We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting enough”

Samui Butterfly Garden
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Interesting enough”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As many other reviewers have said, this place does seem rather run-down. However, we did see a few different species of butterflies. We didn't check out the bees as we weren't interested in them. We came for the butterflies. There were several empty cages in the fairly run-down area which was presumably the insect area, but we did see a few scorpions and a big spider. They weren't particularly well displayed. It was the butterflies and the flowers they landed on that was the highlight. You can negotiate the price a little.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    32
    43
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Butters*ite JUNK garden”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Do NOT go there!!!

I repeat, in case you missed it: do NOT go there!!

This place feels like it's been abandoned for years. They claim they have bees, bugs and butterflies. Well; all they have is a small and sparse squadron of butterflies. We've seen 3 or 4 different species only. No bees, nothing else. The butterflies themselves try to run away from here, through the numerous holes in the net. The bug exhibition is a total shame. Last time the windows have been cleant, Stalin was probably still ruling USSR.

Personnel at entrance just jump on you to make you pay, 200B per person. A total rip-off.

Did I already say "do not go there"?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 244erict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice and quiet”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Its worth a walk around, we stayed just across the road so it wasnt too bad just to walk across and go round it. I probably would of been disappointed if we had got a bus or taxi to it right enough but i did enjoy it, great for photographs and good to see

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
197 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We did this last year, and thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the beautifully coloured magnificent butterflies and moths, about a 25 minute motorbike ride from Chaweng beach

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This place would have been ok in it's day.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This place could be awesome if some time and money were to be injected into it.
It is very run down and neglected, we did see some beautiful butterflies and flowers.
I wouldn't go out of my way to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samui Butterfly Garden also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Samui Butterfly Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing