We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of Penthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penthouse Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have stayed here as a tour group mostly twice a year for the last three years. I will not add to the many reviews indicating just how niche and fantastic the Penthouse is as a concept. I have watched this hotel decline into the dirty roach-infested hovel that it is now. They are clearly not maintaining the building very well. Of the 5 rooms we booked in Dec 2013 only one had running water which was offset by a loudly whirring aircon that precluded sleep. The water that did come out became browner and browner and smelled badly. In fact the rooms all smelled and when I pointed this out they sent someone who simply grabbed a can of Baygon insect spray and attempted to "freshen" the air with poison. Despite the gas-chamber I gave up counting how many roaches I killed crawling around my room. The next morning I went down to reception to complain where I was greeted with a disgruntled guest who had actually called the police in to complain as the hotel was refusing him a partial refund. He was checking out for the same reasons we were. I went in search of new accommodation and returned asking for at least a partial refund. The manager said the best he could do was move us to other rooms. Other rooms that all had little or dirty running water. He said the problem was not the hotel's but the whole area. I went to a few restaurants in the immediate vicinity and adjacent to the place and all had clean running water. I said I would recount my experience on TripAdvisor and he he told me not to "threaten" him. This once great place is in desperate need of a complete overhaul. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DesertSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

" What a thoroughly unpleasant and uncalled-for 'Review ' … And from someone that has stayed with us so many times before ! ... ‘We did tell you to go-easy on the available temptations !’ anyway, thank You; and no doubt we Shall be seeing you again after you have more time to recollect your thoughts ! .. ( other members of your group actually Extended their stay) .. and as for that 'police visit' . which you do seem to have partially remembered; was in fact not as remembered ! But in relation only to a driving accident ! ... May-be we should request TA to remove this unsound report in the interest of All ?

And You are of course Quite Right, .. " We don’t have One Decent Room at The PENTHOUSE; .. on the Last count we do still have FIFTY-SIX ! ( You also forgot to include the SUITES ) ... Told you So Many times in the past to "go Easy'.. on the 'ard-stuff!" Almost look forward to seeing You Again !.. Take Care.

PS We, having Now Successfully achieved Your own personal 'Two Star rating', rest assured we will work tirelessly to achieve that final minus 'MINUS ONE STAR' accolade, as both to a pinnacle to our own attained Success; .. and, also to your own undoubted wisdom & self-control under temptation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Penthouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We've just spent a very interesting week at the Penthouse Hotel. We stayed in two rooms and looked at several others. None were exactly the same although they had the main features in each one which represent the hotel theme. Which is adult. Pluses include the location. Almost on the beach and close to the action. 24 hour Room Service. Which we certainly needed as our sleeping patterns were very irregular to say the least. I think Pattaya has this impact on many people. Party all night. Sleep all day. We found the lift a bit slow. Most times we took the stairs. We will be back one day.

Room Tip: Book in advance. That's why we had to change rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaves78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

>>>>>>>>.......... " Yes ! ... The lift is Not our main attraction, .. best take the Stairs as your regular training exercise; so as to face yet Another night in 'Fun-City'.. if you are able !.. Thank You, and come-Back-Soon."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is an adult theme hotel which is a fun/sexy gettaway for honey mooners, couples or singles to go to. Situated close to the beach, good restaurants ,nite clubs and shopping malls. Also tailors and jewlry stores a short walk. Has a boat ride to nearby island for day trip and van available for short trips or ride to airport. Not your typicle hotel this is like Dysnland for adults.

Room Tip: Can try basic room but there is no problem moving to a fancier upgraded room if one is available. Ma...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arturo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

" Disney-Land for Adults ? .... NO ! ... Disney was Never this much Fun ! ( apologies to Disney ) ... Thanks and see you Again , .."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this hotel is not for families as, they advertised it on their website as well. room service is super fast. i changed rooms once because i simply wanted to try out their other rooms that they had. both rooms were awesome. i was there with my gf and we did take advantage of the hotel being guest friendly.the staff dont bat an eyelid with ur "guests" unlike some other places which are advertised as guest friendly. ambience of the hotel is the best ever. they were very accomodating when i checked out at noon and left my bags there only to pick them up at 9 p.m that night. my bags were kept safely. me and my gf were very pleased with the hotel. my only complaint is, they didnt respond to my e-mail queries regarding the room and what is provided inside and they did not have the penthouse t-shirts in my size, all the sizes were 3xl and above.i really wanted a shirt of the penthouse hotel, i hope on my next visit they will have shirts sizes in medium sizes. i liked the place very much and preferred my 2nd room.upon leaving i thanked the reception staff and the owner ( i did not get a chance to chat up with him but i assume he is the owner, always saw him wearing black) and thank him myself and complimented on his hotel.i did ask if i could use their swimming pool ( they have 2 pools) 1 was outdoors and another indoors, i wanted to use the indoor pool but the staff said i need to notify them 1 day in advance, will try that out on my next trip which is most probably in january. i definately will be back again.DEFINATELY. keep up the good work sir ( the man in black, haha)

Room Tip: both my rooms were good for me.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njoy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

" Man-in-Black; .. He say 'Come-Back-Soon' .. Indoor-Pool open Every-Day ! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were in Thailand to record a special episode of my show RICO IS TRIPPIN'. We went to film in Pattaya for the Songkran festival. We needed an exotic location, with lots of energy, excitement, and beautiful girls. Pattaya and the Penthouse Hotel definitely delivered that and more.
After viewing their enticing website, we had to check things out. (Note: This is a specialized hotel for adult party time. Quagmire and Austin Powers kind of scene, YEAH BABY, Giggity!)
They picked me up from our hotel in Bangkok in a Privacy X-Champagne Limo (just a fancy van really), with two lovely ladies to escort us to Pattaya.
When we arrived, the owner and the manager greeted us in reception, checked us in quickly and they were very helpful with directions, information and translating for us. The owner/manager of the hotel was friendly, and very gracious host, as he gave us permission to film in the Hotel for our show, just as long as no ones privacy was invaded. This hotel definitely understands and respects your PRIVACY.
The hotel has many strange and exotic areas within, the twists and turns of the hallways, and corridors and stairs were quite unusual and interesting. It is an older hotel that is steadily upgraded and making new additions. There were all kinds of party and disco style lighting in the room.The furniture, the various objects and devices in the room, the bed and the atmosphere definitely let me know that this is a grown up hotel, for grown up happy time.
The Restaurant was really good, the food is delicious with plenty of menu items to choose from with reasonable prices. Room service was good too.
The location was ok. A little too close to Boys town and the lady boys for me. But just down the road, within walking distance was the Beachfront, and the famous Pattaya Walking Street.

Cons: The entertainment system and the wiring was not the greatest or most modern. I had to do a lot of figuring out which wire went where, to get all my devices and cameras hooked up properly.
Some things, like the only elevator and some of their balconies, may seem a little old, worn down, and in need of repair or replacing.
The Suite was a little smaller than I thought it would be, and regular lighting was a little dim at night time. The Jacuzzi bathtub was dated and should be replaced and the shower head did not work at all. The room safe did not work as the wires inside the electronic safe were fried/burned out. The only phone in the room did not work at all, so they lent me a mobile phone to call downstairs if I needed anything.

Overview: Despite the age of the Hotel and it's location next to boys town, it is still worth it. I was told that many improvements and new additions have been made, so I am anxious to see them. Not overly expensive, wild, crazy, fun times. If you came to party and you desire a Quagmire/Austin Powers kind of trip, definitely try the Penthouse Hotel, Pattaya.

Wanna see what we experienced at this hotel? Check out the RICO GOLDSTAR channel on YouTube and watch our show RICO IS TRIPPIN'. Look for me on Facebook.

Room Tip: Book Early if you are going during a holiday. Get the newest suites they have, and ask for a package...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICO_GOLDSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

" Keep up the Good work ! ... ( Enjoyed the Video ) .... And; .. I think all relevant points have been addressed, and now look forward to your return...."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here several times. It's an adult hotel that was designed by some guys that would have hung out with Timothy leary. It's a walk into the weird and wonderful world of Pattaya. I love it.

The rooms are twriky and comfortable if you can ever work out which light switch controls 1 said light, other then that the rooms are very comfortable, cleaned daily but do check your sheets the cleaners often overlook a stain or 2. No problem though a phone call will get a change for you.

The rooms I prefer are pool decks or balcony rooms. I've had many parties, often over the top and the hotel has oblidged no problems. You just pay for what you break which is fair. Most would throw you out.

The western breakfast menu from the included room rate is ordinary, I choose to venture out because of this. The thai food on the menu is ok. Room service is confusing for the hotel staff as the menus have numbers listed twice. So they do make errors from time to time.

You go to this hotel because it's suited to the Adult environment, it's designed for you to feel like your house of fun. And after all, a holiday is all about fun.

Keep up the good work Penthouse.

Thanks

Room Tip: Balcony or Pool deck or the larger suites for couples
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

" Timothy sends his Regards ! ...and promises to endeavor to get those Sheets; .. And Numbers, Sorted !...
Glad you had a Good Time, .. come Back Soon ! ... And thanks for the Much-Appreciated Review."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel could do a lot better.

I found the staff to be cold. Not a good thing for the hospitality industry. The service was kind of military in style-cold but efficient.

On arrival there was no "welcome to the penthouse sir , how was your flight" or similar greeting. Just a " passport please ", credit card please, then you are in room xxx. That was it.There was a welcome drink, delivered without a word.

The guy who carried my bag to the room did not say a word. In the room he showed me the Tv and air cond, got his tip, did not smile at any stage and left.

During my stay if I asked reception anything I received an efficient answer, no more no less.

mmm ok. The room itself was way out, as expected and as described.It was well worn but clean.There were however some live cockroaches in the bathroom, this is typical in Thailand so it didn't bother me. Baygon spray was provided.

The bed was large and comfortable, the pillows excellent quality.One of the best things about the room is that the walls must be solid concrete, there was no sound from other rooms at anytime during my stay.In fact given its excellent location to the main activities area the hotel is very quiet.

The room is well appointed I thought, a table, window length benchtop, an easy chair, ceiling and side mirrors, a good size side table, a bedside seat, plently of lights most with dimmer switches.One of most well thought out rooms I have ever stayed in.

The TV itself was large but the selection of channels very poor.Ok Im not here to watch Tv but when stuck in the room during extended rain I tend to watch TV.There were many many Thai channels some Russian and some others. There was Universal which has the exact same shows on a 24 hour loop, the BBC, Bloomberg , the Australia channel and a sports channel. Star movies and HBO need to be added at least.

Breakfast-English breakfast included in the price is average at best,no complaints but no praise for the food. The waitress was colder than ice. The cook however came in and out from the kitchen and was quite friendly and smiling. The atmosphere of the 4 table eating area is sombre, darkish with no newspapers etc. One morning there were a couple of muslim guys asking for breakfast with no pork, apparently there was only one choice for them, all other containing ham or bacon. Further thought needed there.

Room cleaning- cleaning standards for the room are excellent. However during my stay the lift was never touched. There was some bits in the floor and a piece of white cotton on the floor the whole time. Its probably still there.

Wi- fi worked well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asiatraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenthouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

" Thank you for your short appraisal, ..and we have since had almost another Year to refine and to attend to any underlying service issues. Our cleaning staff are on-call 24 / 7, so if our valued guests experience any matters that need attention, then these can usually be attended to swiftly and efficiency. If Not, then a Room / Suite change will be offered. Look forward to seeing you Again ! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Suites
Galaxy Suites
#96 of 458 in Pattaya
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#50 of 458 in Pattaya
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wave Hotel
Wave Hotel
#6 of 458 in Pattaya
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intimate Hotel Pattaya
Intimate Hotel Pattaya
#82 of 458 in Pattaya
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Pattaya
Travelodge Pattaya
#23 of 458 in Pattaya
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse Hotel

Address: 325/61 Moo 10, Soi Pattayaland 2 (Soi 13/4), Pattaya Beach Road | Beach-Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 514 Speciality Lodging in Pattaya
Price Range: £35 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An adult Boutique Hotel situated in the Very heart of Pattaya's renowned Nightlife and metres ( 60 from the Beach ) .. / Shopping & Tourist Attractions ! Exciting theme Rooms and Suites at affordable prices, Outdoor Splash-Pool / Jacuzzi Sundeck and Indoor Spa Pool and close-to many of Thailand's leading nightclubs, catering to all tastes.24 HR Security, Restaurant & Room-Service, Comp Breakfast & WI-FI. Celebrating 29 years of difference,.. a refreshing change from the banal,.. And just getting BETTER! The Penthouse Hotel, a possible alternative to your normal Hotel experience, but not for everyone! , Just 90 minutes from BKK International Airport, 2 HRS BKK City, Transportation /Airport / Hotel & Tours arranged. RESERVE ON-LINE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing