We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel away from the hussle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel away from the hussle and bustle”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Attending a function there over the weekend we decided to make a weekend of it, and though not cheap for the area it was pretty good overall.

Booked a Sea View Club Room, which had a stunning view of the bay, the room was furnished very nicely, but not particularly large. The air conditioning, though set at an appropriate temperature, left condensation on the windows and made the walls, floor and our clothing damp.

The resort has a number of pools, we actually preferred the infinity pool which was located at another hotel on the site, so a fair trek.

Breakfast was not available in our building, or included in the price, so we had to walk to another building, the breakfast buffet was ample but fairly expensive, and the dining room was very crowded, we didn't bother with breakfast on our second day as it was just too crowded and not particularly good value.

Because the resort is out of the way we ate there on our first night, the Breezeo restaurant was located nearly on the beach and served very nice sea food, again fairly expensive for the area but probably what you would expect in this class of hotel, and taking into consideration that due to it's location the guests are pretty much a captive market. Whilst the food was good the hotel was let down by some of the staff, the restaurant wasn't really busy but we had to chase staff to take our order and deliver our drinks order which was resting on the bar whilst one guy was so engrossed in a television programme that we couldn't get his attention and two waitresses were attending to each others hair.

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi to guests but the offer is hidden, it's not mentioned in the information books, you have to specifically ask for free Wi-Fi at Reception and they will guide you through the process.

All in all not a bad hotel and we will probably stay there again, but they let themselves down in some areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuaHinGovernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and for choosing to stay at Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

It makes us all happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the swimming pools and the view.

Your feedback are most valuable to us as it assist us to continually improve.
I was deeply saddened to hear about the service issues, however because of your comments we were able to address those short comings immediately. I have spoken to the staff and the manager at Breezeo. They have promised to be more attentive to customers.

Let me ensure you that what you experienced is not the actual level of service (and quality) provided at Royal Cliff Hotels Group. Actually, many outstanding guest comments and the 145 plus awards we achieved are indicative of the level we operate.

We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and I look forward to welcome you back for another stay at Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best regards,

Robert Schnabel

Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    122
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
132
225
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A really vast, ornate hotel with a private beach as well as a lovely swimming pool. The food in the restaurant is served with such incredible carved vegetables, I didn't even feel weird taking a picture of my food. I visited for a conference and it really does make for a fabulous venue. There are a few flaws, with just how far the hotel is from the actual city centre; you can't walk it in the heat since it's at the top of a steep hill. Second, the private beach was incredibly crowded with inappropriately-clad Russian women. Overweight women in bikini tops and thongs whose saggy bottoms (and other bits) seemed to make it into every one of the holiday snaps I took. I understand February is not a good time to hang out in Russia, but not everyone wants to see everything Russian hanging out at the beach they paid a fortune to lounge on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibianaBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your lovely comments to other travelers.

It certainly feels good when the superior products and services of Royal Cliff Hotels Group gets authenticated by our valued guest.

I was very happy to read that you liked the restaurants, the food and the swimming pools.

Clean, comfort and convenience are the areas we strive for perfection at Royal Cliff.
We aim to offer exclusive and personalized service to everyone.

My chefs were very happy when I shared with them your compliments.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return to the State of Exclusivity & Fascination.

Warm regards,

Robert Schnabel

Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is part of a massive complex with many facilities and excellent restaurants. The view of the ocean from my very comfortable room was amazing. I enjoyed the excellent breakfast selection; I ate dinner with colleagues at the same restaurant a couple of times (Larn Thong I think it is called), which serves a limited, but very tasty selection of Thai food. I also enjoyed a very pleasant meal at Breezeo with a friend. The swimming pool is big enough for decent exercise, and the beach is easily accessible. My only complaint is that the town centre is a bit far to walk and the hotel shuttle is more expensive than a private taxi, which we would use for the return trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your lovely comments to other travelers.

It certainly feels good when the superior products and services of Royal Cliff Hotels Group gets authenticated by our valued guest.

I was very happy to read that you liked the room, the swimming pools, the beach and our restaurants “Larn Thong and Breezeo”.

Our chefs were very happy when I shared with them your compliments.

About your comment on our shuttle bus service we have compared it to the price of the taxis and it is in line with it. With our shuttle bus we can guarantee comfort and safety of each trip. Anyhow we will look into this matter.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return to the State of Exclusivity & Fascination.

Warm regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran Province, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

It was the second time I booked this hotel.
This hotel is a good combination of modern atmosphere and natural enviroment.
The sea side room with a good architecture balconey is a good place for relaxation.
Actually, I have upgraded to "royal sea view grand" room, which was very nice although the "club sea view" rooms was nice too.
I used to eat and drink in the Breezeo resturant which is next to the sea with a good view and delicious foods.Although Breezeo is apart of a 5 star hotel, but it was not expensive indeed.
The sport club was in a seprated building inside the garden(like a forest) and it's facilities was satisfying.
Hotel is a little far from the noisy city and it was a good opportunity for me to be far from a noisy city. Although you can take taxi or motorbike from the main entrance of the hotel.
I used to take motorbike taxis because of the city traffic.
I wish to come back "Royal cliff Grand hotel" again...

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pashan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was so great to welcome you back for the second time.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
We are so happy to hear that you liked the hotel architecture, the sea-view and the facilities within the resort. I have passed on your positive feedback to the entire team. My chef was delighted to learn you enjoyed dining at Breezeo. We try to keep our prices in line with the restaurants downtown so that guests do not have to venture into Pattaya city. Our kitchen team are always staying innovative and coming up with new menus.


We also wish that you will return to us. It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best wishes,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
200 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place in pataya is too good. Huge property....beautiful site...great rooms and perfect service...

the highlight is actually close to 3-4 pool and view by the beach side...

centrally located and very close from major spots of attractions...

We had gone there with over 200 people from my office and it was managed very well....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments. Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you had an amazing time with us. I have already passed on your kind words to all our staff. They are truly grateful and appreciated you acknowledged their hard work.

We also were very happy to read that you liked the room, the swimming pools of the hotel.

We aim to offer exclusive and personalized service to everyone.

It was a pleasure to have you and your colleagues as our guests.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned after a wonderful 2 week holiday in the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, the room was great and the views superb. All the staff were excellent, friendly and could not do enough for us. The hotel location is perfect, the grounds extensive and well kept, pool areas never overcrowded and plenty of sunbeds.
We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your compliments about your recent visit.

It certainly feels good when our guests comments with “we will definitely be going back”.

We were also very happy to read that you liked the room, service, location and swimming pool areas of the hotel.

Feedback like yours is making a difference to motivate our team and to keep up with the unparalleled service we strive to provide.

It was pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Seems a bit tired. Level of service is ok, but you´re missing that little extra Thai feel.

My room was large and the sea view from the balcony was amazing! Room is stocked with 4 complimentary water bottles a day. Nice touch.
Room in general, and the bathroom was in need of a little attention.
The drain in my shower was not working properly, meaning that after two minutes of showering, I would have water all over the floor. Asked hotel staff to fix it – never happened.

Breakfast was ok, but I definitely expected more from a 5-star hotel in Thailand.

The main pool area has a great ambience and breathtaking views over the sea.

WIFI was free – for one unit at the time and the connection was very poor. A better connection was available against a fee.

I know the hotel is being renovated, so my comments on the room, may no longer be valid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very for staying with us last year.

We are happy to read that you liked our hotel, service and view.

You are pleased to let you know that a lot of renovation has happened since the last time you stayed. We now have many new facilities and upgraded various section of the property. We have renovated over 40 rooms now named Grand Sea-view plus. This room type is a modern contemporary design. It is the perfect retreat for the new generation travelers.

For the rest of the Club Sea-view rooms we will finish it this year.

We have invested in staff training in all areas. We have also installed a new system so that we can offer high speed Wifi to guests and now multiple devices can be connected at the same time.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest

We hope you consider returning so you can witness the new changes to the property.

With best regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 447 in Pattaya
1,075 reviews
3.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 447 in Pattaya
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
#1 of 447 in Pattaya
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 447 in Pattaya
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Grand Hotel

Property: Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#16 Family Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern architectural wonder, the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel (formal luxury) fulfills every expectation implied by its name, from the sweeping curves of its sea-facing balconies to the impressive atrium lobby. Its beautifully landscaped area, infinity edge swimming pool and sun decks are for the exclusive use of the hotel's guests. The hotel has just gone through a major upgrade in 2015 and has added many new facilities including a cigar lounge. Furthermore the hotel offers the sophisticated business travelers with state of the art technology and business center suites. All the rooms and suites are equipped with IPTV solution and balcony so all guests can enjoy the breathtaking view. Finally you are always connected staying at the Grand Hotel as fast Wifi is offered free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Cliff Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Grand Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing