We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel with bugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thai Garden Resort
Ranked #34 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old hotel with bugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

On the offset, the property looks decent enough. But unfortunately these are the things which turned me off the hotel:
1. Old hotel rooms - The furniture has a decidedly 80s look.
2.Bugs - Since this hotel is a "garden" resort, there were creepy-crawlies everywhere. We had some bugs in our room but I found a bug spray in the closet, indicating that this was a common problem. At night, the pathway to our room had cockroaches (the big, black ones) on it. I guess some tough nature dudes might not mind it, but I HATE ROACHES!
3. Old A/C: The old window (or was it split?) A/C took forever to start cooling and when it did, it was directed away from the bed. We ended up sleeping on the wrong end of the bed to get some cool air. And mind you, it was really hot when we landed in Pattaya.
4. No door to the bathroom - Really? Gross violation of privacy.
5. Unfriendly front desk staff - This is subjective of course, but the staff didn't seem very friendly.

The good things about this hotel:
1. The pool is big and spacious.
2. They have massage services available right at the hotel next to the pool at reasonable rates. Though it was full when we arrived and I ended up having some relaxing foot massage elsewhere.
3. Tuk-tuk right across the street takes you to 1st and 2nd road easily so location is a plus.

Overall we were very disappointed with the rooms. They did upgrade our room though when I told them we are traveling with a child and needed a King Bed, but the new "upgraded" room looked like the same room with a bigger bed so it seemed even more cramped. I don't understand how this qualifies as a 4 star property unless the other hotels are even worse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sayali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo23, Manager at Thai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.
Please let us comment on some of your points as follows:
Yes, we are a Garden Resort in Thailand, with 25.000qm of tropical gardens, which mean that in our Gardens we have quite some different kind of animals. If you don't like that, you should not book a resort. We do not have bug spray in our rooms, but mosquito spray, which is because some guest are afraid to get bitten (scared of disease such as Dengue and Malaria) like to spray to make sure that they don't have mosquito in the room. We also offer mosquito spray on our terrace tables where you can sit at the poolside and enjoy dinner in the evening. Old furniture? The rooms are furnished in Thai / Burmese Style....The air-conditions work with a compressor, which need some time (about 3min) to start after you turned on your air-condition. Also, our air conditions are equipped with all kind of settings (for example swing) which you can set as you like... it doesn't have to blow on your bed...
Gross violation of privacy in our bathrooms? Only in a Holiday Bungalow which have a open shower, but a door for the toilet.
Please note that you actually booked a Standard Room, which is located in the backside of the hotel in the second floor. Nevertheless when you arrived you have been upgraded free of charge to a Deluxe Room (B115), because this room have Twin bed and enough space for baby cot. (also have a separate bathroom with a door and therefore guarantied privacy ). Because of your request we changed your room to a Holiday Bungalow which is smaller than the Deluxe Room, have no space for an additional bed or baby cot and have no door for the shower, but it was your request....is it then fair to complain about a different style of bathroom? Also, before you moved to the new room, you checked the room and decided to move, we didn't force you to move into a smaller room, only because you want to have a King-size bed, it was your choice.... All the Deluxe Rooms have been completely renovated about 3 years ago, including furniture. Our 4 star rating is an official rating by the THA and therefore we apply to all the regulations of a 4 star hotel.
This was just a clarification of some of your points for other guest who might read your comments. Please also be assured that we will continue working on the friendliness of our staff and will do our up-most to improve.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    180
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
106
188
46
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Where can I start? I stayed here with my family in April 2014. Everything was just great. From the minute we arrived, and that was early, they could not do enough to get us to our room and make us comfortable. The refreshingly, cold orange juice was very welcome after a long flight and transfer.
Our room was upstairs on the second floor, but this is also the top floor, it was spacious, lots of storage space, which is great when you are away for two weeks with the family, spotlessly clean, crisp bed linen, a fridge with bottled water, tea and coffee making,plenty of towels and a hot shower. Rooms are located throughout the gardens, so depending on what you want, you can be amongst the flowers, beside the pool or in the "high rise" part.
The pool....well this is something else. I have never enjoyed a swimming pool so much. Not only is it huge but you have a choice of sitting, lying or standing in jacuzzi bubbles! Great fun, very relaxing too. An abundance of towels are provided free of charge and there is plenty of choice when it comes to sun beds.
Breakfast, another daily pleasure. You can sit inside, in the cool, outside, under the shade with a fan, or right outside under an umbrella in the sun. Eggs, fruit, cereal, juice, bread, meat, cheese, yogurt, Thai....the choice is endless. It is all buffet style and because breakfast is on until gone 11 there is no rush.
Dinner, every night there is a different buffet to choose from. We did not eat at the hotel, not through choice but because I have family who took us out, but as we walked past every night it looked and smelt amazing. Reasonably priced too.
Getting out, the hotel can advise you of trips from elephant riding,to Tiffany's show, to a day trip to Bangkok to take in the Grand Palace. Their mini vans and drivers are excellent and cannot do enough to help.
Thai Garden Resort is located about 10/15 min walk from the beach, but the best way to travel locally is to get on a tuk tuk. These are different from the traditional Thai tuk tuk found in Bangkok. In Pattaya it is an open backed truck with bench seats and they run in a square around the main town. Each ride cost just 10 baht per person, 20p!
Shopping, Pattaya has great markets for shopping along the streets, but there are also large shopping malls full of top fashion shops. The largest is called Central and is as the name sounds located in the centre of the strip in the Hilton hotel.
Tesco, yes there is a tesco, and it is a two minute walk from the hotel. Out the drive and turn left and you will find all your home comforts at a quarter of the price!
Have a great holiday, somehow I know you will!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Not nice enogh room for the price. Many small things that make this place feel low quality, like old towels at pool, charge for water at pool etc. But I guess you could do worse. Very nice pool though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had the misfortune to stay here from 7th to 9th may 2014.Firstly Indians don't expect any smile or kind gestures as this hotel staff thinks Indians are bad news. If you are an European they are all ears for you. They don't seem to understand our accent in English but they can understand westerners well. Firstly the room i was sent to in the hot afternoon sun had no air conditioner working. When I complained they got the filters cleaned with no difference to room temperature. Again they sent a team after 30mins of follow up and rather than changing my room instantly they had a full ac service done in front of me. see pics attached. These pics in the mean time I sent to my agent who sent them to the hotel with a stern letter ........result after 50 mins they finally agreed to change (if the ac does not work after service). As expected ac didn't work and I was transferred to another room so called upgraded with disgrunted looks but guess what....the new room also had the same problem but they would not accept it. We had another room also booked in the same hotel for my sister which had their ac working fine. Next day I went to visit the so called manager and he was firstly upset about the pics I sent and then he claimed I clicked the pics after the room was changed.....how funny. Property is excellent but management needs to change their attitude. Indians reading this simply avoid this place. Three star hotels give you that simple friendly gestures Thai culture is known for. The manager instead of solving the problem was showing me his dissatisfaction for making this mess public. To end the ordeal the new room ac worked bad making this an unpleasant stay overall. Final verdict Indians don't spend your hard earned money on places you are not respected.

Room Tip: lower floors better as roof has metal sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rajeshDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo23, Manager at Thai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your email and review, thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to your comments. First of all, we are very sorry that you didn't feel comfortable in our hotel and that therefore your stay with us wasn't nice.
To your comment about bad attitude over Indians, we have thousand of room nights booked by Indians and Indian agencies per year in our hotel, i guess we wouldn't have them, if the attitude about all Indians would be so bad. About language problems, unfortunately i have to agree, agree with that sometimes the English from Indians is very hard to understand, it is very fast and different than what we (Europeans) or Thais learn in school, we are very sorry about that.
About your air-con and room. After you told us that your air condition wasn't working, we send a team from our engineer department to fix the problem right away. We do not want that you have to move the room, if we can fix the problem, so you don't have the trouble to move. Nevertheless, after the problem couldn't been solved (compressor was broken) we moved you to another room. (we told you also, that you do not have to stay in the room, when we try to fix your air condition, but you prefer to be there and watch it, so therefore you have got the pictures. (The new room type was different, but its the same category)
Yes, later on you spoke to me, and all i said was that in the time you send your pictures to your agent, you already moved to a new room, this was also what we told your agent...
The new room you have got, someone else checked out there 2 hours before and the air condition was fine, this was the reason we ask, if you know about the set up of the remote control of the aircon, we are very sorry if this offend you, but many people do not know all functions, our high technology air conditions....
All in All, we are very sorry for your unpleasant stay, but before making things public, you should talk to us. We have thousand of Indians every year, which have a very pleasant stay, currently about 40 person in house and most of them are very happy with the service and the standard of our hotel.
Nevertheless, of course we will take your comments and try to improve where ever we can, we are also not perfect and need your comments to get better....
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A great place...close to the beach centrally located and excellent rooms. We landed and the management was kind to accommodate us though we came in very early. If you want to visit Pattya (Though I would never revisit since Pattaya is extremely commercialized) and stay over ( A day trip from bk would suffice), then this is the place. Extremely family and child friendly ).

We had a blast and would have loved to lounge longer in the pools. Strongly recommend the In room/resort massages as they are professional and comfortable.

As for Pattaya beware of the tourist traps and touts. This is the land of the thousand frowns and you will find the Pattaya people quite rude, but learnt that this is their demeanor compared to the folks in south of Thailand. Anyways unless you want to get sloshed on the beach, just stay within the resort and have a great time.

Room Tip: We got a room on the inside and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apacheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

perfect holidays , perfect beach, enjoyed our stay , had fun, went around, this is my 2 visist to this place , must visit. so good to be there and relax... with friends its fun.. we visit often to thai but stayed recently here ,, good choice , goood price ,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grucis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place was great! We ended a study trip with school at this resort, it was a great way to let off some steam after a busy program. We spent 2 nights at Thai Garden Resort. Both were great. The breakfast buffet is great, wifi everywhere, rooms were easy to find and a great swimming pool. For business purposes, guests can use the small office in the lobby. It has fast speed internet, printer and newspapers. The lobby itself has comfortable couches. Perfect for a game of cards. As said before, the swimming pool was great. Spacious and with jacuzzi. More then enough sunbeds and parasols to make the pool visit comfortable. Towels are available with the towelcards you recieve during check-in (room towels are already included, don't worry). Housekeeping is done with a smile, if you don't want your room cleaned, they will just ask if you need any of the basics, like coffee/tea, towels, cups, etc.


The reason however, that this resort is almost perfect, is the restaurant staff. They are very unfriendly and impatient. One of the students in my class is disabled and can't move fast. They rolled their eyes when he didn't sit down quick enough or if he was standing in the way. Also, be on time for breakfast. If you show up 10 minutes before the buffet closes, you will be met with hostility as well. I should emphasize the breakfast staff. At night the staff are friendly and polite. Another great addition to the pool. Beers and cocktails for a reasonable price.

Once again, a great place to stay. Just avoid the staff of the restaurant as much as you can during breakfast. Aside from that, nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenSis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Resort
Woodlands Hotel & Resort
#37 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#64 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#20 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Viman Resort
Le Viman Resort
#4 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
421.7 mi away
Citrus Parc Pattaya Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Resort

Property: Thai Garden Resort
Address: 179/168 Moo 5, North Pattaya Road, Naklua | Naklua, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#12 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#28 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Resort, located on North Pattaya Road is one of the last hidden secrets of Pattaya, where service to our guest is always the most important. With the probably longest hotel pool in Pattaya, only low rise buildings with a total of 227 rooms in 25.000qm of tropical Gardens, you will be able to relax and unwind better than you ever imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing