We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for relaxing holiday”
Review of Moonhut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonhut Bungalows
Ranked #21 of 444 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent place for relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is our 3rd visit here, but our first with our 4 yr old daughter. We had a great time yet again, The owners and staff are all really friendly and looked after us really well on our 2 week stay. The location is right on the beach overlooking Koh Pha-nghan, the sea is calm and great for swimming although not clear enough for snorkelling. It is only a 5-10 minute walk down the beach to the little village of Maenam where there are shops/bars/restaurants. Each Thursday night they have a street market with loads of food stalls which sell really cheap and tasty Thai food, definitely worth going to see

The food in the restaurant is excellent we didnt have a bad meal!

We are already planning a return visit soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    85
    30
    15
    17
See reviews for
61
125
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and myself are just back from an excellent two weeks at the Moonhut bungalows. The accommodation was great, as was the food served in the restaurant. The bar overlooking the sea is a great wee place to have a cold beer. The staff and owners are very friendly and approachable. We will definetely be returning.

Room Tip: The three Air Conditioned bungalows are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyc1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed here for three nights that I had booked online and paid a deposit for of 900 baht and was told in an email that i would need to pay another 1000 baht to settle the outstanding upon arrival. The airport pick up was efficient and the room was fine and just as advertised . My only problem was that when i went to pay up the girl behind the counter said i would have to pay another 450 baht . When i asked why she showed me the same email i had printed out but she or someone else had written in red ink plus 450 baht tax. To me this was a rip off as surely tax should be included in the original quoted price that they advertised on line and the price i had been emailed. But as i couldn't get my point across i paid and moved the next day somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank adnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaohom, Manager at Moonhut Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Dear adnock
We would like to point out that the 450Baht that you have written about as "tax" was in fact the payment for your TAXI pick up from the airport that we arranged for you, which in fact you do mention in your review. We are sorry for any confusion that it caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The bungalows are big, clean and quiet. The food is tasty. The beach is quite nice, too. The location was good, easy to take one day trips to other places on the island. However, we didn't like the atmosphere there. Comparing to other places we visited in Thailand, the staff were the unfriendliest of all. The owner would not even answer 'good morning'.So although I couldn't complain about a single thing regarding the actual facilities, I would look for other places to stay during my next trip to Ko Samui.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomAndMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have recently spent 5 fantastic days at Moonhut. With the floods just two weeks prior to us leaving we were a little worried about what we would find but thankfully Moonhut was unaffected. It was the perfect destination for our family. The beach is great for young children - shallow and safe - and you can see them playing in the water from the restaurant. Unfortunately a few resorts further on the beach were badly affected by the flooding and there was quite a lot of debris and glass on that side of the beach. The rooms were quite basic, but clean. The double bed was a little lumpy but the airconditioning made up for that. The staff were probably what will bring us back to Moonhut. They were friendly and wonderful with our young children. The owner is very friendly and even arranged a candlelit dinner on the beach for our anniversary. The food is wonderful! - delicious, generous portions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moonhut and will definately be back next time we visit Koh Samui.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubaiWrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, ON
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The huts were clean and comfortable. We stayed in a standard fan bungalow. They aren't all on the beach as was described. The rooms were a good price but the other costs at the Moonhuts were very expensive - i.e. food in the restaurant, renting boats, kayaks, etc. There were nicer places down the beach that I would stay at next time. The staff was very unfriendly and didn't seem to care if you were there or not, unlike many other places we stayed at in Thailand. This could have something to do with the owner who was also very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pniag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The Moonhut Bungalows are a great place to chill out and relax. Glamor - no, sophistication, no, frills and luxuries, no - but if you are looking for lovely people, great food, awesome view, and laid back, no fuss, fun - this is the place. We had a great time, no dressing for dinner, cold beer, great swimming and totally chill.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
1.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 186 in Bophut
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonhut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonhut Bungalows

Property: Moonhut Bungalows
Address: 67/2 Moo1 | Maenam Beach, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 444 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moonhut Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonhut Bungalows is an idyllic Thai / European family operated resort with twenty two bungalows & three houses, built in the traditional style of a Samui beach resort. All rooms have private balconies with views across the sea towards the neighboring island Koh Phangan and all have their own, clean, western style bathroom with shower. Personal safety boxes are installed in all rooms. Guests have a choice of air-conditioned bungalows or standard rooms with fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonhut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonhut Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing