We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richman Poorman the place to stay on Jomtien Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richman Poorman Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 561 Pattaya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Looking for somewhere that is relaxing, clean, fun, and owned and run by great people?
Look no further. This guest house offers all of the above. A lot of the local expats tend to hang out here. And it's no wonder when you have the likes of Eddie (the owner) who has a great sense of humor, and not bad in the galley either, introduces you to the local visitors.
If it's your first to Pattaya do your self a favor and check out Richman Poorman Guesthouse on Jomtien beach. Walk across the road to the beach, or kick back and relax with Eddie and the staff.
Not sure of where to go, or what's happening in the district?
These guys are only too happy to point you in the right direct.

I know where I will stay next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Richman Poorman Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed again at the Rich Man Poor Man hotel. Just a great place right by the beach in Jomtien. Great foods, excellent service from friendly staff, and the rooms are kept to a high standard for the price range of this size hotel. Plenty of wall sockets for charging your Kindle, mobile phone, E-cig batteries, laptop, notebook, etc. All freshly painted, new flat screen TVs, comfortable large bed, hot water shower, and clean as a whistle as they say. Great Air Con with wall fan too. Ed the owner and his wife are wonderful proprietors who ensure you have whatever you need to have a nice stay. If you like to golf Ed is the man to see to set up your day on the links as well. Love the menu and they have some great fresh breads and pastries for sale now as well. I'll be back in July. Can't say enough good things about the Rich Man Poor Man. - Mike (originally from Boston) from Surin

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The restaurant is okay. Location is good. But rooms are dirty and the advertised price wasnt anything close to what we paid, on a weekday too! Dishonest sales lady that tried to jack up the rate. Not sure why, but renters beware.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janine_iglesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

As far as Jomtien Beach goes, this is by far the best place in town for American cuisine. The owner can be a bit gruff, coming from the Northeast, but he'll make sure you are taken care of as long as you're not a trouble-maker.

Breakfast, lunch or dinner, you can't go wrong. All are great and the selection and service are superb.

I like to eat at various places when I stay in an area but to be honest I couldn't find anyplace that could compete with Richman Poorman when it comes to food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

An excellent place to eat. I did not stay there but had breakfast regularly and some dinners. The food, though slightly more expensive than other places, was always first class and the service friendly and quick.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is my first visit to Pattaya and I have to say I was a little apprehensive, However the welcome and support from the staff at Richman Poorman made all the difference, My room was large, clean, bright and comfortable with a cross breeze from windows on two sides. The location right on the beach and out of the downtown crowds was just right for me. The coffee shop and Seaside Breezy Hotel Seafood restaurant (I think that was the name.) nearby were perfect places for breakfast and supper. The motor taxis right at the door made going downtown an adventure and added just enough "living dangerously" to make my trip fun. I wasn't looking for the Ritz, I wanted comfort and a sense of security and I found it here.

Room Tip: I think I had the best room in the house. Top floor, room 53. (But not for people with a problem wit...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowthanku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I discovered Richman Poorman in Pattaya about 8 months ago. I am now a regular customer and eating there at least 6 times a week. If you want good fresh North American food. Comfort food. Try it. Every meal is made fresh and individually. I have never had a bad meal here. I recently had a friend stay in the guest house as well. he was very happpy with the budget style rooms. He said very clean and the staff really took good care of him.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.4 mi away
Jomtien Boathouse
Jomtien Boathouse
#153 of 458 in Pattaya
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn Residence
Inn Residence
#160 of 458 in Pattaya
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chang Charlie Inn
Chang Charlie Inn
#273 of 458 in Pattaya
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Panchalae Boutique Residences
0.1 mi away
Sun Sky Resort
Sun Sky Resort
#6 of 48 in Jomtien Beach
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jomtien Beach Penthouses
Jomtien Beach Penthouses
#19 of 512 in Pattaya
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richman Poorman Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richman Poorman Guesthouse

Address: Corner Beach Road Soi 9,Jomtien, Pattaya, Pattaya 20250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 561 B&Bs / Inns in Pattaya
Price Range: £12 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richman Poorman Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Richman Poorman Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing