We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They see BAHTS (money) in your eyes”
Review of Marine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Bungalows
Ranked #236 of 316 Hotels in Ko Samui
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The place is located in a quiet part of the beach and walking distance to party and/or other quiet zones. Rooms are simple and a bit old but cheap (you can get from 600Bahts) so if u only want to sleep there, no problem. If you want to spend more time in the rooms, look for another place.

The boy who works at the bar is just lovely, such a nice guy.

But the others ... they only want your money They cheat you as much as they can. They try to sell you a package to Surat Thani airport paying 550 bahts sharing with many people and waking up much more earlier when you can do it private and enjoying a few more hours in Samui just bargaining a bit. As they want to sell you their tickets they will cheat you saying there's no other way than theirs, that you will miss the flight blablabla adn even being rude with you. CHEATERS!

Also, be carefull if you rent a car/bike with them as they will try to find the excuse to fine you and get another 100/200 bahts (even if you leave the vehicle with more fuel than when recieved).

So, for sleep and breakfast (continental one is tasty!) is ok and value for money, but don't spend more time there or you will be cheated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Marine Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Spent a night in the way from KL to Lamai. The owner showed me a room that was fine. It had a blocked toilet, so they gave me an air con room at no extra charge. Staff are friendly and they have a happy hour.

Easy access to Chaweng town. Go to the main road and go left. If.you go right, you pass the hospital and get to the airport.

It's on a sort of beach, which adjoins a lagoon rather than open sea. Not good for swimming. Go to Chaweng Noi for that.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hippodribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

These bungalows are in a great part of Chaweng beach. Shops, restaurants and bars are all very close and the bungalows are off the main road a little so there is no noise from traffic or people. They are right on the beach so it's great in the day time and that part of the beach is pretty quiet at night unlike many of the other hotels further along the beach. I stayed there in January 2012 for about 5 days. The room was basic but it was clean and comfortable which is all you need in a resort like Samui where there are so many things to do all day and night. I ate at the restaurant once and found the food to be cheap and enjoyable and the staff to be very friendly. I had not booked a room before I arrived and it was a taxi driver who recommended it as it was within my budget. I think I paid about 1000bhat per night for an air conditioned bungalow which could sleep 2/3 people. I thought this was really good value compared to other hotels in the area particularly as I was travelling alone so but I will be returning to Samui next year with some friends and I will definitely be staying there again. I would be very happy to recommend these bungalows to all types of travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very basic but very nice bugalows that are set in a very convenient setting right near the airport. The view is great, beer is cold and the food is good. This is especially a great place to stop before island hopping to Ko Tao or Ko Pha-Ngan since it is pretty convenient to the airport.
The staff was super nice and the prices are really great. I would give it a great rating.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a bungalow nearest the beach...it is really nice and quiet at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiernone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I travelled all over Thailand for 1 year, and kept going back to marine bungalows, as it was a step from the beach and 2 steps from the night life. very basic accomodation but for 1000 bhat per night i thought it was very reasonable, staff and owners were very polite and would help with anything! the gardens were kept impecable and the rooms always spotless after a clean.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jasetheface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I have stayed at Marine bungalows twice over the past 3 years. The room are large but sparce, but they come with their own private veranda and the hotel is situated just far enough away from the bars that you can get a quiet nights sleep. They are set in lovely gardens and are right on the beach. I would hightly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lianne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

This is a very basic place that is ideal if you need a place to sleep, shower, and store stuff in. The rooms are very threadbare, clean, efficient, white, and basic. The place is excellent value, though, for its location: right on the beach in a beautiful area. The restaurant is alright. The staff was nice if a bit aloof. Definitely stay at this place if you are looking for somewhere to crash for ~25$ a night right on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shokod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.0 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 103 in Chaweng
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#164 of 184 in Bophut
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 184 in Bophut
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Chalet Resort
Chaweng Chalet Resort
#82 of 103 in Chaweng
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Bungalows

Address: 111/1 Moo 2 | Surat Thani Province, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#160 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range: £10 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to MARINE SAMUI - Beach Bungalow Resort! We are a small Family owned bungalow resort on Chaweng beach, Koh Samui. Our bungalows have been completely renovated in 2014. We offer all kinds of beach activities. Our restaurant is known for the fish specialties that you can enjoy directly on the beach. Coming from a family of fishermen, we serve only fresh fish that we fish daily around our island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing