We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, just across the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, just across the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel is located just off the beach, which was a plus for me. The rooms are quite good. Since we were on our honeymoon, the room was decorated quite well. The breakfast spread was standard stuff and pretty good. The pool though slightly small, was quite enjoyable. Overall an enjoyable experience. (we travelled in January 2011)

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the pool, and with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McQueen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    464
    142
    35
    32
See reviews for
154
259
80
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

First off I have to say Pattaya Beach, Thailand on New Years Eve has to be one everybody's bucket list! Even more so when you have a beautiful suit overlooking the beach at the Discovery Beach Hotel. The hotel itself is aged I think the view of the suit made the hotel's shortcomings very minimal. Staff was nice, spoke English and the location of the hotel itself directly across from the beach was great. If you stay here pay for the beach front rooms, pool was ok if you have kids but why would you stay pool side when the sand and surf is a few feet away? Also liked the complimentary breakfast for guests, not great but decent and convinient before a day of adventure.

Room Tip: upgrade to higher floor beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Excellent view, 'specially at night. Good service as well. However, there are plenty of hotels by the beach, with the same standards, but cheaper. So they have to try a bit harder with this one, I think.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed for five nights at the D beach and after a difficult check in the rest of the stay proved to be very good. The problem with the arrival was that there were three of us and we required an extra bed in the room. We specified on our reservation that we would like to have a double bed and an "extra" bed to go with it. On arrival, we were told by reception that we couldn't have a double bed but had to have twin beds as there wasn't enough room for the double! The bathroom was ok although the towels have clearly seen better days, the breakfast was fine, the service very good and the area around the swimming pool was fine. Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruudboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kololi, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I spent an hour researching affordable, quality hotels right on the beach at this resort. I settled on this hotel owing to the range of facilities offered and the reasonable cost for 5 nights accommodation with breakfast. On arrival the hotel looked bright, clean and welcoming, baggage was collected swiftly and taken up the steep flight of steps to reception.The room on the 10th floor provided the hoped for grand view of the bay, a vast and comfortable bed and a spotless bathroom with huge bath tub and separate shower. The a/c worked efficiently and silently. The free wifi has a variable signal strength at times. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of western and eastern style choices. The staff are well turned out in orange 'house' t shirts and the chefs make an appearance in suitable attire. Some staff however seem a little guarded in their responses to customers. The medium sized pool is attractive and secluded. The hotel is located close to the beach, next to a quality Italian restaurant and near the PIC Kitchen Thai restaurant. There is bar overlooking the road, but I found the draft beer served there to be flat. There is a street nearby offering 'racier' offerings, but there is no need to walk there unless you choose to, as is the case elsewhere in this city. Overall we were very happy with this choice as it exceeded expectations and provided a trouble free, relaxing and affordable break.

Room Tip: The rooms from the 8th floor upwards (facing the Pattaya City hill sign) offer the best views. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just stayed three nights with family on 8th floor. The location of hotel is excellent. Right on the beach road, lots of places to see & shop around. The room was large & bed was huge & very comfortable. Toilet was spotless. The swimming pool is a high point especially suitable for kids & it is hard to get them out of the pool. Breakfast had lot of variety but menu is same everyday and by the third day, we were wanting some variation. Free Internet on computers located at lobby was fast & convenient. Baht buses are available just at the doorstep of hotel.
Travel desk at hotel is expensive & better to book tours from numerous agents outside the hotel. Soi 6 next door is full of bars and one can hear sounds in rooms on lower floors.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smiley005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at the Discovery Beach Hotel for 3 nights at the end of December. I was traveling with my fiance and her sister. The room we recieved was like a 2 bedroom, it had a seperate bedroom which was connected to the bathroom. That was nice to have some privacy. The room was quiet but if you are on the balcony there was some construcion noise and noise from Soi 6 which is right next to the hotel. The best feature of this hotel for me was the location. It is directly across from the beach. The girls loved the shopping on beach road and we went to every mall there using the baht buses which was fun. The pool is nice and big and we had fun lounging around and swimming there. I would stay here again and I think it is great value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonc_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#27 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#10 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A-One The Royal Cruise Hotel
0.2 mi away
Centara Pattaya Hotel
Centara Pattaya Hotel
#29 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.8 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#48 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel

Property: Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel
Address: 489 Soi 6/1, North Pattaya, Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing