We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoidable property” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunshine Garden Resort
Ranked #121 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoidable property”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

After staying at very nice resort in Phuket at almost similar price, you expect a little better resort. Rooms are real stinky. Very old and not properly managed property. After long waiting time at reception, they provide you a room which is almost 5 minutes walk from a zigzag corridors and very hard to find. Also, no staff is there to carry your luggage so you have a little workout session while you fetch your room. On the way to your room you see long dark corridor which has a very odd stinky smell. Finally, reaching at room you see 2 single beds for a couple. So again a short hike to reception and explain them the situation. English is not preferred language for them and you find hard time to make them understand your problem. Only thing I like about the Resort was the Pool which was quite okay. Morning breakfast is also pathetic.
Better go for much newer and well maintained resorts for little more price.

Room Tip: No room is good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 466varunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-SHR, General Manager at Sunshine Garden Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear 466varunp,

To start with a big thank you for staying with us for 2 nights during your travelling through beautiful Thailand, and as well for spending your time to give us your thoughts and feedback.
Unfortunately we could not meet up to your expectations, however we hope to welcome you again as a guest in our quiet and peaceful Resort , just minutes away from the beach and the beginning of Beach Road in Pattaya where the night life starts.
During our daily meeting your points have been brought up and, as you have read in other replies as well, we planned a complete renovation starting early next year.
Since a while all corridors are lighted continuously to their fullest capacity as a convenience for our guests.
A big thank you for valuing our pool area, it is a lovely oasis of peace indeed according our guests. For escorting our guests to their rooms and to take care of their luggage we do have bell boys available, unfortunately all of them must have been busy on the moment of your arrival and I do apologize for letting you carry your own luggage. English is, as in many more countries, not the first language in Thailand and I am sorry that you had to make an effort. We have English classes for our team, trying to improve communication and to be of better service towards our guests. We always try our outmost best to reserve the type of rooms marked on our confirmations when it comes to twin bedded or double bedded rooms, after having gone through your booking it was not clear for our Front Office which type of room to reserve for your stay with us and a choice needed to be made since we were fully booked on your day of arrival.
A new Management Team has been brought in and knowing that we will have a renovation early next year to update and improve our Resort, I would like to mention again that it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Resort.

Best personal regards,

Luciano Lillus
General Manager Sunshine Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    152
    73
    26
    23
See reviews for
87
99
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This really is an awful hotel. We have just spent 16 days here and will never go back! The air con does not work efficiently, neither does the hot water. The furniture is really old and unloved. The smell of cigarette smoke in our room lingered for three days. The corridors were very dark and very dirty, with cleaners trolleys on every landing, spare fold up beds and mattresses littered the corridors along with old shopping trolleys.

The poolside sun bed looked as if they were never cleaned. The prices of drinks compared to outside were very expensive. Staff were polite though.

We asked about booking trips and were told not for English! We had to book in the booths in the streets.

Pattaya itself was a mix of rundown and closed up buildings juxtaposed with modern shops and hotels, very smelly and dirty.

The worst part about the hotel was the seediness groups of 3 and 4 old men sharing one (underage) Thai girl between them it was disgusting. I am not a prude but to see these fat ugly old men with these beautiful youngs girls makes your stomach churn and all this was displayed around the poolside in this hotel.

And to top it all we were there for the Typhoon and had to wade home from Walking st in rainwater up to our knees dodging sewage because the sewer lines had collapsed. It rained for 11 out of 16 days.

Room Tip: Well I wouldnt know which rooms are better as I did not see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbiedonutKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-SHR, Manager at Sunshine Garden Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear DebbiedonutKent,

Thanks so much for staying with us.

A thank you as well for giving us your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sunshine Garden Resort, we value your opinion as our guest very much and we are sorry to hear that your stay with us and your choice for Pattaya was not after your expectations.
We brought up your mentioned remarks during our daily meetings and regarding your remarks about the housekeeping trolleys, sun beds, light in corridors and 'misunderstandings during the booking of trips, measurements of improvement are made and implemented, included English classes for an even better understanding of guests requests. We do have a 'non smoking' policy in the rooms, unfortunately it seems that there might have been a guest ignoring the non smoking signs in the rooms since we do have a special smoking area in the Resort for smoking guests. You mentioned in your posting that a visitor ,according your point of view seemed to be 'under aged. I would strongly stress and clear the fact that it is our policy that a person from outside the hotel and joining hotel guests MUST register at the reception desk before entering the resort and an Identification Card MUST be handed over for registration! NO UNDERAGED accompanying persons are allowed into the resort!
Further, as a resort we can never compete with super markets when it comes to prices for the same brand or product. However having seen and knowing the prices asked in other hotels and resorts here in Pattaya, our prices are more than reasonable and for sure lower than most of the other establishments.
It has been a shame indeed to read that even the Weather Gods were not acting in your favor during your stay in Pattaya but I am sure you understand that there are as well factors which are out of our hands to control.
Thanks again so much for staying with us and for giving us the opportunity to improve our service by giving us your feedback.

Best personal regards,
Luciano Lillus
General Manager
sunshine Hotels & resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pattaya hotels

Salt Lake City, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

we stayed there for 1 night on Oct 16th . The rooms are ok , furniture are old but still livable.
The Location is a nice one with regular conveyance available to different parts of the city . Beach is just 5 min walk away. was not impressed with the cleanliness of the stair cases, corridor , balcony , pool area.

since we were only for 1 day and we returned very late in the night from Walking Street adventure. we were lucky not to spend more time in the room .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyabrat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-SHR, General Manager at Sunshine Garden Resort, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Mr. Priyabat12,

to start with, thank you very much for spending one night with us at the Sushine Garden Resort and my appologies that our hotel was not living up completely towards your expectations.
Thanks so much as well for spending your time and giving us your high appreciated feedback regarding your stay with us in our Sunshine Garden Resort.

Your reply is very important to us and the points you have brought forward have been discussed, resulting in an even better inspection process which has been implemented immediately so that we can react more quickly to keep our areas all the time as clean as possible.
In order to give our guests more comfort and improved services, we planned our renovation for early next year, giving our Resort a complete new face when it comes to interior and exterior, of course furniture included,
We look forward to welcome you again in our Sunshine Garden Resort during your next stay in Pattaya, hopefully that time for a longer stay.

Best personal regards,
Luciano Lillus
General Manager
Sunshine Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have just returned from the Sunshine Gardens Hotel in Pattaya after experiencing the worst 10 day holiday of my life. I do not say this lightly but this hotel can only be described as absolutely awful. I arrived early evening and was escorted down a dark and dingy corridor which was barely lit, to my room, which although quiet large looked as though it needed a complete makeover, the furniture was very old the bed was as hard as nails, and the bathroom was very dark. I attempted a shower only to find NO HOT WATER and despite my protestations it remained like this for the whole 10 DAYS!
The staff although not rude certainly did not put themselves out, the room service was a disgrace and the charges for laundry were exhorbitant ie £11.00 for 8 items.
I noticed food left by the swimming pool left untouched for two whole days, but the worst thing of all was to return to my room at dusk to see the biggest RAT I have ever seen running down the INSIDE perimeter wall by my room. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN!!
The air conditioner control did not work properly and I struggled to get a replacement from the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAWRENCE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WouterBanning, General Manager at Sunshine Garden Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Laurence J.
First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sunshine Garden Resort.
Our morning management meeting now start by looking at guest reviews, guest comments as well as any comments given to our front desk.
Recently we have initiated new measures to have a much stronger focus on guest satisfaction, deliver the requested holiday feeling and ensure our internal processes work correctly.
While we have booked some progress, your experience in our resort shows that we are not there yet..
The controls and internal communication will be improved drastically to ensure that any comments given by a guest are acted on immediately and to the satisfaction of the guest.
We are planning to start renovating our resort after April 2014.
We will check the corridor lighting more carefully and ensure that the lights are all working.
Our management and duty management will be instructed to ensure our service standards, which include removing used plates and glasses from the pool, are met or preferably exceeded.
As for the rat, we have ecologically friendly preventative measures in place to keep them away, However, we are not a closed Hotel/Apartment building but an open resort, with a lot of greenery and as such our systems can never be 100% foolproof to guarantee that no rodents will be present. We will ask for a total property review of our current measures in place with our pest control company and see what suggestions for improvements they have.
I have sent a private message to you.
Best regards,
Wouter Banning
Group General Manager
Sunshine Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

What I liked most about this resort was the location. There are lots and lots of places to eat around this resort and couple of good night markets too . If you are willing to walk a bit , there is absolutely no need of a car.

We stayed in the superior Bungalow and it was nice. The rooms were not too large , but just about enough for two. The bathrooms were average though! Not dirty - just a tad bit small.

The staff were a polite and courteous . Overall a nice stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anishatrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A car is no need if you stay at Subnshine garden. Right in the middle of Pattaya circle you can go around pattaya by local bus (Songtaew) which stop in front of the resort every 3 minutes. Even it's not a beach resort but the beach is just 5 minutes away. During my Birthday stay Khun Thanet was kind enough to offer an upgrading to deluxe room so we gained extra space in the living area. If you love cats this is the place for you. Don't be afraid they are lovely and won't bother you at all. The property is actually a bit aging but staffs were friendly and efficient. You can also walk through Green Park, it' sister hotel nearby. Breakfast is OK. Overall is value for money.

Room Tip: Choose dowstair room if you love daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaencwm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a part of the package holidays. Cheap hotel with lots of Russians staying in. Beds are hard as you expect in Asian lower end hotels. Towels changed every day, but they are old and grey. Great location and easy to find. You have to pay for Internet, 50 Baht per half an hour. Tried to charge us twice for using minibar in room, make sure you ask for copy of receipt and keep it until you check out. Lots of Mosquitos at night, so make sure you use repellant if sitting on balcony. Seen a rat outside the room, but again, lots of them in Asia. Found content of someone's nose on outside door handle of my room one morning, but I can't really blame hotel for this.Nothing to shout about, wouldn't stay there again. Can't really complain because we used this hotel as base to travel around Thailand and it served its purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.6 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#60 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunshine Hotel & Residences
1.3 mi away
Loma Resort & Spa
Loma Resort & Spa
#123 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Bella Pattaya
Best Bella Pattaya
#58 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Beach Garden Resort Pattaya
1.6 mi away
Ibis Pattaya
Ibis Pattaya
#37 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Garden Resort

Property: Sunshine Garden Resort
Address: 240/3 Moo 5 North Pattaya Circle, Pattaya City, Chonburi, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Garden Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Garden Hotel Pattaya
Sunshine Garden Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing