We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bar with friendly atmosphere”
Review of Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger
Ranked #29 of 49 Nightlife in Ko Samui
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little bar with friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to watch the world cup and stumbled across this little beauty. We were instantly made to feel welcome by Roger the owner as well as everyone else in the bar. We've been back since and the hospitality only improved. If you're looking for a place to have a few beers and a great laugh, whether or not you're into sports, look no further!

Helpful?
Thank Dougie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome little bar”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great little bar right across from the pier going to the full moon party's. Roger the owner is a great host and a absolute sports nut. I was there whilst the Aussies were thrashing England in the cricket in the 2013-14 summer and Roger would get up early to show us the cricket no matter how much pain it was for him. The drink are very reasonably priced and nice and cold, spirits are full strength and good value. Weather you're there for a day or a month I think once you visit once you will always find yourself going back for another. I know I can't wait to visit again!!!

Muzza from Australia

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Jolly Roger”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I spent the month of November & December on the island at the end 2013. I had the good fortune one evening to end up in the jolly roger were the beers are cold & the people are warm. Roger the owner who has endless wonderful friends from Spain, England & Australia to name a few regaled me for weeks with stories from there homelands. Across from one of the ferry ports in bophut. Cold beer & good times. A non bollocks establishment....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matttheyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and friendly”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were looking for somewhere to watch sport and have a few beers. We ended up going in every day we were in samui. Roger is a great guy with plenty of good stories and funny regulars who make it a great place to be.

When I go back to Thailand the Jolly Roger will be the first place I go!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deniz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Friendly bar in the heart of Bangrak!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed just opposite the Jolly Roger during our stay in Samui and went in one evening for a pre meal drink.
Roger, the owner, is so friendly we ended up in there almost every evening both before and after dinner for at least one drink!
Drinks are very cheap with a bottle of beer only 50BHT during happy hour and spirits and mixers about 70BHT.
The bar is basic and made pretty much entirely of bamboo but it gives a relaxed atmosphere and he plays all the England football games every week which made the boys happy!
Definitely a place to visit for a few quiet drinks if you want a good chat with other British people and Rog who has loads of local knowledge and brilliant stories!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ali_joy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Roger also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Jolly Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing