We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Areca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Areca Lodge
Ranked #28 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

stayed here at the areca for the first time , on august 27 thru September 9th.Had a standard room not a bad room at all only was facing other building, but room was comfortable, bed was nice.Staff was friendly and also had breakfast included, problem is after seven days breakfast was same thing would be nice to have a little more variety but good.Bad news is they are building a new condo right next door and from the back pool you only see men working and lots of noise.Will be better when done.Other thing when we checked in in order to get the price of 1300.00 baht per night we had to buy membership card which is good for one year but cost 800 baht. I had no electric water pot in room when asked at desk was told 100 baht deposit and when I checked out they told me not a deposit but fee for pot.One night I brought two guest back to my room and they charged me 500 baht for xtra guest, it did seem that they charged you for a lot of things. But is a nice hotel but may look at other options next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    471
    117
    26
    26
See reviews for
90
203
299
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Average clean hotel. The rooms are adequate. Air Conditioning is good. The Front desk are not too knowledgeable about the area and their maps are bad. My reservation was for Areca Lodge, but we ended up in the Evergreen building as we had a Super Deluxe room. The pools look nice, but close at night. The Internet is ok and the rooms have Sony LCD TVs with good programming... no HD though. The hotel was not easy to find, even by local taxis. The hotel card given by the hotel is all in English and makes no sense to the locals. I highly recommend you print out your own map. There are discos nearby and the rooms are not soundproof. We did have a nice balcony with a clothes line and 2 chairs.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor to reduce the noise from the nearby discos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thingstosell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Feels like home, the staff are by far the best in Pattaya, always very helpful and considerate. All the rooms have been upgraded now. only the bath rooms are a little dated but always very clean. Again all the Staff really try hard to make you feel welcome. Great place to stay. !!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have been refurbished now and are all clean and modern in appearance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

First thing to say if you are member of Pattaya sports club you get 10% off. I did not know you need to show the card when you check in. I booked a deluxe room marginally better,but not much,from the standard room. The superior room is worth the small extra amount.

At the momment there is building work going on next door to the hotel The work starts at about 7 am and is very noisy. I guess it will be finished in a couple of months or so.

Breakfast is included but it wasn't really to my liking.

The location is good and there isl secure car parking.

The best part was friendly helpful staff everywhere in the hotel. On the negative side the air con was not so good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scandic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Staff were lovely and helpful, with good english. The pool areas are nice, clean and relaxing. Both pools are big with lots of sunbeds! Location is good, lots of bars right outside, hotel bar is great too. Its about 5 - 10 mins to beach. A few shopping malls within walking distance too. The rooms were absolutley lovely, cannot complain. Neat and tidy, spacious, big bathroom with shower and bath. Maids are absolutley lovely, always chatty. Breakfast was amazing, so much choice and very good quality. Would definitely stay again when u return to Thailand!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mynameisnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

stayed here three times now and cant have any complaints. the staff are friendly and hard working. breakfast is good if a little early for those night owls.
one small gripe is the seating area in the lobby it is on a platform and underneath the platform there must be an enourmous mosquito breeding farm. i sat here waiting for my taxi to the airport and was eaten alive. and it has happened to me before.

Room Tip: if you are fair hair [or ginger] dont sit in the lobby area you will be eaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potter1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the Areca. The staff are very friendly and it is clean and tidy. Loved the swimming pool and fitness room.Good value for money! Would definitely stay here again, it's right in the centre of all the action!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Pattaya
Travelodge Pattaya
#23 of 449 in Pattaya
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Pattaya
Adelphi Pattaya
#13 of 449 in Pattaya
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
LK Residence
LK Residence
#130 of 449 in Pattaya
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LK Metropole
LK Metropole
#91 of 449 in Pattaya
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#48 of 449 in Pattaya
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
#29 of 449 in Pattaya
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Lodge

Property: Areca Lodge
Address: 198/21, 198/23 Moo 9, Soi Diana Inn, Pattaya Sai Song Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Areca Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Areca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing