We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourteen and counting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 465 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Friends often ask us why we holiday at the same hotel every year. Our reply is "why look elsewhere when we can enjoy the best" Each year when we return to the Royal Cliff, we are greeted with a "Welcome Home". We have now stayed there fourteen times and hopefully will add to that next November. Of the 4 connected hotels within the spacious grounds, our choice is the Grand where our usual room is set aside as are our preferred sun beds by our favourite pool. No dawn scramble to place towels on beds is necessary here, the staff place aboundant towels ready for our arrival each day. We enjoy the variety of the 10 restaurants and the multiple sporting facilities. Our favourite dining places are the Grill Room for fine dining and Breezeo's for a relaxed atmosphere to the sound of waves lapping against the sea wall. As for the buffet breakfasts: all types of cuisine are on offer with as much as you can eat. Our room is spacious with a large balcony containing 2 sun beds. The complex is well away from the hustle and bustle of Pattaya but easily reached by the Hotel's free caoch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for continuously choosing to stay at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel! We truly appreciate your wonderful review and we are delighted that you always have a great time here. I have already shared your kind words with our team.

It is always a pleasure having you staying with us.

We look forward to your 15th visit.

Warm wishes,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

The place is huge just like what my fellow trip advisor said. The rooms were nice too and had that oriental feel. We were there for 3 nites to attend a convention held at the nearby convention center. Everything was perfect except for the service at the hotel's thai restaurant which was also where everyone had breakfast. Spoons and forks were dirty. Service was exeedingly slow when we had dinner there. The servers had us using dirty placemats. I guess the staff just wasn't up to the number of people eating there.

At least, when you get back to your room and settle down to the gorgeous view of the sea in your balcony, you can forget the awful service till next breakfast.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank butterscotchQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments about the resort.

We apologise for our below par service standard during breakfast. Steps have already been taken to improve on this. Rest assured that our breakfast is operating normally and future guests will be treated with the best service. They will get the 5 star service which means clean plates, cutlery and napkins.

We hope you will consider returning to us to see how your feedback has contributed in making our service better.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Grand 5 star convention hotel. Big spacious grounds with all amenities. Probably cost a bomb but I was an invited conference guest so the costs were invisible to me. Room was uber-comfortable and clean. Wifi was free and fast in the room and public areas. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Service was typically Thai....gracious and gentle. I had great views of the bay from my room on the 8th floor.

Not much to complain about, except....

The hotel is set into a large resort complex, with a number of other large hotels. Because of this isolation, security is pretty good, and you don't see much of the sleazy crowd from downtown Pattaya. Problem is you will be quite far from the cheap and good street food. The hotel provides a free shuttle downtown but that strangely stops before dinner time. If you catch a tuktuk down to town it costs 200-300bahts one way. It is worth it if you are travelling in a group to tuktuk downtown and sample the really nice food.

Other problem is that the grounds are plagued with mosquitoes in the evening. This was particularly disappointing for a 5 star hotel especially as the area is dengue and malaria endemic.

The hotel gets only 4 stars from me because of the mosquito problem.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments and feedback.
We are delighted that we were able to impress you with our services, amenities and restaurants. I have already shared your comments to my team. They truly appreciate it.

Guests' happiness is our top priority so we take all feedback seriously. Thank you for your contribution so that we can use it to improve the hotel. I am please to let you know that we have plans to extend the operation time of our shuttle bus service. It will now be available for after dinner. As for the mosquitoes we will invest in a new technology to repel them away from the hotel grounds.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best wishes,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I just love this place. I recommend staying at the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, which is adjacent to the main building but is a complete luxury hotel in its own right. It is much quieter than the main Royal Cliff Beach hotel and has virtually no children, so it is quiet and peaceful and relaxing. Service is amazing, rooms are spacious and super clean, staff is friendly and courteous. The property is beautiful, with a fantastic health club and spa. Its location on a hill overlooking the bay and town is exquisite, with easy access to both Pattaya and Jomtien Beach. You really feel "away from it all", which can be very refreshing given the hustle and bustle of Pattaya.

Room Tip: I always stay in the Royal Cliff Grand, which is right adjacent to the main hotel but is much quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

It will be my pleasure to share your comments to the entire team and I am sure this will be a great motivation to them.

Like you most of our guests consider our location an advantage since we are away from the hustle and bustle of Pattaya, yet in proximity to the downtown area.

It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.

With Kind Regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

What a fantastic place. Here on business. It is so grand with nice and clean rooms overlooking the ocean. Food and service are top-notch. If it weren't so far from home it would be the perfect vacation. This is a must see place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigsteelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your recent stay at Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are impressed by the hotel size and facilities.

Whenever you return to Thailand please do think of returning to us. We are always adding new amenities to give every returning guests something new to experience.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Located on high ground overlooking the sea and next to the beach, this is an old but comfortable and spacious hotel. Tucked away from the main tourist area but close enough to be reachable in just a 5 minutes by a tuk tuk ride down the hill, Royal Cliff is a good business hotel with a big convention facility (walking distance from the hotel).

The rooms are spacious and I particularly like the bathroom which is spacious and clean. Another nice surprise was the outdoor shower at the balcony. The pool area is fabulous for a night out with family or friends and a great place to have a poolside corporate dinner! High quality food was served and I especially enjoyed the sashimis and the seafood. The noodles were also delicious! (Buffet style dinner)

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms get the sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventuredino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about Royal Cliff to other travelers. We really appreciate your compliments.

We are delighted to hear that you liked our rooms, restaurants and overall amenities.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return to Royal Cliff Grand Hotel!

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I had stayed at this hotel in 2 separate ocassions before now. Boy...have they gone down hill.

The Good:
Big hotel, very spacious, shuttles for going round the complex, friendly staff (see also below).

The Bad:
Takes TOO LONG to check in - 25 min!!! The lady who checked us in was on the phone a lot to someone about our booking, told us to take a seat in the lobby, and then just kept coming back and forth ---- wasting time.

The service at the Thai restaurant isn't any faster either. When we were there, there were only 3 tables. I cannot even begin to image what it would be like if they had a full house. If you went there for lunch, you might end up having dinner instead. So...leave yourself twice as much time for anything you want to do here.

Most staff can barely speak a word of English (front desk is better but only in 'relative' terms).

An example:
Just this morning I asked for prawn congee at the counter but the girl said there were any. So you can see how puzzled I was when I saw a bowl of succulent prawns on the counter top. She didn't understand a word I said so she called for someone else. He did not understand the word 'prawn' either (even though the sign in front of me says so). I then told him 'shrimp' instead and he gets it. Wow...I finally got it. In their terrible English, they thought I said 'pork', which there wasn't any. Their pronunication is so terrible, and they make the word sounds like 'pawn' or, worse still, 'porn'. ^_^

The breakfast is of the lowest quality of any hotel that I have ever stayed at.

One more thing - they did say no sleeveless top for men to enter restaurants and yet they let all those Russians in at breakfast in the morning. I remember being turned back a few years back of this. I had even checked with the front desk staff the night before and he confirmed this was the case. So....

Overall, the hotel is fine but the quality of staff just getting so much worse than what they were like the last time I came.

Will I come back here for the fourth time? Probably not, given the overall experience that we had this time around. Next time I will stay at the Hilton for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings! Rhank you for choosing Royal Cliff Hotels Group on your recent visit to Pattaya.

We also thank you for your time to share your feedback because it provides an opportunity for improvement.

I was happy to read your positive remarks about the hotel facilities and friendly staff.

However we are deeply saddened to know that we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your comments on the slow check in, restaurant service and
the breakfast have been shared with the heads of department concerned. They have already taken the necessary measures in order to fix those areas.

Further, we are glad to share with you that that we have invested heavily in training (amongst others – English) and can assure you that on your next visit you will get to experience the "true Royal Cliff hospitality".

We appreciate you alerting us on these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance whenever you return to Pattaya. We can guarantee a much better experience.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#24 of 465 in Pattaya
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
1.8 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#16 of 465 in Pattaya
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
#1 of 465 in Pattaya
388 reviews
3.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
1.4 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 465 in Pattaya
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Grand Hotel

Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#15 Family Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: £85 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern architectural wonder, the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel (formal luxury) fulfills every expectation implied by its name, from the sweeping curves of its sea-facing balconies to the impressive atrium lobby. Its beautifully landscaped area, infinity edge swimming pool and sun decks are for the exclusive use of the hotel's guests. The hotel has just gone through a major upgrade in 2015 and has added many new facilities including a cigar lounge. Furthermore the hotel offers the sophisticated business travelers with state of the art technology and business center suites. All the rooms and suites are equipped with IPTV solution and balcony so all guests can enjoy the breathtaking view. Finally you are always connected staying at the Grand Hotel as fast Wifi is offered free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Cliff Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Grand Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing