We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury on the beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jason W
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury on the beach”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had the privilege of staying here on our last day of our holiday, Fantastic bungalows located directly on the beach, 23 footsteps to the sea. double on sweet bedrooms done out to a high standard. spacious living and kitchen area.
We are planning to stay here in 2017, Cant wait!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Asia...
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villas and Beach”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Moonrakers. The Villas are brand new and have been designed and furnished beautifully but the best thing stepping out your door directly onto the beach.

Maenam Beach is one of the hidden gems of Koh Samui which hasn't been over developed yet, white sand, blue seas and palm trees. There are some lovely beachfront bars and restaurants only a few minutes walk away, you won't want to leave. Highly Recommended and will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beach
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Alastair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lona4
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Wonderful New Home, Everything You Need Nearby”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The Moonraker unit 4 was perfect for our two families. The Moonrakers were recently built and the views from each room are incredible. The view from the living room is especially nice. Having the living area between the two bedrooms allowed privacy for each family. All the beds were very, very comfortable. (The twin beds were seamlessly joined together for us, making a large bed.) Both bedrooms have plenty of storage and all the rooms are attractively decorated. The kitchen is equipped for four people, however, there is no need for a lot of cooking since there are three very reasonably priced good restaurants within a short walk along the beach. We loved walking barefoot down the beach to one of the three open-air restaurants for lunch and dinner. Two of the restaurants offer dining directly on the sand. The Moonraker owner was extremely helpful and we saw him most every day since he lives nearby. He quickly responded to all our emails from beginning to end and made certain we arrived from the airport without a problem even though our flight was delayed. I suggest you let him line up transportation from the airport for you. The price was very reasonable. The owner will be happy to answer any questions you have, make suggestions, arrange transportation, etc. for you, but we came to know the staff at the Moonhut restaurant where the lunch/dinner manager understands English well and was able to arrange transportation for us. (The business owners all know each other and seem to work together to make the visitors' stay a good one.) Massages are a must in Thailand and two massage areas are just steps from the Moonraker. Our favorite massage place was at the Moonhut up under the palm trees, but the massages next to the Nature Bar were good as well. Mini-markets, a fruit stand, Angela’s for breakfast/lunch and laundry businesses are a short 10-15 minute walk away and can be reached via two paths. The path behind Moonhut is more scenic and along that path was where we had our laundry done. Early mornings were great for walking along the beach and watching the locals fish. Maenam Beach is a good swimming beach and doesn’t have the rocks that can be found on other beaches on the island. The beach is sloped but walk-able and some people used it for their morning jogs despite the slope. The beach at Moonraker isn’t noisy or highly populated, which suited us well. There were enough friendly visitors to converse with, but not so many that you had to share your beach time with them. It was a perfect two weeks. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and new home, views of ocean and distant islands
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Lona, what a great review, thank you very much. I hope you will come back to the Moonrakers in the not too distant future.
Reagrds to you all
Alastair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry P
Wonju, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, modern, new. Beautiful view. Mere steps from the water.”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owners were fabulous. Incredibly friendly and helpful. It was my parents' first time in Thialand and Alastair went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. Could not recommend this place enough, we were sad to be leaving even though we had already spent two weeks there. Once we moved to a new place we wished we had booked it for three weeks instead. The views were absolutely amazing and there are plenty of affordable delicious restaurants nearby. The beds were very comfortable and the A/C in every room was amazing. There really isn't anything bad to say about Moonrakers. Loved our stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Hi Larry,
thanks so much for your review. It's good to know that all 3 generations of your family enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Alastair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully Presented Beachfront Villas ”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I've stayed in Maenam for many years due to the idyllic location on Samui. It's nice and quiet with beautiful beaches overlooking Koh Panyang and you've got Chaweng, Bo Phut etc just a short taxi ride away if you're after a night out. Moonrakers is perfect. The villas are brand new and have all modern amenities, the beach is literally on your doorstep, plus you've got various bars and restaurants just a short walk away. The Management are great and very helpful, and happy to book or recommend any excursions around Samui.
I'll definitely be back, it exceeded expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara L
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing week here. Could not have asked for a better location, right on the beach front and about 10 steps from the sea.
Very quiet area which we loved, some mornings we would be the only people on the beach and in the water that we could see.
We had full intention of going to the markets and doing a little bit of cooking - however this didn't happen at all as we had access to great restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner, just a short stroll down the beach.
The villa is spacious, clean and really well appointed as well as being comfortable. We were provided with beach towels, towels and it was cleaned during our stay which was great. I would highly recommend Moonrakers

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon.
Alastair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J25551
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach Break”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent Easter at the Moonrakers - the villas are lovely and truly beachfront. The kitchen is really well equipped but we didn't use it much as there are a number of good restaurants nearby. The younger ones enjoyed the water based activities, the sea was safe and warm and the older family members were grateful of the air-conditioning when it got really hot. Ten minutes down the road is the Fisherman's Village of Bophut, with more restaurants and tourist shops which we visited a couple of times. A beautiful relaxing break on a beautiful island

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words, I am pleased that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully when you visit Koh Samui again you will stay with us.
Alastair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing