We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop serving sharks”

Copacabana Restaurant
Ranked #783 of 1,279 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stop serving sharks”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was horrified to see this restaurant serving sharks. Sharks are now extremely rare around Phuket and we need to do everything we can to protect them. Serving them to tourists for money is a low-life scummy thing to do and I hope more people will realise this and boycott this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    61
    43
    17
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
“Best price Best service Best seafood”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Fresh seafood BBQ and Thai cuisine is the original tase

i think don't miss to try it's Yum!!! Whatever if you visit to Samui you can ask see copacabana at chaweng beach Road

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unethical”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Dear /Sirs/Miss

I was very disappointed to see that your restaurant would trade in shark meat and serve sharks to its guests.
The first reason is that we all know that sharks are now becoming hunted to extinction with over 76,000,000 caught every year just for human consumption.
Shark populations all around the world have crashed and some species of shark are as much as 90% depleted.

Your restaurant is encouraging this trade of environmental destruction and you should feel ashamed.

Secondly Shark meat contains over 42 the FDA legal limit of methyl mercury in its flesh.
So you now know that you are poisoning your customers by serving shark meat to them.

I and my friends have set up a campaign and any restaurant in Thailand that serves shark meat will be boycotted by our large organisations and via social network such as facebook and twitter we will make sure that others know that you trade in shark meat and will be on an international data base of restaurants to avoid.

If you will cease your trade in shark meat please let us know and we will be happy to give you our recommendation as a "Shark Safe Restaurant"

Yours Sincerely

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanouki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disgusting”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This restaurant proudly displays shark for sale. There are many other restaurants close by that do not.....I would advise you to boycott this place and support the restaurants close by whose food policies do not include endangered species.

Sharks are also high in mercury, so eating them is also endangering your life and the lives of your family. There are many wonderful restaurants on Koh Samui without eating sharks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkokscubadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

You definitely won’t miss this place, as you walk on Chaweng walkway, located beside Moulin Rouge Cabaret.

It is nice to be able to pick your own fresh seafood or choices of chicken or pork and to see the Chefs to put on the fire in their restaurant’s Open Barbeque Concept.
We had Steamed White Snapper, Massaman Chicken Curry and the Barbeque Pork served with roast potatoes which was delicious.

Food is great and the cocktails are reasonable priced.
Will definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copacabana Restaurant also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Copacabana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing