We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amari Nova Suites Pattaya(Pattaya)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Pattaya(Pattaya)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rabbit Resort Pattaya(Pattaya)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya(Pattaya)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Golden Sea Pattaya(Pattaya)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$328
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
656
314
126
52
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
314
126
52
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suiteinfinity poolprivate beachsea viewpanorama restaurantmain gateindian restauranttennis courtsshuttle buspattaya townwalking streetsitting areabig hotelrestaurants and barsshuttle servicekids clubbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I just completed my 5 day stay at the Royal Cliff Beach Hotel and had a wonderful time. My seaview room was impeccably clean with stunning views of ocean and pools, the breakfast buffet offered a wide selection, and the hotel staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and will definately come back here when in Pattaya!

Room Tip: Sea view room offers pool and beach views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Cliff. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself at our resort. Your kind words give all of us the motivation to continually improve our service level.

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best wishes,

Joachim Grill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We booked the Royal Cliff Beach Hotel at very short notice to stay for a week end. After avoiding Pattaya for many years of travelling to Thailand, we were somewhat apprehensive of what to expect. However, the hotel was a very good find and a most pleasant surprise . The view from our top floor mini suite was superb and spanned the entire bay. The sun sets were spectacular and after dark the lights of the fishing boats looked like a garland of lanterns across the sea. The staff we encountered were very helpful, efficient and well mannered. Every request was dealt with very well. On every single occasion when we asked for direction to a venue, we were escorted personally. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble. We both remarked that this level of service reminded us of the Peninsula Hotel in Bangkok. The sports facilities were very good as were the various pools, especially the infinity pool with its well designed layered sun decks. There were always plenty of sun beds available as well as pool staff to arrange umbrellas if needed. We tried different restaurants in the three hotels, one formal, one beach terrace and the big Saturday barbecue , all three made for an enjoyable experience. The breakfast service was also nice with plenty of table choice and unhurried. My husband used and liked the attached sports complex. Check in and out was swift . My only caveat would be the predominance of Russian guests, whilst most of them are fine, a small minority is not particularly considerate towards other holidaymakers. I would also like to have free WiFi available and am surprised that this is not the case at present.
However, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisabeth9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us. We take our service level very seriously. I will share your kind words with my team.

It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest.

We hope you will return to Royal Cliff in the near future.

Best wishes,

Joachim Grill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Went there recently for a convention, location is magnificent , service and food very good. The only dark point was the check out that took me close to 45 mn, not because there was a queue but because of the slow bureaucratic and inefficient organisation of work. No employee seems to do check out from A to Z but instead the work is devided between several employees who seem to do a bit each and pass the ball to the next. Instead of calling room service first to check minibar, they do that at the end. They also tried to rip me off for a call that had lasted 25 mn and wanted to charge me for 2 hours. Very unpleasant end when you have a flight to catch in Bangkok

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Cliff. We really appreciate your feedback. Please be assure that your concern were looked at and the problem you encountered will not happen again.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We hope we can get an opportunity to welcome you back to Royal Cliff.

Best wishes,

Joachim Grill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed ourselves by making use of a lot of the facilities. The Beach Hotel is Russian charter holiday territory but that wasn't an issue for us as it is the higher end of the market. Our room wasn't one of the refurbished ones (no glass wall in the bathroom etc) but that wasn't a problem as we were only in the room to sleep. The grounds, gym and pools are nice, but if you want to spend the extra money, go for the Grand or the Roayl Wing and you get access to even more facilities and they are probably a lot quieter too. The pool guys will let you sign for extra pool towels but you have to be up ealry to reserve a lounger looking out to sea.

We had no trouble walking to either Pattaya or Jomtien - 30 mins each way - and we had no trouble getting a pick-up truck at the main gates if we didn't want to walk. Breakfast was good, although I can see it being a nightmare in peak season. Free wired internet is provided, but that's standard these days. Finally, go for lunch at La Ronde - excellent value, quiet restaurant and silver service.

The only let downs were the occasional guests walking around the lobby in speedos or bikinis (never acceptable in a five star hotel - ever - but that isn't really the hotel's fault) and the variation in service quality between the restaurants.

Room Tip: Sea view or mountain view, I doubt you'll get a bad view either way.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Royal Cliff. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and the few minor issues you mentioned will be examined.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your return.

Best wishes,

Joachim Grill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Travelling through Pattaya we passed the Dusit, Hilton & Marriot and thought what have we come to, its so scruffy. Going out of town, the road suddenly changed to tree lined with flowers and no litter! Turning into the gate, we were greeted with a salute and driving up to the four Hotels we passed well kept gardens. There was a feeling of being in a safe haven.
The check-in was very smooth and we were soon shown to our sea-view mini suite on the ninth floor, newly renovated 9096 had lovely views over the Islands and the lighthouse.
From the small balcony we watched the sailing, the sunsets and a one night a spectacular fireworks display.

We enjoyed Chinese New year, with a variety of entertainment and a fantastic buffet set around the pools, there are three at the Beach Hotel. You can use the other pools in the Grand & the Fitz club and there is never a problem with towels. Simply take your little bag back to the room and it is replaced with a fresh towel every evening. If you want extra towels, just ask the lifeguard, you sign and leave these in the pool area when finished with.
Although there are plenty of beds, the Germans still went down first thing and put out their towels, one couple had three beds and eight, yes eight umberellers every morning. The Russians were even worst taking two beds each, one in shade, one in sun, rather than just moving it. Despite this, we never had a problem getting a bed & shade. Just ask the pool attendant. The Fitz club pool is much quieter and the older British guests tended to go there.
Some of them had been visiting the Royal Cliffe for between 18 and 31 years. But the Europeans are in the minority. Most people were from the Far East, Asia and Russia.

Fitz Club. The tennis courts are supurb, the gym is very well equipt, good squash courts and coaches. There is table tennis, pitch & putt golf and steam & sauna rooms. There is a small library. The childrens play room is also located here with a variety of games, a TV and a childsitter.

During our two weeks we ate in every restaurant. The service was very good from every member of staff, the quality of the food excellent and the prices reasonable for a 5* Hotel. They are some three course set menus in some restraunts, which are very good value for money. We also tried both of the Sheraton restraunts and Brunos in town. These were more expensive than Royal Cliffe. If you are going into Pattaya, its 300 baht for a taxi. Its easier to use the hotels limo service and it's the same price.

The hotel have a free shuttle bus service, but it's impossible to use as the Russians block book on their arrival. The earliest we could get on was 12th February, we were leaving on the 6th... Unfortunately, the Russian guests are the only thing that spoils the hotel. They are rude, arrogant and greedy, taking several plates of food at breakfast and leaving most of it.
Its sad when the chefs have spent time preparing & cooking and then it gets thrown away.
Their dress sense is even worse. In the Italian Rossini one evening, a girl wanted to have a meal in her swimsuit with a see-through blouse, her partener had tiny shorts and an open shirt. The staff refused and they argued for ages, they then sat sulking, making it uncomfortable for other diners. They should be given a dress code card, explaining what clothing is acceptable. We saw men walking through the lobby in thongs, not good.

Trips. Use the travel shop in the hotel to book, you get the best seats and it costs exactly
the same. Also, all the attractions put free transport on, so it saves you the cost of a taxi.
Tiffany show was very different and enjoyable. The Botanical gardens were lovely to walk round and the elephant show was great. Gem factory worth a vist to pass an hour.

Walks from the Hotel. It takes about 20 mins to walk through the harbour into Walking Street.
But get a taxi / Tut back as its uphill. The golden Buddah again is about 20 mins walk away.

Although the Hotel is on a cliffe, they have installed walkways for wheelchairs and pushchairs.
They are currently doing some renovation between the Beach & the Grand Hotels, but the noise is minimal. The Resort is privately owned by a lady. It is run by General Manager Joachim Grill, a very nice kind and caring person, whose main aim is to ensure that his guests are comfortable and happy. He sets the standard high and his staff of 1500 work very hard to achieve this for him. There is a huge conference centre and the hotel is always busy, currrently 99% full. You can book direct with reservations and they have some special offers available. We booked through Longwood travel and were very impressed with their efficiency and price. For 14 nights it was £1201 hotel + transfer £104 and car parking Manchester £40.
We spent 50,000 baht (£1000) on food and drinks. This was much cheaper than we usually pay for an all inclusive package of the same standard. We can recommend that you book the Royal Cliffe Beach Resort, or one of their other hotels if you prefer better accomodation. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The top three floors have been refurbished. The sea view side facing the Terrace has the sun all day. The opposite side sea view has the sun in the evening. The corner rooms are slightly larger.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suetaylorfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Royal Cliff and for such an excellent review. We truly appreciate your kind words. We are delighted you had a great experience with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful newly renovated rooms. Our chefs has also asked me to pass on a special thank you for your compliments about the restaurants. Your wonderful feedback is definitely an inspiration for all of us to continually set the high standards expected by all guests.

We hope we will get another opportunity to welcome both of you back to Royal Cliff. Next time you can try the rooms in The Beach Terrace. It is also newly renovated.

Best wishes,

Joachim Grill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews