We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overall experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is beautifully designed with good access for disabled. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food was perfect and we ate here more than anywhere else. The location is city centre with easy access to shops and nightlife. The area is noisy but no problem sleeping. The best thing about this hotel is the staff ALL of them. The greatest welcome ever had. Anything you want is done for you. Will stay here again to see them all again. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andybwbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    240
    74
    21
    10
See reviews for
98
274
216
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I checked in for a 2 night break.
What a wonderful stay.

It all started with D2's own unique twist. The reception is also a bar and walking on the ship decking foor to reception we were offered a seat on check in and a welcome drink , anything from a cappuccino to hard spirits or sparkling wine. Our choice. We had cocktails, which were prepared fresh in front of us as we filled in the registration cards.

I had heard from some sources this was a regarded by some as a gay friendly hotel. I can honestly say this was a people friendly hotel.Everyone can feel well at ease being themselves here. Couples, singles, famiilies were there during our weekend stay.

The rooms were modern, spacious and exceptionally functional and a bit arty/funky in design.
They were also insulated well and very quite.
Airconditioning was effective and quiet and hot water always hot.
I had a great sleep here.

Views of the pool which gradually changed color through out the night, due to underwater colored lighting and the overall contemporary hotel fell, made you almost believe you were in Maimi on ocean strip.

My wife made use of the spa and being a spa addict commented that the spa signature treatment was so relaxing she fell asleep and woke up to smooth skin and a glowing complexion. I beleive they use some exclusive french products in their treatments. Not a cheap treatment in Thai money terms around Baht 2000 approx for 90 minutes. But for her it was well worth it.

Staff were very friendly and lots of smiles and willingness to help.
The S.E.A. restaurant was a little back from the entrance and had a modern approach on both western and Asian food. Loved it. Breakfast was also good with some buffet items and some fresh cooked. A unique twist to breakfast included free flow sparkling wine if you felt you really needed that extra boost for the day.

We happened to visit during the firework competition on the bay.
D2 has a roof top bar terrace, with a dj and chill out sounds.
We drank wine and watched the sunset, and dined while watching a fireworks light up the night sky to cool sounds of the dj. As you can imagine it was a busy venue and a great little spot.(The roof top was far enough above the mad traffic and sounds of Pattaya, that we could not even hear it ).

As you can tell we really enjoyed the experience and would recommned this unique property to anyone looking for a quiet sleep and first class unique experience, fun and with friendly and efficient staff right in the heart of Pattaya.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrw_pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

In order to see the firework for the King's birthday, some friends and I (a table of 8) went for dinner to the Sunset Lounge restaurant in Pattaya. The place is very nice for a drink and a cigar but do not eat there !!!
I ordered a spicy Papaya salad and precisely specified "no seafood, I am alergic to it" followed by some "Penne arrabiata". The Papaya salad came with ... shrimps (!!!). The time I complained to make a new one, I was left alone to "eat". I say "eat" coz it was so tasteless that I did not eat it ! Then the pasta ... the Penne must have cooked for 25 minutes ... they were like mash potatoes (oh, mybe it was mash potatoes in fact !). Needless to say that I did not eat them either. The german Manager did not dare asking me if there was a problem ... too busy watching TV ! And this is supposed to be the restaurant of a famous 5* hotel !

My friends all complained about the average or bad food, nobody of the 8 was happy !!!

Thank you Dusit D2 but NEVER AGAIN !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcTisserand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This was my 5th time in Pattaya having been in other hotels I have to say what a breath of fresh air my experence was. From the moment I arrived the staff were so friendly, nothing was to much trouble. I had booked a suite for my stay the rooms were very nice and for me having a high speed internet connection was excellent. The pool area is very pleasent with a pool side bar area and again excellent service. Take a meal on the 6th floor roof top resturant. the food is excellent with europian and Thai food on the menue. A great selection of wines from around the world and not over priced. The view at night is awesome.overall I can honestly say this was the best hotel in pattaya. Can't wait for my return visit. My thanks to Michael Ganster and his team for making my stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Was pleasantly surprised by the interior and the rooms of this hotel. Also the sunset bar on the roof is a great place to wind down and enjoy a great sunset and enjoy a few drinks .
The staff were happy and helpful ,Location is great as well . Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Trying too hard to be stylish, but still a nice place. Centrally located and cool rooftop restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Staying with friends? Be careful - bathroom setup doesn't work well if you don't want your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I was convinced by our tour guy (not a traditional tour by any means) to upgrade to a suite at the D2 and wow, was it worth it.

Two oversized rooms, one with a bar, couch and chairs, the other with an oversized jacuzzi along with a king bed.

The regular rooms are great but not as spectacular.

With the suite they include free spa treatments, which I didn't use as I went golfing every day, but one of the more metro sexual members of our group used and he couldn't stop raving about them.

Great rooftop bar, fantastic pool, great club house sandwiches, fanatastic staff.

To give an example of the service I staggered in at 4:45 am (I did not know that was the time) and asked for a 5 AM wakeup call as I was leaving to the airport at 5:30. The phone rang, I showered and packed and went to the lobby where the two employee's had a couple of latte's waiting for me.

Will certainly return to this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWG1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 447 in Pattaya
1,529 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 447 in Pattaya
1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#16 of 447 in Pattaya
2,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wave Hotel
Wave Hotel
#6 of 447 in Pattaya
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, a hip boutique hotel located in the heart of Thailand's bustling Pattaya City, is joining Accor's MGallery Collection of unique hotels. This hotel is dedicated to the lifestyle of modern travelers with a signature design of "modern nautical cool". Located on Pattaya's colorful 2nd Road, Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is a calm sanctuary with an easy access to the beach, shopping and entertainment centers. The facade and interior of the hotel reflects a devotion to bold and contemporary designs, while unique personalized services are provided to enhance each individual stay. Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is comprised of 72 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms and suites, each with a balcony overlooking the unique fish-like, blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing