We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp and depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Damp and depressing”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Firstly I must point out that I had been recommended this hotel from an elderly friend who had spent many happy stays here in the 1980’s.

On arrival to the Beach hotel (which is the oldest of the properties) my first impressions were not that great as we were met with the ugly concrete frontage of the hotel and the oil stained forecourt rather reminds you of a long service petrol station and not that of a tranquil 5 star resort hotel.

The main points to raise and possibly that need addressing by the owners are :
Damp dated carpets, the dated furniture and fittings, the concrete! Masses of concrete, The noisy and tacky breakfast area, the empty and depressed bars shops and dark coridors , the over priced drinks and snacks. The polluted and dirty beach area which actually doesn’t have a beach but a raised mass of yet more concrete.

'definatly not the 5 star resort it claims to be' a reall disappointment in Pattaya !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckystar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    286
    112
    46
    41
See reviews for
272
328
53
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel, at first, when walking into the lobby, give the impression of a high end establishment. Once arriving into the room, however, it was the details that made the stay fall apart. The safe that is now a standard in almost every hotel I have ever been too, was broken. The king size bed that was promised was two twin beds pushed together. The shower was a trip hazard, being slick and slippery, even with the provided shower shoes. Most of the light swtiches did not work, as well as the patio door lock. An alarm clock was not present, making a wake up call necessary if one wants to get up on time. The decor, however, was stylish and pleasing to the eye. There was no mistake that the room was clean and sanitary. The hotel boasts over 15 resturants and bars, most of them small and their selection even smaller. While eating in the resturant known as the Panarama, a small cafe style location with a very tacky panarama of fish over the windows, the noise was often bothersome. The phone was loud and could be heard across the whole resturant, often cutting a conversation short due to its annoying sound. Many of the other resturants around the hotel had the same problem. A gift shop located in the lower level was a joke, housing a small assorment of figurines and odd end clothes, staffed by three women who spent most of the time I was in there talking on their cell phones. The Royal Cliff Beach Hotel is a place for those who only care about getting a nights sleep before going back out into the city of Pattaya and are not looking for the hotel experience. I would give this hotel a 4/10, a clean hotel, but its attention to detail lacking greatly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

When i comes to location, i wouldn't say this is the best in town. Nothing is in a walking distance. Plus you have to walk the steps from the Hotel down to the beach. But if you're driving anyway and don't mind the steps, this Hotel is definitely worth it.

I was there with two friends. We booked a mini-suite sea-view room and was satisfied with it. The room was spacious and clean.

There were two pools (that we knew of). One of them was under renovation when we visited, but the other one near the beach was nice and quiet (though a little deep). Actually the whole hotel was very quiet as there weren't many guests when we visited.

What I particularly like about this Hotel is the staff. Staffs at most hotels in Thailand may be well-trained, but those at Royal Cliff Beach aren't just well-trained, they are GENUINELY service-minded. They made us feel very special. :)

We also loved the Thai restaurant and the Sushi bar. They served one of the best sashimi. It wasn't pricey at all compared to the quality of food and service. Outstanding.

All in all, it would be too much to say that this Hotel is a five-star. It's a bit old (but definitely not run-down). But if you're looking for a quiet beach getaway near Bangkok, then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed here for about a week in early August at the start of our Honeymoon. The staff and hotel are second to none. Simply fantastic. They could not do enough for us. The quality and choice of food was excellent. The pools etc are excellent. It was rainy season so we had some rain but this has nothing to do with the hotel. The Grill bar is worth a look. We had the best meal we have had in a long time there. Food was exceptional. You have to get a taxi to the main shopping areas etc but they are cheep approx 300TBH. Getting back is even cheaper.

On the whole it was a perfect hotel to strat off our married life. We hope to return again sometime in the future, fingers crossed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

“Love the Nature & Stay There”

Royal Cliff Beach Resort!
We decided not to visit Krabi this year. Instead, we decided to try something closer to Bangkok. Two years ago we stayed at the Sofitel Hua Hin, which was also a nice hotel. This time we chose the Royal Cliff Beach Hotel a fabulous place.
>From the moment we entered the newly refurbished lobby, I knew we were in for a treat. Besides the artistic design and magnificent vistas, we were greeted by a young lady receptionist who introduced us to the GM of the Resort who quickly made us feel like VIPs.
We had the pleasure of staying in a Theme Suite with marvelous ocean views. The facility consists of beautiful lush tropical gardens in a magnificent hillside setting. There is nothing conforming about this property, it is totally unique. A walk around the botanical grounds is an experience you will never forget.
The food in the 10 restaurants was wonderful. The Maharani Indian restaurant overlooking the water and the fulfilling breakfast buffet were all treats.
The people at the Royal Cliff made this a completely charming experience.
I won't forget the servers in the buffet who paid special attention to us. Even the bellman was special.
We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Chose this hotel as wanted to get away form Bangkok but not a huge fan of Pattaya so being isolated was a bonus.

Slightly dissapointed with the room, had a musty smell (like un aired) but nice view and good size. Liked the pool area, was pretty quite when we were there even on public holiday weekend.

Really liked the grill restaurant, excellent service and delicious food.

Although I hate the way hotels completely overcharge for drinks because there is no other option. 115 bht ++ for a coke/sprit/soda is ridiculous.....this should be rectified.

Parking was a problem because there was something on at convention centre next door.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We have stayed at a variety of 4 and 5 star hotels in Pattaya. Our usual choice was full so we decided to try the Royal Cliff Beach Hotel due to the positive reviews we read here. Well our experience of the hotel is that it is very poor value for money - with other hotels offering much better value. In a nutshell, the room itself is very nice, however soundproofing is poor and breakfast is like a messy cattle market!

The problems started before arrival. We drove to the hotel and found out that the directions they give on their website are wrong! It says something like "first turn on the left" at one point, and as we found out this is very wrong. It took two calls to the hotel for us to find the correct way. So don't follow the directions on the website!

When we arrived, I discovered that they don't have a valet service. I guess that isn't so bad (however other 4 star hotels we have stayed at in Pattaya have this service), however the car park is a really long walk from the hotel! There is a close one, but of course that is full and the guard waves you off in the direction of an underground park a long way away. The path isn't covered, so if it is raining then you are out of luck. My young son even complained about how far the carpark was from the hotel. Certainly not giving the impression of caring for the guests.

On checking in we ordered an extra bed, as our kids were in the room with us. We expected to pay more, however not 1800+ baht per night more! In other hotels the MAX we have ever been charged is 800. The hallway outside our room smelt pretty musty - like a cheap hotel! I guess it must've had water damage sometime.

The room itself was pretty nice and worth the money (excluding the extra bed cost!). However soundproofing was poor. Either the ceiling is thin or the guy upstairs had a real stomping problem. The constant "thud thud thud" actually woke me up, and kept me awake.

The hotel is not convenient to any outside shops or malls, so you are at the mercy of the prices of the hotel restaurant and drug store. They advertise a "complimentary shuttle bus" to outside malls, but it only runs about 4 times a day, starting at about 4pm! The pool is ok, but they don't supply towels at poolside. Instead they put blue towels in a bag in your room, and you have to carry them down and back again (wet) after use. We went swimming again early in the morning, and didn't have any fresh towels. We had to use the old wet ones!

Breakfast. What a mess. Basically they try and serve several hundred people all at once in a space designed for about 60 comfortably. It is so crowded you not only have to wait for a seat, but because they don't have a decent waiting system you are forced to go and look for a seat yourself, and then "hover" around the table of someone who looks like they may finish soon so that you can quickly nab that table! Then you have to wait for someone to clean it etc. With so many people you'd think they'd have fresh hot food, but all we got was cold and rubbery. Yuck. Coffee was very bitter - obviously made by someone who doesn't know how to make a good cup of joe and had put way too much coffee in (sorry - I love a good cup of coffee).

So in summary, the room inside is nice, but you get ripped off with all the other services. We had booked in for two nights, but with very poor sleep and seeing how they made money from the guests from all the extras which you are held ransom to, we checked out a day early and were happy to take our money to somewhere where we are happy to spend it. There is no way that this hotel is worth the money - and I am very surprised they have such a high ranking.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim_Grill, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback. As you have already noticed, we get a lot of very positive feedback from our guests so we will use your comments to further improve our services and facilities.

Regarding your difficulties with the directions given on our website, this is the first time we have heard of anyone having difficulty with them. We fully understand and appreciate that some of the roads in Pattaya are not always well signposted and that roads seem to be under continual maintenance which can make things a bit difficult for visitors. However, we have revised that text in the hope that it gives a more detailed direction to our future guests.

As you are already aware, the resort comprises of not one, but four hotels located within a private estate. As we do not have the same traffic/parking/space restrictions as some other hotels, our 655 space carpark is not situated directly next to the hotels. This allows our guests to enjoy the tranquility of the resort which would otherwise be ruined by traffic and pollution, a feature which has actually received positive many comments. To address this issue, we will now look to utilize our electric buggies for any guests who require assistance over this short distance.

We feel sad that you felt aggrieved at having to reuse your towels, but rest assured that we have this system in place in an aim to take greater responsibility and show consideration for environmental issues which has led us to receive a lot of positive comments and international ‘Green’ awards. All guests have the option of requesting additional towels as many of our guests regularly do. In light of your problems, we will now look to make this better known with a card to be placed in all rooms.

The breakfast buffets at our restaurants are always hugely popular with guests and consistently attracts local expat visitors which explains why it is always so busy. Rest assured, we will continue to do our best to maintain and improve our standards of service.

Thanks again for taking the time to forward your comments to us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Please do contact me if you would like to discuss any points in further detail.

Yours faithfully,

Joachim Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#12 of 447 in Pattaya
607 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#21 of 447 in Pattaya
1,609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#19 of 447 in Pattaya
1,967 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 447 in Pattaya
1,653 reviews
3.0 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#13 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#17 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#23 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 544
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vibrant and lively Royal Cliff Beach Hotel (Casual luxury) is located in the heart of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group. The hotel went through extensive renovation recently and the rooms offer IPTV solution. Providing exceptional value for money, the hotel offers a wide range of accommodation and all the benefits and facilities of a luxurious five star resort including, 11 restaurants, 5 bars, 2 health spas, Thai cooking school, fitness centre, 7 floodlit tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 7 swimming pools, kids' world, Teen lounge, exclusive beach and private catamaran. There is also a business centre equipped with the latest Apple Macs available within the resort for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Cliff Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Beach Pattaya
Hotel Royal Cliff Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing