We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sea view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort
Ranked #53 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice sea view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Staff was very attentive and friendly. Nice deco hotel on the beach front with good view of the Pattaya bay. The location is off the Main Street which need local to guide but there were many signs of the hotel to help you.
Lobby was on the 4th floor but the entrance from the street is on 5th floor, but thank for having sign available to show us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rungsan_Hme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for very much for your kind feed back through trip advisor.
We are very glade to learn that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff , We are also delighted to note that most of our facilities such as Beach,Decoration and design met your expectation.
Your positive feedback will certainly encourage our staff to go the extra mile to serve our guest better.
We trust, you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya soon.

Yours sincerely,
Nattapong Kanungkid
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    109
    39
    24
    18
See reviews for
121
145
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

+ Allowed to stay 3 persons in room at no extra costs.
+ Free breakfast for only 2 persons, but all 3 of us had breakfast without being charged extra. (750 THB)
+ We checked out nearly 2PM
+ Free fast wi-fi.

- Cobweb with live spiders behind both beds.
- Room wasn't clean, dust in every corner.
- Filthy and slimy shower cabinet floor.
- Transparent glass bathroom door which could not be locked.
- Semi-transparent window into bathroom near the entrance of suite. You'll be able to perfectly see that somebody is taking a shower or sitting on the toilet.
- Unlocked cabinet under bathtub with leftover construction material. Potentially hazardous for kids playing with it.
- Towel rack situated beside toilet and prone to splash.
- Cleaning staff gave us new towels, but did not remove used ones.
- Poor breakfast buffet. Bacon was very dry, rock hard and chewy. Only 2 types of cheese. No fried rice.
- Even after notifying lobby staff about the cobwebs, they were still there when we checked out 2 days later. All the dust was still there actually.


We were 3 friends (2M+1F) and stayed in Deluxe Ocean View on 18-20 June 2014 . When we checked in at the lobby, we received a welcome sugary non-alcoholic drink.
The room had 2 double beds and all 3 of us were allowed to stay at no additional charge.
At a glance, the room looked clean, but when I was going to connect my phone charger, I noticed all the dust on the power outlet, which prompted me to have a closer scrutiny at the rest of the room. On all outlets and switches, there's thick layer of dust. There's also dust on all corners of the suite. Dust on top of every picture frames. Behind both beds, I discovered cobweb with live spiders. I also noticed a ledge just in front of the air condition outlets which I suspect is probably full of dust as well. (I was unable to climb up and check.) So the air-condition may be blowing the air passing this dust into the room.

Bathroom door can't be locked and although the door is transparent glass, they've put a film on top of the glass. However, they left about 2cm of gap on the corners of the door, so you can have a clear view of the shower and bathroom.
Right away when entering the suite, there's a semi-transparent window which you will be able to see anyone and what they're doing in the bathroom.
Underneath the bathtub, there's an unlocked cabinet which contains broken tiles and leftover dust from the construction. This can potentially be a hazard for children who decide to play with it. The cabinet should be locked.
The floor around the corners in the shower cabinet looked filthy and got very slimy when wet.

In the lobby, you can see lots of dust in the space just behind the sofas.

We were told that breakfast buffet is only included for 2 persons and it'll cost 750 THB extra. But the first morning, all 3 of us had the breakfast separately, and we were not charged extra.

I did notify the lobby staff about the dusts in the room and cobwebs behind the beds as well as pointing out the dust behind the sofas in the lobby. I even showed them my pictures.
2 days later when we checked out, all the dusts (even in the lobby) and cobwebs were still there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnyNyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comment through Trip Advisor website.

We noticed that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay with us. After careful review of your concerns, I offer you my deepest apologies for having failed in some areas.

We have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements to the room and public area cleanliness, some function in the bathroom are not in proper level,Breakfast quality that requires improvement .Please be assured that we will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members.

We would like to assure you that these are isolated cases and are not indicative of our usual service standards. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to change the impression you have of us.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your future bookings, so that I can personally look after your stay.
Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Yours sincerely
Nattapong Kanungkid
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Myself and girlfriend booked this hotel before it was built so the first good bit we noticed when we got here was that it was actually built! and not far off what the artists impressions were, and I have to say we thought WOW we thought the styling was out of his world and we weren't disappointed with the rest of our stay. As mentioned on previous posts the staff are brilliant friendly helpful and easy to approach, from the security guards, receptionists, cleaners and to our pal Dave and the other bell boys. on the 4th night there was a storm and coincidently there was a bit of a urine smell in our bathroom we reported this and he hotel did a good clean which cleared the smell, the next day the smell came back we noticed liquid coming from the back of the toilet ( which we presume was the waste pipe) we reported this and again they inspected, cleaned and gave us a fragrance burner for the room. They kept on top of the situation but I suppose if we were more pushy we would have wanted them to repair the leak, but it is a new hotel so these things happen.

We had a delux ocean view room on the 5th floor (entrance level as the beach is on level 1 I presume it was build down a cliff) we had a massive bed(felt bigger than a king size) good flat screen led tv, full multimedia setup loads of space, bathroom had a shower and bath separate, two sinks and shaving mirror and sockets our balcony was a sun trap and was nice to sit out on with good views on a minor point we could have done with some cushions for the bench though.

The food at the hotel was superb we had a few meals during the day and the quality was the same at the pool bar as it was in the resturant just in a less formal situation. We used the pool bar most days and the service and drinks were good.

The pools and lounger areas are great and the staff keep them nice n tidy, we used the gym 1 day (token effort to off set the excesses) but the equip was all good quality and easy to use.

The location is a bit out of the hustle bustle of town which suited us as it was only 200 (4quid)bahts to get back and there is a shuttle for 80 bahts each in to dolphin circle. We were in town every night so just plan this extra cost in.

In general superb hotel which helped us have a great holiday thanks room 3515

Room Tip: Delux Ocean view for certain was quality and a high level gave a great view, noticed that the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and shared your experience while your staying with us through trip advisor.  We were pleased to know that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and enjoyed your stay at Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya. At the same time, we are very happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standard.
Your comments on the service provided our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you and girlfriend back again soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nattapong Kanungkid
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fully equipped room with comfortable beds, large balcony where you can sit in day bed and enjoy sea breeze : ) The Sanctuary site next to the resort is the added value with beautiful view while walking on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya through Trip Advisor. website

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for selecting us as your preferred accommodation choice for your vacation. We are happy to have met your expectations and endeavour to continually delight our guest whenever they stay with us.

Thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya , we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Nattapong Kanungkid
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

As usual, took for about 3 hours drive from Bangkok to Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya. We arrived around 4 in the afternoon. When we arrived, the GM (General Manager) and the staff were there to welcome us. There was an ongoing event when we arrived so it was pretty busy.

I thought our Saturday night stay at the hotel was fantastic but let me share from start: ;)
First up: There are 3 or four buildings on site, don't get lost as to where the reception is, just ask the staff when you arrived and they will show you. Secondly, The location is fantastic because you are right on the bay, meaning you will really enjoy viewing the perfect setting for unbelievable sunsets each night. The rooms are good. Different style and nice decorations. The best part, I love it when i feel like I'm in my bed when traveling. The bed and the pillows are soooo comfy.. (reason why I'm loving Centara Hotels & Resorts) ;)

Same night, me and my niece went for a dinner at the all-day dining restaurant - Modus Bistro. Different ambiance, decorations are mostly made of metals, different inspirations. We sat next to the hanging chains, very heavy.. And yes, we had a great time at the restaurant catching up whilst having our Vegetarian Pizza plus the Greek Salad! Beautiful! In short, we wrapped up our evening pretty good.

Before leaving the next day, me and my husband, we went for a walk at the pool and the beach area. There are two pool there, one for adults and for kids and its facing the ocean. Something that i missed though was visiting the The Sanctuary of Truth temple which is very close to the hotel. I love beaches and sands but thought visiting temples when in different places in Asia is cool too.

T'was a night at the hotel. The overall experience is pretty cool. A bit of noise from the construction but I would definitely come back again to enjoy more of what the hotel can offer.

Room Tip: I would choose the ocean view rooms or higher floor, you get a better view of the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLORNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for very much for your kind feed back through trip advisor.

We are delighted to note that most of our facilities and services met your expectation. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage our staff to go the extra mile to serve our guest better.

We trust, you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya soon.

Yours sincerely,
Nattapong Kanungkid
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were very apprehensive before we arrived due to this being a new hotel,and further out than we would normally stay....however WOW,!! Great hotel,room spotless,everything you could need,free wi plenty of charging USB sockets etc.
Fantastic pool and beach area,overlooking sanctuary of truth,very good friendly security on the beach,never felt nervous leaving belongings whilst we used the pool.
Massive thank you to staff in the club room .in particular Alice and Torres,they are a credit to the centara group,above and beyond,nothing too much trouble for them,
The hotel is a little off the beaten track but you can use hotel shuttle bus to the main road,then use baht bus up and down,
Also a small taxi hut up the road from hotel very reasonable
However our aim was just chillaxing and this hotel and staff more than delivered.
We will be returning

Room Tip: Club rooms - nice roof terrace to sit of an evening ,whilst enjoying a few drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage feedback through trip advisor.

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation.Your heartfelt words and special mention of Khun Alice and Khun Torres from The Club to whom you they have met your trip an enjoyable one. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage our staffs to go the extra mile to serve our guest better.

We trust, you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya soon.

Yours sincerely,
Nattapong Kanungkid
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We live in Thailand and often stay over in Pattaya when we come shopping.

This hotel is very stylish with some interesting design features. More expensive than where we usually stay, but it looked like it was worth trying from the photos. It was new when we stayed and there were some construction teething problems like dirty windows in the glass lifts, paint splashed elsewhere and similar that have probably been fixed by now.

Our sea-facing Premium Deluxe Ocean View room was spacious with a very large balcony and good sea view. The beds were very comfortable, a "sink into" feeling with many pillows. Lovely rain shower with separate bath. Plenty of international plugs through the room.

For us with a vehicle, the location was quiet and perfect, but without transport the hotel could be isolated.

Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to enjoy all the facilities and restaurants. While we were there one swimming pool was not working, another was very full of noisy children, and they seemed slightly greenish in colour, which I don't think was algae, maybe just the colour of the pool bottom? But we didn't use them.

Room Tip: I'd go for the sea views, but they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGMP_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you cvery much for your kind feedback through trip advisor website.
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guest motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.
With regards to the pool cleanliness which is the area of great concern. We did have a serious malfunction with our pool pump and filtration system which we have been working toward in improving the system currently.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Centara Grand Modus Resort Pattaya, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely
Nattapong Kanungkid(Mr.)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.6 mi away
Amari Garden Pattaya
Amari Garden Pattaya
#24 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
4.7 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
0.1 mi away
Garden Cliff Resort and Spa
Garden Cliff Resort and Spa
#102 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#21 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#19 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort

Property: Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort
Address: 381 Moo 5, Soi Naklua 12, Pattaya-Naklua Road | Naklua, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand (Formerly Modus Pattaya Resort)
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort is set on the sands of quiet Wong Amat Beach, in northern Pattaya, and is adjacent to one of the ocean city's most famous tourist sites, the Sanctuary of Truth. The private beach provides an exclusive setting for guests, and the calm sea is ideal for water sports. The resort is designed for couples and for families, and includes rooms with direct pool access, along with family suites that have special sleeping areas for children and feature self-catering facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Novotel Pattaya Modus Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing