We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found paradise in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Souy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Found paradise in paradise”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just returned from here after a 13 night stay and after 6 trips to Thailand and 6 different hotels ranging from 4-5 star, ive finally found the most friendliest, relaxed, welcoming and cleanest resort ive been to. I was given a poolside studio room,not telling you which one as i want to make sure its free for next booking and the one after that ,some vary slightly in size. Ideal for one person and a "takeaway" if you bring one back. The room has everything you need for your stay and only 5 steps away from the lovely freshwater swimming pool and sunbeds PERFECT!
Once the suns moved of the poolside area can always go up to the lovely roof terrace for that extra bit of sun The bar in the courtyard surrounded by trees and lights is open all day till i think about midnight or 1am but never heard any noise the whole time i was there. Breakfast ordered at 0800 and brought to my poolside table by 0810 freshly cooked and prepared PERFECT !.
they run a tut tut from 10:00 til 22:30 and for only 50baht you can get from Baan Souy to either jomtien beach or Pattaya, or a Baht bus or taxi bike at the top of the road, but with this hotel i stayed here more than i have done in all my previous trips to the area.Never even got the beach this year as felt so relaxed at Baan Souy
Jim the Co-owner is a great guy and always has time to chat and listen There was nothing i needed while i stayed there but i am sure if you asked Jim he would get it, find it, or source it for you and do it with a smile at the same time. PERFECT !

Jim and co were putting up the christmas decorations as i was leaving and from what i could see they put as much detail into that as they do the rest of the resort 10/10 PERFECT

Your treated as person with name not a guy with a room number as you are in the larger hotels and that makes such a difference to me . After my first day it was like i was staying at a friends villa and not at a hotel. Will be back here again and again if they let me

Well done to everyone at Baan Souy PERFECT !

Room Tip: The room i stayed in was one of the poolside rooms numbered from 101-110 and get the earlier morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    60
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
149
181
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Finally, an upscale gay guest house in Pattaya. It’s run by Jim - a “farang” with a long involvement in the city’s gay business scene. With only about 30+ rooms, guests won’t have to worry about mega buses unloading endless suitcases and first- time tourists. The price range of the rooms, while reasonable, helps ensure that guests will be a bit more up-scale than those of Pattaya’s many lesser rated abodes.
The courtyard/swimming pool and outdoor bar area is as cozy and inviting as one will find and truly makes the place an oasis in an increasingly noise polluted city. Jim has shown great attention to detail with the statues, lighting, fauna and furniture that adorn the courtyard. It is as good as I have seen anywhere and is especially beautiful at night. The background music is tasteful and always played just loud enough to be audible. And, in case guests haven’t brought their own, they can usually count on at least some of their comrades being accompanied by delightful eye candy who are often frolicking around the pool area.
Service is attentive and mostly genuine. In addition to Thai smiles from the local staff, guests will be treated to some youthful Latino charm from Carlos who takes care of bookings, tours and some front office chores. He speaks perfect English and can assist in sorting out those rare problems that might be beyond the language competency of the Thai staff.
The rooms are spacious and well-appointed; here again Jim has spared little when it comes to amenities. The terraces even have outlets so guests can use their electronic devices. The art is tasteful throughout with especially nice pieces in the lobby.
The fitness center is better equipped than most guest houses/ hotels in this class. However, while the cardiac equipment is new, the weight machines are ancient. A few new Life Fitness or Cybex pieces would be a welcome addition.
Transport is needed to go to either Jomtien Beach or the south Pattaya entertainment area. Yet, a walk around Baan Souy’s neighboring streets reveals a more subdued city with some nice “off the beaten path” restaurants. The famous Sansuk sauna is about a five minute walk from the hotel.
Many of Baan Souy's clients are regulars and we will now join their ranks. While we'd prefer to be in Jomtien Beach, the ambience of this guest house more than offsets its location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamus-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Returned for my second stay of a week at this lovely, well run hotel. This time we rented the two bedroom apartment - two lovely bedrooms, each with a king bed and their own bathrooms, superbly furnished. Very large lounge, balcony overlooking the pool, small kitchenette, spotlessly clean and impecably serviced. Breakfast is included, and can be taken in the cosy restaurant, by the pool, or around the hotel in other locations.

The hotel is located about 150 meters off the main road between Pattaya and Jomptien beach, around the midway point. It is an extremely quiet location, but easy to get to either of these places by 'Baht Bus' that can be hailed at the main road.

The hotel does serve very good meals in either its restaurant, or at the poolside dining area. For a more upscale dining experience, Mata Hari restaurant at the main road junction, 150 meters away, is recommended. There is an outdoor bar in the gardens which is a friendly meeting area.

The apartment had TVs in the lounge and both bedrooms - good selection of channels.

Room Tip: Poolside studios, or 1 to 2 bedroom apartments - all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Recently returned from a 13 night stay at Baan Souy Resort. The complex is very well run and all rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable and modern furnishings. We had a balcony studio and consider it was well worth that little extra as the room was huge, and gave us that little bit more privacy than one of the pool side rooms. The breakfast was excellent and cooked fresh to order, either in the restaurant or delivered to your room or poolside to dine. The staff where very friendly and the quality of the service at Baan Souy is excellent. We ate in the Restaurant a couple of evenings and the choice of menu and the quality of food was first class. Whilst we have previously only ever stayed in larger 5 star hotels at the North Pattaya Beach area, we read the reviews on Baan Souy and at half the cost had nothing to loose. We did however gain some great friends, enjoyed everyone's company, and can't believe how lucky we where to have found Baan Souy. It truly made our holiday more enjoyable and we have already booked a return stay in March next year and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well equipped, but would recommend a balcony suite to anyone who prefers a more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A great little resort in a quiet soi half way between Pattaya and Jomtien: a great place to unwind or to escape the madness of the city. Jim the owner used to run a guest house and raunchy bar in the centre for many years, but has now created something entirely different - a little paradise built around a delightful pool and lush garden, with its own decent restaurant and pool bar. . The spacious rooms have everything you need and are good value at the price.
It's a great base but also great for just lounging around, chatting to the staff and other guests, or what you will.
The staff are extremely friendly and efficient. There's a very carefree and hassle free atmosphere, where anything goes. It's particularly a place for gay and gay-friendly guests. I've stayed here a few times since it opened and now probably wouldn't stay anywhere else. I came across many guests who have stayed time and again and some who stayed for months. It's just a few minutes on the songthaew (or you can book the resort's own tuk tuk for 50B pp) to Jomtien beach or

Room Tip: I favour the pool rooms - direct access to the pool but they are set back with their own little spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I had 4 nights and days at Baan Souy Resort recently, and I have to say they were the most relaxing, fun filled Days of my busy year..Apart from a few wrong orders in the Cafe the staff were excellent,friendly and helpful.. The Gardens and pool area are beautiful and inviteing, The rooms spacious and beautifully furnished. By day either on the roof top terrace sunbathing or by the pool eating and drinking or just chatting to very friendly strangers , every minute is a delight. At night a drink at the pool bar with friends or Madam Jim, a wonderful host, is a great way to start any evening excursion out into the glare of "in your face Pattaya." I strongly advise a visit and stay. You will have the best time with no regrets., Ken Smith. Creative Director, Tiffanys Show, Pattaya.

Room Tip: Near or facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Have just stayed at baan souy and the word amazing keeps coming to mind!. Manager Jim & all of his amazing staff made my holiday a most incredibly fun time. After staying at baan souy I would never stay at another hotel in Pattaya . All I can say is thank you all so much .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrringmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.8 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#3 of 447 in Pattaya
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Viman Resort
Le Viman Resort
#2 of 447 in Pattaya
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tara Court Hotel
Tara Court Hotel
#17 of 447 in Pattaya
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#23 of 447 in Pattaya
1,082 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Souy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Souy Apartments

Property: Baan Souy Apartments
Address: 308/3 Moo 10, Soi 15 Thappraya Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 493 Speciality Lodging in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Souy Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Souy Apartments offer luxury Suites and Apartments designed for the discerning traveller who wants to rejuvenate body and soul.Our Luxury Accommodation features Stylish Thai Decor with the comforts of International Standards in a Lush Tropical Garden Setting.Whether you are looking for relaxation, action, sightseeing or adventure we can help you find the experience you want.With plenty of action and friends to be found, Pattaya is a popular place for those seeking fun in the sun.Baan Souy Resort is a Perfect Tranquil Exotic Hideaway where our discreet staff is encouraged to ensure expectations are satisfied and always with a smile: no request is too small or large.The Only Place to Stay and Play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Souy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing