience!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went to Koh Tan for snorkeling. During my stay in Koh Samui for a week, we went to Koh Tao which is suppose to be the best snorkeling location and is also an expensive tour which costed us 1500 Bht. I enjoyed the experience there and decided to visit another location to snorkel and the tour advisor suggested us to visit Koh Tan which also costed us similar and it covered an island nearby where we were taken to swim and chill. But the waters here were not clear for snorkeling and the island where we were taken to relax and swim also did not have clean water. Snacks and refreshments were included during the tour and lunch was served at the pier once back. They provided us with Thai food and it tasted awesome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SnehaKalbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Pennines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great crab dishes at Koh Tan Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rustic style restaurant - be warned - the seating can be rather challenging in the derrière dept.
The food can be a bit hit or miss - best take a Thai friend with you to help with choosing or simply ask Lek what is good to eat that day. We were offered crab and it was to die for!
On one occasion we used their long boat service which was a great trip , followed by a superb fish dish at sundown.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyNorthernPennines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great Scuba diving and lunch spot. Spent the morning with Rainbow scuba tours and had a great lunch on the beach

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astonflamville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked this trip as I read about it in an airline magazine. Trip to Bangrak Pier from our hotel (picked up by van included) took 10 mins. Boat was lovely, two levels. All soft drinks / water brought round all the while. We had about 20 people on the boat so lots of room.Everyone, British, French, German got on well and the atmosphere just got better all day. Tour Guide was funniest ever but all crew were great. Went round the Island so got great views of Chaeweng Beach, Lamai beach etc. Finally arrived at Koh Tan down at the south, a paradise of an Island whch took your beath away. Then had to transfer to a longtail boat (scary) on to the beach and get off the longtail boat, not easy, a frenchman fell in! The island has 20 inhabitants and no electric. Lunch was served in an open sided pavilion, chef is the french owner of Bistrot Evasion in Chaeweng and owns the island and is a real character. Barracuda, chicken, salads, tortilla, fried rice and fresh fruit. There is a bar. Several people went snorkelling, the sea was incredibly clear and very warm. 2 hours later back on boat and we visited islands in the National marine park where swallows nests are collected for soup fetching amazing prices. Finally got off at Nathon west side of island and bus trip back to hotel was 15 mins.
We did this trip on our last day, when we had already got a tan, but even so you could easily burn if not careful. It was a fab trip, great scenery, being out at sea, lovely lunch, fun crowd to be with. Will do it again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lynwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Tan also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Koh Tan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing