We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and attentive staff. ”

Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,624 Restaurants in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £2 - £7
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: International vegetarian kitchen, j or vegan. Many specialities like for example, original Italian vegetarian seafood pizza or risotto con fungi or saffron. New are Swiss Rosti and pancakes different styles. Indonesian Tempe can be ordered as sate, in some curries as well as in pasta and spaghetti. We banned white sugar and use brown sugar very careful. Beside soy bean oil for cooking we use pure coconut oil for frying and original Italian olive oil for the salads. Monosodium glutamate (MSG), sodium benzoate, artificial colouring, high fructose corn syrup, aspartame, trans fats or other chemicals are ***not*** to be found in our kitchen. As all vegetables are from the same day’s market we don't have to cover with extreme spice. We serve moderate spicy and put fresh chilli on the table. If you like more, let us know, we categorized in chillies from zero to five. You will not find: garlic and onions. Pre order and door to door service from 11 am to 11:00 pm, daily. The restaurant exists since over twenty years; the ambience has switched to European style, white and clean.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We ordered rice with green curry, fresh spring roll and Indian curry. The green curry is so yummy and spring roll is a great appetiser...But they still can't beat the super delicious Indian curry. It is a great mix of sweaty potatoes, beans...The owner is really friendly and attentive. Her nephew is very good at English and knows his job. Lastly, vegan ice cream is a guilty pleasure. Kiwi and passion fruit flavours are a must to try. We'll go back again on our next visit to Pattaya.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank eveakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

We are happy that we could please you with our dishes. Thank you very much for this friendly comment. We hope to get you back, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 439 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I am not vegetarian nor vegan although its true Im looking sometimes for some alternative way of eating. The food there was indeed healthy and the service was good. I just expected the food to be tastier than this, since its ranked as the 2nd best place to eat in Pattaya. I understand that the taste without adding sugar, any meat and so on, should be different. but it should normally be compensated by the using of organic and mature fruits/vegetables thus with natural better taste. But there it was not the case. Just my opinion though.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank karlou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

It's seldom enough, we get a not so nice review and we didn't have only one who complained the taste.
As we don't use MSG to increase the taste nor other chemicals it might have been not enough tasty for you.
We would have wished, you would have told us at your visit in our restaurant. We wouldn't have charged you for the dish as we only take money from satisfied customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Another restaurant on the to try list based totally on Trip Advisor reviews and comments. A bit of a challenge for the taxi man, but we made it and were welcomed by the staff and seated right away.

Super clean and I must say the bathroom was immaculate. Engaged both owners in chit chat as to what to order and tried a very complete cross section of different items and all more than nice. The presentation was sharp and focused and while not a vegetarian by any means it was a nice change of pace.

Some items enjoyed more than others, but appreciated the chance to have such a diverse selection. The smoothies or drinks too were of special note.

Again the staff and owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming as they were keen to make sure their guests had a positive experience.

I will return for sure.

Jim at Maplelag in Minnesota

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maplelagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

This is a very friendly review. Wie are happy to give you the experience that vegetarian food isn't only healthy, it can be very tasty, too.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Bit dubious about finding it as was in more ethnic part of Pattaya but so glad we did. Austrian owner was courteous and informative and food was delicious. Very clean. Thoroughly recommended. We will be returning.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 729suel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We are waiting for your future visits and are very thankful for taking the time to write this friendly review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Five Star J is definitely not one of my Top 10 restaurants in Pattaya/Chonburi. Nevertheless the food is nice (also edible for meat eaters), good quality and very reasonable/low priced. Food is delivered fast and presented well. It can be a hurdle for meat eaters to enter the restaurant but it is really worth a try. Staff is very friendly, helpful, active and speak good English. The restaurant itself is not really comfy and you get no privacy but all is clean and in the end you go there for food. No dedicated parking is available but there should always be some space on Pattaya Tai or 3rd Road.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eatperimental
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We thank you for this nice review and hope we can great you again. Please be so kind to use our free parking opposite the street behind the Fairrit Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Na Chom Thian, Sattahip
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.