We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent but with reservations”
Review of Nova Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nova Gold Hotel
Ranked #66 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

As many have said the location is somewhat out of the way, but as long as it is not raining heavily one can walk to Pattaya Klang or Beach Road in around 10 minutes or to Number 2 Road in less than 5 minutes. Motor cycle taxis are readily available for the brave. There is a buggy service but I have found this a bit hit and miss on my two most recent visits

The rooms are clean, modern and of adequate size. The premium rooms are bigger, as one would expect, and as good as what one would get for three times the price at Dusit/Amari/Marriott etc etc. The bathrooms are especially good with a full bath and a large and efficient walk in shower

The personal computer in the room is useful - ok sometimes on the slow side, but generally I have found it to work satisfactorily. I have stayed in scores of hotels in Thailand at all price levels and this is the only one I have found which provides this service

The staff are fine if you treat them with respect and politely. You will then get the famous 'Thai smile' and friendly service

Breakfast, if included in your rate, entails a less than 100 metre walk to Jameson's, a smoky Irish style bar in another nearby 'Nova' building. For me better take room only and for brunch - nobody rises early in Pattaya ! - go to Greg's Kitchen just round the corner on Number 2 Road where you will get top quality food cooked fresh to order

All in all an excellent hotel and superb value, so long as you are happy to do a little walking

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KhunBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

This place was great! Ok if I had to say something bad, I would say that the location was not great. I love the quit places, I go out to make the noise. The Nova Gold comes with a desk top computer, rob and slippers. You even get a private balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plaherspla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I booked based on Agoda.com suggestions and because it was a smaller property. They had good internet service in the room, the even had a full computer in each room you could use.

The bed was comfortable. The shower was very nice. The sitting chair was good.

I would stay again.

If you stay here be prepared to walk a bit because it is not right off a main soi with bhat bus access.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I really enjoyed staying at the Nova Gold Hotel in Pattaya, Thailand. The hotel personnel was very enthusiatic, cordial and helpful especially four of them: Nui, Pin, Wan and Cheat.
The rooms were serviced right on time and very nice with free wi-fi internet and cable TV. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting pattaya.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Just stayed there for 4 nights...

I was unable to book a room without getting the breakfast included at Jamison's. Very hearty breakfast the first day, but EXACTLY the same menu everyday, so it got old. I had to have them microwave the bacon to crisp it up from its soggy state.

Fitness room: Recumbent bike didn't work and the upright bike had pedals made for a child. The programming buttons were not intuitive at all and after 4 days, still never really figured it out. The weight machine had an out of order sign on it and the dumbbells went to about 15 pounds max.

Room: Mini bar frig cooling coils had a block of ice on them so I had to defrost it in order to cool anything inside. This took several hours.

Bed: I woke up with a stiff back every morning. The bed was as hard as the floor. They do not give you a sheet, so it is only a heavy comforter or nothing - the second night I asked for a sheet.

Maid needed prompting to leave adequate soap in the room.

Internet speed - in general, slow and sometimes not fast enough for Skype. Page loading slow for web surfing.

On check out the boy comes down with a concerned look on his face with a face towel and bathrobe in hand. The maid had placed a towel on a shelf where the coffee and tea are made and I spilled coffee on the white towel.

One of the bathrobe sash loops in the back had apparently come undone.

For these "damages" I was assessed 400 baht. Reportedly "special cleaning" was necessary for the towel (I thought that was what bleach was for) and the robe loop needed some sewing (I've gotten items repaired and sewn for 10 baht in town in the past).

When I expressed my displeasure, all customer service ceased. I lost my temper since this same situation happened to my brother at Nova Park next door when he spilled some protein powder drink on a towel. Reminds me of the jet ski scams that still happen daily where "major damages" seem to happen cost 10 to 100000 baht. The other point is you are vulnerable on check out since there is a taxi waiting, you have a flight to catch, etc. So, my thought is they are trained to pull this trick on the customer every time they can. Charge me 50 or even 100 baht...ok, but don't insist on "mini bar" rates for this kind of thing. When I explained "this is how you lose customers" i might have well been speaking to the wall.

With competition so keen for hotels in Pattaya (I think they are overbuilt already), customers have a choice - I think you can guess where I won't stay next visit! Recall what they say about one dissatisfied customer telling 20 others...the power of the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatvette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

It was at a quiet and peaceful location. we were warmly greeted at the reception and were offered a wonderful welcome drink!! the rooms were beautifully decorated and quite spacious.we had access to the internet as well.the beach was just around a 10 min walk away from the hotel .there were a lot of good eateries and shopping places in the market place,close by. in all, it was a lovely stay and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SargamHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This new hotel has very helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Although away from the bars and nightlife the hotel minivan or golf buggy is able to transport you to the nearest baht bus route or take you to the major shopping areas such as Central Festival. The only disappointment was the buffet breakfast. Jamesons Irish Pub where breakfast is provided has a fantastic a la carte menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Unfortunately the buffet breakfast as part of the hotel deal was unimaginative, very limited in food choice and not up to Jamesons usual high standard of quality. The only choice for eggs was hard boiled and a few times food tray choices were empty. This is an easy problem to remedy. I will be back next year for sure! I didn't use room service or the spa and swimming pool. The gymnasium looked very impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Pattaya Hotel
Centara Pattaya Hotel
#28 of 456 in Pattaya
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amari Nova Suites Pattaya
Amari Nova Suites Pattaya
#40 of 456 in Pattaya
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nova Park Hotel Pattaya
Nova Park Hotel Pattaya
#176 of 456 in Pattaya
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centara Nova Hotel & Spa Pattaya
0.3 mi away
Red Planet Pattaya
Red Planet Pattaya
#27 of 456 in Pattaya
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flipper House Hotel
Flipper House Hotel
#82 of 456 in Pattaya
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Gold Hotel

Address: 80/166 Moo 9 Nongprue | Banglamung, Chonburi, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range: £26 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nova Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Gold Hotel is a landmark low-rise property offering a fresh new accommodation experience in Pattaya. This deluxe 4-star hotel features 77 comfortably designed rooms with private balconies, ideal for both short visits and longer stays.Located in central Pattaya, Nova Gold Hotel is just a 10 minute stroll from the beach with several shopping malls easily accessible on foot or with the hotel’s complimentary golf cart shuttle service. Pattaya’s famous entertainment district is easily accessible from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nova Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing