We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close up”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Snake Farm

Samui Snake Farm
Ranked #61 of 140 things to do in Ko Samui
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“close up”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

private cobra show provided as it really a small town and really the 1st time such a close up with the deadly King Cobra

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kerryytheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    51
    26
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monkey Mia, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Samui Crocodile and Snake Show”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is disgusting and I don't know how anyone can walk around those cages and not be upset. Everything looked rundown. The first monkey we saw seem highly distressed or maybe insane as it started hitting itself in the head. There is nothing is the cages for them to interact with, and no where for them to hide. The only decent looking enclosure houses the piglets. All the snakes looked dehydrated. I was glad we were too early for the shows because by the time we had viewed the enclosures we were depressed and ready to leave. Don't support these places, if you have any interest in the welfare of animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank nzlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Was fun... ”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We went there last may on a really rainy day... We really had fun.. It was nothing special but really interesting! Big snakes and really cool king cobras.... If u don't wanna go to the beach or the weather is not that good I can defiantly recommend the snake farm!!

Helpful?
Thank Maximale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun but Short-lived: An ok way to spend an hour.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Samui Snake Farm experience is...fine. It's fun, for sure, and the show is well done. But it's short-lived. There are only a few animals in small habitats, and the show only takes about 15 minutes.

My recommendation: Go, if it's convenient and you have an hour to kill. But don't go out of your way to get there.

If you go, here's the deal:

Don't expect a zoo. There are no souvenir cups, no players in plush snake costumes walking around signing autographs. And the habitats are not recreations of natural environments.

Bargain. If you're with a group of two or more, negotiate for entry fee. Negotiate for which animals you get to see in the show. The basic is scorpions and cobras. Tell them you want to see the mongoose, or some of the large pythons IN THE SHOW. Get your money's worth.

Don't freak out over the habits. There are some tanks in which dead snakes have been sealed. This is to show you what they look like inside as they break down (a cheap Bodies exhibit, if you will). It's gross...but, hey, you're in Thailand.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's ok”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Saw a couple of snakes, the crocodile and scorpions. The staff is friendly and showing you around. I also saw the show. It's amazing how the guy takes all scorpions in his face and also how he is going along with the cobras. I expected it more like a Farm and a little bigger and I also thought the show would be a bit longer than 10-15min. However it was ok to see.

Helpful?
Thank Antasiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samui Snake Farm also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Samui Snake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing