We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khor, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I loved this place the first time I stayed there back in 2012; which is why I chose it again this year. However, it seems that there has been some change in the management of the hotel (previously it was a Dusit hotel I think) and unfortunately some things were below what I expected. Overall the hotel is nice and clean, it is also very quiet and relaxing. Decoration and rooms’ layout are beautiful and convenient, room and bathroom are spacious. Good staff, helpful and smiling all the time, they are really friendly and will add up to the joy of your stay. Here are some issues I noticed that need improvement because it may ruin the stay for some people: 1) Air conditioning is really bad, the room is hot and humid for almost the whole day time. 2) Wifi system is awful, you get disconnected numerous times. 3) In room dining was good (really delicious) only once, the rest of the time the food was always cold and without taste. 4) Every time I called room dining the person who picked up the phone was unable to understand English so I had to order through the front desk, despite mentioning this issue every day to the front desk the issue was not attended (for 6 days). 5) Once I found that some cups were not washed after the room was serviced, it was obvious, I don’t understand how this happened. This is something that make you question everything else: towels, bed sheets … etc. 6) Breakfast was really below expectation, bad lighting, few choices, and the staff over there were not welcoming.
I was really hoping for a better stay, or at least similar to the one I had in 2012.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abdulaziz_alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the incidents that occured during your recent stay

There can be no excuse only solutions and please rest assured team and I will work on our internal communication to improve both our product and services

Adul, please contact me directly gm@hotelbaraquda.com next visit to Pattaya I will personally oversee your stay allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our true values in hospitality

With best personal regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    243
    74
    21
    12
See reviews for
99
276
222
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My friends and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights on a last minute Golf Trip from Dubai. The hotel location, Rooms, Pool and excellent attentive staff made is a perfect stay! Breakfast was also excellent! Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Great Review!!!

Many thanks Colin, greatly appreciated :)

Colin, next visit to Hotel Baraquda please let me know in advance I will arrange special green fees, caddy and VIP club house benefits at Phoenix Golf Pattaya - save your money for our Grand Baraquda Suite up-grade!

Look forward to seeing you soon and best wishes to you and family and friends in Dubai

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great location, lovely staff and terrific management. But all that priceless software can't mitigate a major problem that's plagued this place for years: a poor ventilation/aircon system that leaves rooms damp, musty and inconsistently temperature controlled. Having the sink and shower IN the room, while perhaps trendy, does not help things.

The hip public areas are better than the rooms. Unfortunately you can't sleep in them.

I would ask for a climate control guarantee. It they're willing to provide that and you don't mind someone brushing their teeth in your bedroom, you can enjoy the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippingSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Please accept my siincere apologies for the poor aircondition system, unfortunately during previous Management reign there was no preventive maintenance however we have taken urgent corrective measures to over haul the full system and also install all 72 guest rooms and suites with new thermostats to ensure comfort levels

Please contact me directly gm@hotelbaraquda.com to arrange your next visit and also invitation to join dinner as my invited guest fir the inconvenience of your previous stay

With best regards and sincere apologies once again,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visited many times,breakfast,lunch,coffee,realy lovely spot.you would never know you are in the heart of Pattaya on second road.Lovely pool area,very clean pool.Alex is ladyboy supervisor in restaurant,what a character,and what excellent service,if you go once for brekkie,she will remember you choices and put it on your table whilst you are sitting at your table.We were totally spoilt there.Lovely rooms with comfy beds,some 2 story rooms,luxury sublime,AND now an accor property,so use your Accor card for a good deal.Leo will check you in with a big smile,and look out for new GM ALEX [Male] he is everywere,visible to all his guests making sure you are happy,big asset to Barracuda."Chock Dee"to you all,see you again SOON!!

Room Tip: We loved the Studio rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erindoors1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Er in doors :) "Chock Dee" to you too and many thanks for your kind words of inspiration for both Alex's - looking forward to welcoming you over and over again to Hotel Baraquda

Best wishes!

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our fishing trip was cancelled, so we ended up searching out a hotel to bum around for a couple days.

Alex the hotel manager, and all of his staff were absolutely wonderful. Extending our late check outs, matching the online price we found while on our phones at the front-desk and much more.

Rooms were awesome, well designed, and super comfortable.

My friends and I barely left the hotel, and had an absolute blast. 5 stars. A real gem in this city of erm.... diversity?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Spencer!!!

Many thanks for your kind review, pleausre having guests like you who become friends before you leave :) please let me know next visit gm@hotelbaraquda.com and best wishes,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Okay, from the moment you walk in and the staff greets you, you don't want to be anywhere else.
I had this sudden impulse to go to Pattaya so I just went without booking a hotel. After reaching, I looked at a few hotels in this price category but when I entered the lobby of the Baraquda I felt really nice. The color scheme, lighting, music, everything just goes so well together,
Anyway, Mr. Alex Chakraborty, the General Manager greeted me personally, the staff was cordial, accommodating etc. then I went to check out the room. Amazing in every sense of the word. The floating bed, the 'sexy shower' (their words, not mine), the whole ambience of the room is just so modern, giving a lounge feel. Even the carpet in the shape of a shell in the room goes with the 'under the sea' theme. Oh! I could go on and on and on.

Okay if you have to be overly critical, there are 2 small problems that I faced. 1. There was no detail of extensions for the phone line. I was stumped on how to reach the reception or the room service. 2. The lighting switches - one set of light switches is hidden when the TV is extended out. It took me like 5 minutes of wandering around the room to figure this out. Easy fix is to tell the guest about switches while giving the room tour. And number 1 can be easily fixed. And yes, the beige telephone doesn't go with the room decor.

The reception staff is also super courteous. I don't remember the name of the lady who was there at the time of my check out, but her smile just blows you away and gives you a great feeling at the end of your trip. Don't get me wrong, other hotels do this, but everything seems so professional in their approach. Everything in this hotel feels as if it is personalized especially for you. Kudos to a hotel that is not huge in size.

Btw, amazing view of the pool from the room.
:)

Room Tip: Lower floors with balcony have a good view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Kudos to YOU and please give yourself a STAR :)

Many thanks for a fabulous review and well noted 2 points to improve with our telephone colour and light switches both are part of our renovation plan scheduled for completion October 2014

Best wishes to you and family and we look forward to seeing you soon,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Staff just can't do enough for you. Alex the manager made à point to introduce himself and give us invaluable information about beautiful island beaches.
Many thanks for making our holiday great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_petitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry R, General Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Ian & Charlie!!!

Many thanks for your kind words and more importantly for enlighting all Trip Advisor followers to the hidden treasures of Pattaya:

Koh Larn Island - beautiful beaches and clear waters................

World Class PGA Golf

Floating Market

Silver Lake Vineyard

Tiffany & Alcazar Cabaret

Under Water World

Cartoon Network Theme Park

list is endless..................... minimum stay 5 to 7 nights to enjoy this wonderful City :)

Best wishes Ian & Charlie and come hime soon!

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 449 in Pattaya
1,563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#3 of 449 in Pattaya
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#17 of 449 in Pattaya
2,300 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
1.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#19 of 449 in Pattaya
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, a hip boutique hotel located in the heart of Thailand's bustling Pattaya City, is joining Accor's MGallery Collection of unique hotels. This hotel is dedicated to the lifestyle of modern travelers with a signature design of "modern nautical cool". Located on Pattaya's colorful 2nd Road, Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is a calm sanctuary with an easy access to the beach, shopping and entertainment centers. The facade and interior of the hotel reflects a devotion to bold and contemporary designs, while unique personalized services are provided to enhance each individual stay. Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is comprised of 72 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms and suites, each with a balcony overlooking the unique fish-like, blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing