We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian and great service”
Review of La Lanterna

La Lanterna
Ranked #37 of 1,280 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The new Italian restaurant Pizzeria "La Lanterna", opened in 2013, was founded by the enthusiasm and passion for good food of the two owners Gianni and Giuseppe. The restaurant "La Lanterna" is the ideal place for lunch, dinner and relax during your vacation in Thailand. Located in Chaweng Noi, in the beautiful scenery of the island of Koh Samui, the restaurant "La Lanterna" offers the opportunity to taste typical dishes of the "Bel Paese" . At the restaurant "La Lanterna ", the best of local raw materials blends with the renowned Italian import products to offer the flavors and scents of the Mediterranean. A staff friendly and professional, meets the needs of even the most demanding customers, preparing and offering the best with modern amenities and the best Italian cuisine. The environment and informal care, the right quality/price ratio make the restaurant "La Lanterna" a comfortable place where you can spend pleasant moments of taste and conviviality.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian and great service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing Italian food at very reasonable prices! The service was quick and staff were very friendly.

The location is a bit off the main strip of Chaweng beach but worth the trip.

Pizza's were the best that I have had in awhile - including back in Aus!

Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    85
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“I love pizza”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We or parma ham pizza we are Thai but i love this pizza it big pan and delicious!!!
I will be back to La Lanterna again for sure when i come to Koh Samui

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellatravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian food.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I really enjoyed the unpretentious familiar treatment received on arrival. Food was served promptly and in a timely fashion. Pasta & Pizza were just one of the best on the Island. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant on Samui”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

As we discovered this great restaurant, we went there four consecutive evenings. The food was very good, the server fast and competent, and very friendly. Also the owners are very nice. The pasta is handmade by themselves, and you taste it. They have a very good vine selction. Prices a re good for the quality you get. For me as italian it is one of the best restaurants you can eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gcorleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Island Italian”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

A little bit difficult for us to spot, this Italian run Italian Restaurant is a place you should stop for late lunch or dinner. I met one of the owners who was very accommodating as was the Thai, English speaking Server. Consider starting as I did with the Brochette with mozzarella cheese, different flavors with baby tomatoes. Always on the table is olive oil soaking with peppers to add spice to the experience.
Since the owner specializes in homemade pasta, I chose to design my own linguini with a green pesto and shrimp, sprinkled with fresh grated cheese. The dish was scrumptious. All this was swished with a half of a carafe of Italian wine. Since I am a foodie, I couldn't resist the homemade Tiramisu. The lightest, creamiest ever and just the right size to cap of the night. Tell your cab driver to take you to the Imperial Resort and you will find La Lanterna across the street and a few yards down. Tell the owner you read this review. You will be satisfied at this Chaweng Noi spot.

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Lanterna also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to La Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing