We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be back”
Review of Areca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Areca Lodge
Ranked #41 of 457 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

love the location.
good for nightlife people, not so much for family. like said, affordable luxury hotel.
decent nightlife is just downstairs, beach is 5 mins walk away. nearest shopping mall is almost about 5 mins walk away (if you know the shortcut)

room is clean, spacious, nice balcony.
toilet is spacious with a bath tub as well, basic toiletries provided .

free breakfast was ok, variety was minimal but its free..

Room Tip: evergreen wing is the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Satyed her 26/1/12-1/2/12 we have stayed here 3 times over the past 5 years as the position & price of the hotel is very good value.

on this visit we stayed in the corona tower and the the rooms are larger & more modern ( however the balconies are still small (as they are in the original Areca Lodge) and we had to ask for another chair for the balcony ( which fitted on the balcony with a squeeze).

The cleanliness is good & the staff are very helpful & friendly , The pools are spotless and well maintained.

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.

Whist we were staying we looked at a room in the newer block (Evergreen) and the rooms were lovely and the balconies much bigger ( the air con units were not on the balcony unlike the Areca & Corona ) which makes sitting out much better as you wouldnt be blasted with warm air everytime you sat out but still wanted to leave the air con on in your room. However I think you do pay a premioum for the Evergreen ( not sure how much), but as we travel to Pattaya on a regular basis I think next time we try the Evergreen.

To summarise a good friendly, clean hotel in a central position yet far enough away not to be disturbed by the entertainment.

Walking Street is aprox 15 min walk away.

I would/will stay at the Areca again and would happily stay in any of the 3 buildings.

Room Tip: Big balcony - Evergreen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mi2ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Probably the best location in this price range, pleasant rooms, lovely friendly staff, and a great pool. The breakfast is the same as all breakfasts in that class, but a few yards down the street you can get a decent fry-up for very little money. The only drawback is that all rooms are non-smoking. Given that people rarely come to Pattaya for health reasons, it might be a good idea to sacrifice some rooms to the smoking community.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here november 2011 in the evergreen wing, rooms there are very nice, nice terrace, bathroom, looked brand new, only complaint was the breakfast, I hate cold over hard eggs and little else, bad coffee, and maybe a little overpriced

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank callao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at severel hotels in Thailand, but at Areca Lodge we have meet the most kindly hotel staff. at all.We needed some help about safetybox before mooving in the room, because we arrived very early in the morning, no problem the staff said at the counter, they called the manager, and they found us safetybox in his private room. We also asked for upgrade room, the staff tried realy hardly to move already booked room to make space and they succeed. Breakfirst is OK in relation to the price, only thing we missed was little dark bread and cheese, but is only served few places we stayed before, so no problem. We had no noise problems at all, the hotel stay a little away from the rush. Aircon wellfunction, Wi-Fi OK, we did not use the pool but look nice both of them.

Room Tip: Pool wiev is nice, but you have to ask for room with big balcony if you want to sit 2 persons outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for 5 days in the corona wing,obviously the evergreen wing is newer,and therefore nicer,however there is nothing wrong with where we stayed.It was nice and clean,with two pools which were never overcrowded.The breakfast buffet was ok,i've had better,but you should find something that you fancy.The staff were friendly and i would stay here again.As for the location,i dont think it is the ideal spot for families with young children,bearing in mind the activities that go on on the local bars,for everyone else no problem.Obviously what you pay will decide wether you think this hotel is value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabmanHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

THis is the best hotel i have stayed in in Pattaya, the location is perfect, the pool is lovely, we staying in the Corona building, the rooms were big, clean and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and eggs etc freshly cooked.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah_sadler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Pattaya
Travelodge Pattaya
#21 of 457 in Pattaya
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
LK Residence
LK Residence
#132 of 457 in Pattaya
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
#31 of 457 in Pattaya
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Pattaya
Adelphi Pattaya
#16 of 457 in Pattaya
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#22 of 457 in Pattaya
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
LK Metropole
LK Metropole
#99 of 457 in Pattaya
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Lodge

Address: 198/21, 198/23 Moo 9, Soi Diana Inn, Pattaya Sai Song Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 457 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range: £41 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Areca Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Areca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing