We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
Ranked #12 of 465 Hotels in Pattaya
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have just returned from a 2 weeks stay at the resort. We were a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews but our experience of the hotel is very good.

We had no problem with the check in. It was fast efficient and the receptionist was very friendly.

We had a deluxe family room. The room is spacious, well laid out, clean and comfortable for the 4 of us (2 Adults and 2 children aged 10 and 11).

We were on B&B basis. Breakfast was served from 6am to 10am. The choice was good and varied. The latest we went down for breakfast was 9:30am. There were still plenty of choices left. However, some mornings when they are busy, you are directed to alternative restaurants/rooms within the hotel. Some are nice, some lacked atmosphere (e.g. having breakfast in the office). Saying that, you still have the same choice and food is plentiful. If you go for breakfast between 8 and 8:30, then you should be ok. Also, we found that if you approach the restaurant via the stairs from the main lobby (1st floor), you are unlikely to get directed to one of the alternative venues, no matter what time you go down for breakfast.

We found the food expensive if you eat in the hotel, especially if the kids do not like it. Dinner is approx 1299 bhat + tax and service charge per person. If you eat out, you can feed a family of 4 with lots of nice food for 1000 bhat.

If you want to eat in the hotel (e.g. lunch), you can buy vouchers. You pay 750 bhat and you get a voucher for 1000 bhat. A chicken and chips basket is 260 bhat + 17%, fish and chips is 270 bhat + 17%. It works out approx £23 for 4. This is plus drinks. Remember to add 17% to all drinks for tax and service charge.

There is a family mart opposite the hotel that is open 24 hours a day. A bottle of coke is 35p. You can keep it stocked up for during the day.

If you want to eat locally, you can walk up the road and a meal for 4 should be no more than 1000 bhat. Turn right out of the hotel then at the end of the road, turn left. The restaurants are at the top of the road. The German restaurant opposite the Seven 11 is very nice.

You get more choice if you go into town. You can take a hop on and hop off bus type thing for 10 bhat per person. To take one of these, you will need to come out the hotel main entrance, walk to the end of the road and cross the street. It’s a 10 minutes walk. The food court at Central Festival on the ground floor is really nice. The restaurants on the 4th floor are very good too. I struggle to spend more than 1000 bhat for food.

As we have young kids and it was warm, we splashed out for a taxi into town and back. It is 150 bhat. Walk out the hotel and there will be plenty outside. Tell them where you want to go and they will say 200. Tell them you will pay 150 and start walking. Someone will take you for that. It will be the same price coming back from town.

The dive shop within the hotel is good. We went for a scuba day out. They call it discovery dive. It is 4000 bhat per person and if you are an open water diver, the cost if 2900. It is a great day out. The company is very professional and the instructors are excellent.

Overall, we like the resort and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AndrewFromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,437 - 2,443 of 4,302 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

This place spent all the money on the lobby and the pools which are spectacular. But the forgot to make the rooms nice and how to train the staff. It took us two hours to get our luggage when we checked in. That is unacceptable. I would have prefferred to bring up my bags myself! We couldn't leave the room since we didn't have clean clothes! We had to call twice. The room smelled bad when we got there. We had to open the windows. Also we couldn't figure out how to turn on the AC because the AC doesn't work with the doors open. Makes sense but how would we know that!

The room looks nice but is not built well. The shower is a disaster. It is small and hard to control the hot water. There isn't even tile in the shower, just sheet rock. Not sure how that works.

The pool is really nice but closes at 6pm or 7pm. Not sure why. Also we couldn't get our welcome drink at the pool bar even though they had the ingredients. The food here is way overpriced. It seems like the customer doesn't come first here. Dissappointing, won't come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eamrooms, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Mr. Adam P,

We would like to thank you for your time to comment on tripadvisor.com on your recent stay in our hotel. Your precious feedback on our services and facilities have now been shared with our management and departments heads concerned and will be a valuable contribution to improve our future guests experience in the resort.
We look forward welcoming you again at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya in the near future.

Cordially,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I no it was a while ago but it was April 2011 I visited pattaya which is we're my uncle lives I love pattaya so much great nightlife for everyone great shopping really cheap asswell thats why I love Thailand and great weather is promised especially April time I flew out with my nan (I'm aged 13 to let you no) with a stop in Dubai wich is loveley but when I arrived I went to see my uncle we stayed there for a week before heading to Nakhon nayok were my nan used to work to help for a few days and even in a town away from Bangkok everything's loveley and liveley we stayed during there new years water festival and by god it was amazing you got soaked and covered in colours of all sorts people would go along in pick up trucks with lots of water stop by you soak you and drive off and it's not just on the road I got peeps from the side of the road wish I could go back but anyway your here to read about the hotel so we went back to pattaya and stayed at this amazing hotel because my auntie and cousins flew out on holiday so we had to babysit for a couple of days so we got a ocean view suit and stayed there for 3 or 4 days and enjoyed everythink it's so big and the pool area won't diss appoint you one of the best I've been to mabey the best the food is 5 star all the way loved the breakfast buffet and the special BBQ restraint asswell as the Asian resturaunt service was great but the only thing I didn't like was the location abit away from the main town but it dose have a 7 11 next to it and god I love them wish 7 11s were in Britain hope this helps you for your stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potato2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. We were on 13th floor and had full sea and pool view.
A great variety of pools with quiet and child friendly areas. Child pool is very welcoming. The swim up bar is very good. It also has a 'rock climbing, jump in area' that my son loved.
Bathroom is part of the room! Strange but accepable.
We would stay here again. Try the slides into the pools and the lazy river.
Good selection of lounge furniture on the balcony.

Room Tip: Get yourself an ocean facing room on a high floor. Try out the lazy river. Don't forget to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel was one of the best that we'd ever stayed in. The staff, like the majority of Thai people, are friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we had a problem with the lock on our balcony door. Having telephoned the reception it was fixed within five minutes. Our room (1133) was half way up and on the corner of the complex so our balcony, which had a good selection of furniture, went round the corner of the hotel and we overlooked the pool, the beach and surrounding Islands and could even see the main town. We had a fantastic king sized bedroom and our three children (aged 11) had their own separate bedroom, with a bunk bed and a pull out bed. Not large, but plenty big enough and they loved it. After all, they only needed to sleep there. The bathroom was very large with a sunken bath, large walk in shower, sink and toilet. Very clean although it could do with a bit of a refurb. (Having said this the other rooms on our floor were being redecorated whilst we were there and I imagine ours was next to be done after we left) Breakfast was fantastic. We were able to sit outside to enjoy it in the shade overlooking the gardens and the food was excellent. Plenty of it and lots of variety from Full English to Thai or Japanese, fresh fruit, cereals and make your own pancakes. The Hotel has its own private beach which is very clean and has a variety of water sports and you don't get pestered too much by beach vendors. The Hotel has 4 or 5 pools, some with slides, with the highlight being the Lazy River which our kids loved and couldn't keep out of. Towels were plentiful, as were the sun beds, although I feel that this would not be the case in High Season. Other than breakfast, which was included, we did not eat in the Hotel as, like with most Hotels, their prices were extortionate. Their buffet nights were approx. 1500 Baht per adult, plus 7% VAT, plus 10% service, plus drinks, whereas we were able to eat some very good Thai food in the local restaurants for approx 1500 Baht for the five of us, including drinks!
Unless you want to be in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Walking Street, this Hotel is very well situated, especially for families, and has a mini mart opposite the entrance and there are local bars (lots), money exchangers and numerous very good restaurants all within a 10 minute walk. Taxis are readily available and if you do want to venture into Walking Street a 10 minute walk will get you to the taxi rank which runs down the one way system to Walking Street for 10 Baht per person.
All in all we loved this Hotel and would not hesitate to go back and the only reasons why it's only been rated 4 as opposed to 5 are prices in the Hotel are plus 7% VAT and 10% Service and things like beer are twice the price of the mini mart, so it's expensive, especially when you can walk across the road and get your supplies from the mini mart, but I guess that's the same with most Hotels. Still their loss. Also, WIFI. Most Hotels now have complementary WIFI, if not in the rooms then in the Lobby. It was complimentary from floor 12 upwards but expensive below that. However, most of the local bars and restaurants will provide you with a free WIFI login for the duration of your stay so, again it's the Hotels loss as your spending money is being spent elsewhere. Finally, although this is not the fault of the the Hotel, it was full of Russians. Never have I come across such a rude an arrogant race of people, which was even more annoying considering the way they treated the Thai staff, who were always so friendly and polite. It even came to the stage where we had to puff out our chests and dig our elbows into their ribs to prevent these arrogant people from trying to brush us aside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpikeEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went with 18 members with different types of room and suite. However, I only recommend go for the upgrade to a bigger suite which have living room and two bedrooms. Buy a prepaid sim card with unlimited data instead of paying the hotel wifi is a must. The hotel water park is consists of swimming pools and water slides. It also have some activities at the beach side. Your family will enjoy to stay half day in the hotel and go out at the early evening. Breakfast is buffer with lot of choice, taste not to bad.

Room Tip: Upgrade available at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

It may be good for families with children areas, water slides, swimming pools but these are not suitable for me. I come with my wife and hardly can I find a pool to swim. The breakfast is good if you go before 930.

The hotel is located a little bit far away from the center and you need to travel for 10 mins. The room is large but the facilities (furniture and bathroom) inside are not well maintained. The toilet is suited next to the door and you can clean your foot after going to beach. However, it is separated from the bathing area which causes inconvenienced. Also, there is only a curtain to hide the bathing area. If you come with friends, the privacy is a too low. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the heating system of the bathroom is sucked and you don't usually get hot water.

The inhouse service is poor that the replacement of the towels and shower gel is unstable. On my last night of staying in the hotel, we have only a pair of slippers and one towel left and we don't have enough shower gel. Even worse, the towel is dirty and there is a huge black mark on it. Did they check that before or they think it is okay for guests to accept a dirty towel? What do I get is a reminder to paid and check out in advance. So I went down to the counter at night and wanted to check out. In most of the hotels under normal circumstances, there should be express check out counter and what you need to do is dropping your key cards in if you do not spend. In this hotel, even if I paid the bill and check out at the night before, I still need to queue up and wait to return the key cards when I leave. So what is the motivation to do it in advance?

We will not stay in Centara grand anymore. The values deserve a better hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sheva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#16 of 465 in Pattaya
2,498 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
0.2 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#17 of 465 in Pattaya
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#10 of 465 in Pattaya
1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#22 of 465 in Pattaya
2,210 reviews
3 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#24 of 465 in Pattaya
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya

Address: 277 Moo 5 | Naklua, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#12 Business Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: £93 - £716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya is an exciting Lost World themed resort set on Wong Amat Beach, is a destination in its own right. As a retreat for couples or as a fun place for families, guests will enjoy the resort’s 555 spacious ocean-facing rooms, suites and family residences (from 42 to 326 square metres), eight dining venues including COAST Beach Club & Bistro, an award-winning spa, and a gigantic water park. The resort has fun, action and relaxation for everyone. The Lost World, at the very heart of the resort, is a world to explore: a freeform swimming pool, a meandering lazy river, 12 water slides, an adult’s pool, Jacuzzis, cliff jumping platforms, and Monson Island, a children’s water playground featuring water guns, miniature geysers, and jumbo water buckets. Children can also enjoy two kids clubs, a club lounge dedicated to families, and a plethora of activities. The 230-metre beach is perfect for water sports, such as sailing and kayaking, and a PADI dive centre is also available. If this sounds too intense, Spa Cenvaree is a true refuge for the senses and has 24 treatment rooms and a yoga and meditation pavilion. Other facilities include a state-of-the-art fitness centre, two tennis courts and rock climbing facilities. A shuttle service connects to Central Festival Pattaya shopping and lifestyle centre on an hourly basis and Bangkok’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 90 minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Prestigia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing