We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close yet away - 4 Star Dlx.”
Review of Thai Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thai Garden Resort
Ranked #36 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close yet away - 4 Star Dlx.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Location - A fantastic resort very close to the sprawling night life of Pattaya (2nd road and beach road hardly 10 min walk), yet built in a vast area covered with grounds and a sprawling pool, making it a desirable place to stay. A must if you're traveling as a couple or family.

Rooms - Deluxe rooms are the best located on ground floor with pool view. Well, the pool is so huge that it covers all the rooms on the ground floor. Rooms are of a great size. Kind of pool access. Superior are 1st floor rooms. Even the standard rooms are very spacious with all amenities you think you'd need. Some even come with a king & a single bed.

Staff - Courteous just as in rest of Thailand.

Breakfast - Was very well spread with excellent options for all tastes. They even had quite a few options for vegetarians.

Free Shuttle - Didn't use it so not sure if they provide one. If they do it can be an icing on the cake.

Value for money - Very mildly priced rooms ensures it doesn't get heavy on your pocket together with giving you a great stay and thus good value.

All in all, this resort means a beach resort stay and not a high rise modern/small rooms. And Pattaya is a beach town, not a business city. Book this with out a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    187
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
114
196
48
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we stayed for a week the room we had were supposedly premium 1st floor with balcony
away from the pool in reality dark even with the lights on it was hard to read a book
the pool is large I admit but don't grad a lounger near the bridge every one tends to lurk there and the squealing kids do get a wee bit annoying the pool itself is very warm and there seemed to be a running battle about the general rules between the European customers and the rest of the world who thought spitting hawking and the use of the shower as an after thought me I didn't fancy a swim in the spit
the poolside bar is OK but the pricing structure is usual lets rip off the sunbathers cokes @ 80 baht beer 110 baht and you got glowered at if you brought even a bottle of water and placed it on your table poolside
staff on the whole were attentive and helpful so no complaints really
evening buffet was reasonable value the breakfast was good im not sure the wandering band is a good idea we were bored by them after 10 mins the first evening we ate by the third we were getting mostly hostile they come to your tablle and sing three random songs and then lurk awaiting a tip
big things that annoyed well the guy on the jackhammer taking the tiles off the room next door really got my goat as I don't do mornings and every complaint to him was ignored
the moon river pub seems to be shut for the duration and has been since march
the water in the room isn't drinkable and they stick half opened bottles back in the fridge hey just put another 100 baht on the bill and give out half a dozen bottles a day guys we all have to drink it wash our teeth ets one bottle each is not enough
the good stuff well the taxis out the front are fair unlike the standard Pattaya rip off ones without a meter ( you can tour Bangkok all day for what some charge to go from beach road back to the hotel
as a regular visitor to Thailand my opinions are mixed here its an hotel needs a bit of tweaking to get it right so all in all im giving it a 3 and a please try a bit harder I know you cant pick your customers but at least point out some of the rules
oh and sort your pool towel service out at one point I could have had 16 of them the next day I had to see reception to get another card
and finaly please please put air con in the lobby toilets you don't know just how bad it is when you have to go on an evening and smell the 100 guests who have been there before you

Room Tip: don't pay a premium for the blocks the villas looked nice but I never saw inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On arrival I thought the hotel looked impressive with the huge pool and the lush gardens. We had a very garden room with a balcony which was very spacious. The buffet breakfast is generous with a good selection of exotic fruits, salads , cheese and european style breads which were tasty (good bread in Thailand is not very common).
However there are some downsides to this hotel: The onsite pub is closed even though it's advertised on the hotel website. We wanted a week of chilling on the resort and thought it would be nice to have a drink on site in the evenings without having to go to pattaya city. There are no taxis meters like in Bangkok so if you want to go in town you have to barter with the taxis. we did not like Pattaya itself so we only went into town a couple of nights. The other reason we chose the resort was for the huge pool but as there is no cooling system installed it can be quite uncomfortable as the water got some days as warm as a very warm bath. Furthermore some of the guests had a very questionable idea of pool hygiene. I saw some guests coming back from walks and just taking off their clothes to jump in the pool without showering and others clearing their noses and throats to then spit in the water. The buffet dinners are okay but quite repetitive and catering very much for the German tastes with emphasis on meat and roasting pig on night. But again there's plenty of alternatives salads and thai dishes. There is a walking mariachi style band virtually every night which can be fun at first but got a bit too much every night. On the downside the room we had though big was rather dark and the air con unit is on the loud side. we tried to turn it off at times but since we could hear next door humming away and it got hot so quickly we had to but it back on. I also had a very odd discussion over the 2 free bottles of water the hotel provide daily: every day we went to tesco to buy extra water but one day we baht forgot. When we got back in the evening i had left one of the 'free ' bottle in the fridge which was 3 quarter empty. There really was only 1 small glass left in there. I then noticed housekeeping had only left 1 bottle instead of the daily 2 so i phoned reception and asked if i could have a second as i did not want to go out to tesco late evening. I was told that as one bottle had not been completely emptied their policy was to give only 1 bottle and that they would have to charge me 20 bahts to provide a new one.House keeping turned up with a bottle and immediately demanded the 20 bahts which i told them to add to my bill. I did not argue as my thinking is if you are that pathetic and mean that you have to charge your hotel guests for a bottle of water that cost virtually nothing and make a point of it then you are on a loser as a business. True enough the 20 baht was added to our bill on the last day. As an example we stay at the bangkok park plaza on sukhumvit every year. they mention they provide 4 bottles of free water every day yet they provided us with 6 daily and never charged us. I won't be going back to the Thai garden resort or pattaya

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniloB806, Manager at Thai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, which we would like to comment as follows:
The Moon River Pub is closed since about 2 month now, it isn't anymore on our website, or advertised anywhere else. If you saw the advertisement on our website maybe 6 month ago, then we are really sorry, but it wasn't foreseeable that we will close the pub.
There are taximeter in Pattaya, same as in Bangkok, available, nevertheless the main transportation are the so called "Songteaw's", which are pick up's. Also we have 4 Mini Vans in the hotel, which offer transportation services and bring you where ever you would like to go.
As you mentioned, we have a huge pool (63m x 15m), you traveled in the hottest season, where we have daily temperature's up to 40'C, we and no other hotel is able to cool down a pool this size.
Regarding pool hygiene, we have pool regulations, which are clearly visible to all of our guest. Most of them are adult's and should be able to apply to this rules. We are unfortunately not able to run after each guest to tell them, that they have to shower before using the pool.
We have each night a different dinner buffet which actually caters all kind of tastes. We have from Italian in Monday, German on Thursday, Thai on Friday, pretty much all kind of buffets available. If you join only Thursday, then yes, it was German night. Furthermore, if you do not like to eat buffet, you still could order a la carte.
Our air-conditions can be set up individually, like in a car, you are able to turn up or down the fan speed and therefore are also able to reduce the noise. You booked a Superior Room which is decorated in Thai/Burmese style, which might be a bit darker due to the style of decoration. We also have other room types available which are decorated in contemporary style and might be brighter....
I would like to apologize for the story with the drinking water, it is really not worth to discuss about 20,- THB or 50,- cent..., but please do not compare different hotels with different services. There are hotels which charge you 9,- USD for a bottle of water and you didn't mention that we do allow that fill up your fridge with beverages from outside.. Should we compare our self which offers all guest free WiFi internet, to hotels which charge you up to 10,- USD per day for internet???
Last but not least, reviews will help us to improve our service and guest satisfactory.
We will therefore take some of your points to train and increase the service level.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed with thai garden resort for 3 nights.. The overall experience was very good.. The hotel is at a good location... It is just a 5 min walk fron the dolphin circle...The staff is very helpfull and good...

Although the breakfast we get is not at all good for indians.. Vegetarians merely have any options,the menu is quite poor for vegetarians...
the pool at thai garden is the biggest pool in pattaya but the water heats up and no cooling procedure for the same.. The jacuzzi in the pool is the major attraction for the pool...
The rooms at thai garden are very beautifull except for the cooling system.. There is only a AC in the room which do not cool properly because they are too dirty from inside...

The stay at thai garden except for the buffet is wonderfull and relaxing... I would surely luv to stay at thai garden if given a chance again... Im lovin it...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

While staying in this resort you feel relaxed and you do not even notice that you are surrounded by a big city. The breakfast buffet and the menu card are just excellent. The Thai garden resort is a very well maintained garden. The huge swimming pool in the centre makes it look very beautiful and when you swim you don't feel like you are swimming with several dozen other people.
The service is also very good and the people are friendly.
When you stay here, you will for sure get that 'I am on holiday feeling'.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper89B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I live in Bangkok for several years already and my partner and me decided to have a weekend at the Thai Garden Resort from 17-18 May 2014. The female receptionist was rather rude an unfriendly during check-in, possibly she had a bad day but it gave us already a bad start into the weekend. Overall the resort (rooms, pool) is ok, but definitively overpriced. The breakfast choices are presented rather lovelessly, the food overcooked, and we got the feeling that this place rather caters to busloads of tourists who come once in a lifetime and never return. For individual travelers you may find better places and feel more welcome there. As another reviewer said "Many small things that make this place feel low quality".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo23, Manager at Thai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was a disappointment and that you didn't feel welcomed.
Please be assured that we will follow up on the arrival procedure and the friendliness of our staff.
We actually do more cater individual guest than bus loads of tourists and we are proud that about 30% of our guest are regulars who visit us once, if not twice a year.
Once again we are very sorry for the unfriendliness, but also would like to point out that this is not the norm, according to the comments from many other guest on tripadvisor and other websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

On the offset, the property looks decent enough. But unfortunately these are the things which turned me off the hotel:
1. Old hotel rooms - The furniture has a decidedly 80s look.
2.Bugs - Since this hotel is a "garden" resort, there were creepy-crawlies everywhere. We had some bugs in our room but I found a bug spray in the closet, indicating that this was a common problem. At night, the pathway to our room had cockroaches (the big, black ones) on it. I guess some tough nature dudes might not mind it, but I HATE ROACHES!
3. Old A/C: The old window (or was it split?) A/C took forever to start cooling and when it did, it was directed away from the bed. We ended up sleeping on the wrong end of the bed to get some cool air. And mind you, it was really hot when we landed in Pattaya.
4. No door to the bathroom - Really? Gross violation of privacy.
5. Unfriendly front desk staff - This is subjective of course, but the staff didn't seem very friendly.

The good things about this hotel:
1. The pool is big and spacious.
2. They have massage services available right at the hotel next to the pool at reasonable rates. Though it was full when we arrived and I ended up having some relaxing foot massage elsewhere.
3. Tuk-tuk right across the street takes you to 1st and 2nd road easily so location is a plus.

Overall we were very disappointed with the rooms. They did upgrade our room though when I told them we are traveling with a child and needed a King Bed, but the new "upgraded" room looked like the same room with a bigger bed so it seemed even more cramped. I don't understand how this qualifies as a 4 star property unless the other hotels are even worse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sayali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo23, Manager at Thai Garden Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.
Please let us comment on some of your points as follows:
Yes, we are a Garden Resort in Thailand, with 25.000qm of tropical gardens, which mean that in our Gardens we have quite some different kind of animals. If you don't like that, you should not book a resort. We do not have bug spray in our rooms, but mosquito spray, which is because some guest are afraid to get bitten (scared of disease such as Dengue and Malaria) like to spray to make sure that they don't have mosquito in the room. We also offer mosquito spray on our terrace tables where you can sit at the poolside and enjoy dinner in the evening. Old furniture? The rooms are furnished in Thai / Burmese Style....The air-conditions work with a compressor, which need some time (about 3min) to start after you turned on your air-condition. Also, our air conditions are equipped with all kind of settings (for example swing) which you can set as you like... it doesn't have to blow on your bed...
Gross violation of privacy in our bathrooms? Only in a Holiday Bungalow which have a open shower, but a door for the toilet.
Please note that you actually booked a Standard Room, which is located in the backside of the hotel in the second floor. Nevertheless when you arrived you have been upgraded free of charge to a Deluxe Room (B115), because this room have Twin bed and enough space for baby cot. (also have a separate bathroom with a door and therefore guarantied privacy ). Because of your request we changed your room to a Holiday Bungalow which is smaller than the Deluxe Room, have no space for an additional bed or baby cot and have no door for the shower, but it was your request....is it then fair to complain about a different style of bathroom? Also, before you moved to the new room, you checked the room and decided to move, we didn't force you to move into a smaller room, only because you want to have a King-size bed, it was your choice.... All the Deluxe Rooms have been completely renovated about 3 years ago, including furniture. Our 4 star rating is an official rating by the THA and therefore we apply to all the regulations of a 4 star hotel.
This was just a clarification of some of your points for other guest who might read your comments. Please also be assured that we will continue working on the friendliness of our staff and will do our up-most to improve.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Resort
Woodlands Hotel & Resort
#39 of 447 in Pattaya
534 reviews
421.7 mi away
Citrus Parc Pattaya Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#19 of 447 in Pattaya
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
0.5 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#54 of 447 in Pattaya
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adelphi Pattaya
Adelphi Pattaya
#14 of 447 in Pattaya
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Garden Resort

Property: Thai Garden Resort
Address: 179/168 Moo 5, North Pattaya Road, Naklua | Naklua, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#11 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#28 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thai Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thai Garden Resort, located on North Pattaya Road is one of the last hidden secrets of Pattaya, where service to our guest is always the most important. With the probably longest hotel pool in Pattaya, only low rise buildings with a total of 227 rooms in 25.000qm of tropical Gardens, you will be able to relax and unwind better than you ever imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Garden Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing