We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Nong ploy

Nong ploy
Ranked #302 of 1,280 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A great selection of food at very reasonable prices. Our family of 4 got away with 4 mains (including a whole chilli fish for THB 400) with beers and soft drinks for about THB 780 in total.
Service was good and no complaints about this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Constantine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Thai food, good and cheap.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you find Nong Ploy, you're lucky, because this is how Thai food should be served, quick, simple, fresh and spicy. And it's half the price compared to what you get on the beach road, and it's only sixty meters away!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Greasy, tasteless food! Toilets Were Disgusting!! YUK!! ”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Visited this place tonight after wandering around the shops in Chaweng.. Worst place we have been in Thailand and we definitely won't return.
We ordered noodles with prawns, chicken fried rice, fried pork, vegetable spring rolls (which were recent) & chips.

All of the food was overly greasy and tasteless. I sent the chips back as they were almost black and really hard- completely inedible.
Once the bill had came, the waitress brought over more chips, fresh this time.

Drinks were reasonable prices, however, the gin & tonic we ordered was was in a very small glass and tasted watered down - what a let down after all that shopping!

The toilets were disgustingly unclean, there was urine all over the floor. We were forced to squat over the toilet as we were desperate. Hand washing facilities were non existent. I'd hate to see the kitchen!

An overall disappointment! It's safe to say that we will avoid this place in future!

Helpful?
1 Thank chantelleandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blyth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thai food”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Proper thai food always served hot, good value for fresh produce especially the tiger prawns. We ate her four nights absolutely belta

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank miltBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No-fuss good value meals”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This restaurant is located down an alley off the bustling main street and is one of a trio of adjacent competing eateries. An ideal stop for simple wholesome food during a night shopping expedition, but not really suitable for a party or other big occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nong ploy also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Nong ploy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing